History and Theory of Regional and City Planning: Home

Provides an overview of resources related to regional and urban planning available through the OU Architecture Library.


You must have your OUNetID (4x4) and password to login and use the online library research resources.

To located journal articles on your subject, use the databases listed below.

Useful encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies

Encyclopedia of rural America : the land and people - Goreham, Gary  

Call Number: Bizzell Reference: E 169.12 .E54 2008

Encyclopedia of urban cultures : cities and cultures around the world - Ember, Melvin  

Call Number: Bizzell Reference: HT 108.5 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of American urban history - Goldfield, David R.  

Call Number: Bizzell Stacks: HT 123 .E49 2007

American cities : a bibliography - Kura, N. O.  

Call Number: Bizzell Stacks: HT 123 .K87 2001

Measuring landscapes : a planner's handbook - Leitão, Andre Botequilha  

Call Number: Bizzell Stacks: QH 541.15 .L35 M43 2006

Trip Generation - Institute of Transportation Engineers  

Call Number: Bizzell Stacks: HE 371 .A3 T76 2008

The latest illustrated book of development definitions - Moskowitz, Harvey S.  

Call Number: HT 167 .M683 2004

The sustainable city: urban regeneration and sustainability - C.A. Brebbia  

Call Number: Reference: HT 170 .S89 2000

Planning and Urban Design Standards - American Planning Association  

Call Number: Reference: TH 2031 .P55 2006

Online Resources

Browsing in the Library

HT101-395 Urban groups. The city. Urban sociology

HT161-165 Garden cities. "The city beautiful"
HT165.5-169.9 City planning
HT170-178 Urban renewal. Urban redevelopment
HT201-221 City population--Including children in cities, immigration
HT231 Effect of city life
HT251-265 Mental and moral life
HT281 Recreation. Amusements
HT321-325 The city as an economic factor. City promotion
HT330-334 Metropolitan areas
HT351-352 Suburban cities and towns
HT361-384 Urbanization. City and country
HT388 Regional economics. Space in economics
HT390-395 Regional planning


NA9000-9248 Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying

Subject Guide

Finding maps in the Geology Library


Follow us on Facebook

Lists of Leading Journals by Field