Select several databases to search at the same time. [Note: Selecting ALL of the databases is NOT a good idea!] You can also limit your search results to different types of publications, such as scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.
Here are some of the subject databases in EBSCO Collection:
* Academic Search Premier (Always include this one!)
* America: History & Life (U.S. History)
* Business Source Premier
* Communication Source (Communication, Mass Media, etc.)
* ERIC (Education)
* GreenFILE (Environment)
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
* Historical Abstracts (World History)
* Legal Collection
* Military & Government Collection
* MLA International Bibliography (Literature)
* SocINDEX (Sociology)
+ many more to choose from!
Search Google Scholar from the library's website. Look for "Check OU Access" or "OU Link to Article" links to access articles online via the library's journal subscriptions.
NOTE: Google Scholar indexes many types of materials that are NOT scholarly or peer-reviewed, so carefully evaluate everything you find. Library databases often have more up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of the scholarly literature, so use Google Scholar to supplement your database searching.
ABI/INFORM Complete covers a wide range of business, law, and management topics. It indexes all types of periodical publications and news sources, including popular and trade magazines, scholarly journals, and major U.S. and world newspapers.
JSTOR is an archival storage database for some scholarly journals. Note: Only about 3% of the e-journal titles subscribed to by the OU Libraries are stored in JSTOR! To improve your search results, use the Advanced Search option and limit the search to Articles only.
Web of Knowledge is a multidisciplinary index covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Click on the red "OU" icon to access articles online or to request them through InterLibrary Loan.