Suggested subject headings to search in the OU Libraries catalog.

Cowboys in Art

Indians in Art

Photography -- West (U.S.)  -- History

Photographers West (U.S.)

West (U.S.) in Art

Amon Carter Museum

Buffalo Bill Historical Center

Eiteljorg Museum

Museum of the American West

National Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center

Thomas Gilcrease Museum

American Indian Jewelry I: 1,200 Artist Biographies, c. 1800-Present

E 98 .J48 S3 2003

American Indian Textiles: 2,000 Artist Biographies, c. 1800-Present

E 98 .T35 S34 2000

Artists of the American West:  A Biographical Dictionary

N 6536 .D38 1980 (Located at Western History)

Biographical Directory of Native American Painters

ND 203 .L47 1995 (Located on the last table to the right when you walk in the door)

Catalogue of the Amon Carter Museum Photography Collection

Fine Arts Reference TR 6 .U62 F672 1993

Encyclopedia of Native American Artists

N 6538 .A4 E94 2008 (Located on the last table to the right when you walk in the door)

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography 

Fine Arts Reference TR 9 .H25 2008

Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the American West    

N 8214.5 .U6 K68 1999 (Located on the last table to the right when you walk in the door)

Fifty Great Western Illustrators:  A Bibliographic Checklist   

N 8214.5 .U6

Grove Dictionary of Art (Subject Heading:  “Wild West and Frontier Art”)

N 31 .D5 1996  34 volumes (Located on the last table to the right when you walk in the door)

Illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists of the American West   

N 8214.5 .U6 S25

Pioneer Photographers of the Far West:  A Biographical Dictionary, 1840-1865

Fine Arts Reference TR 139 .P35 2000

Pueblo Indian Pottery: 750 Artist Biographies, c. 1800-Present

E 99 .P9 S34 2000

Southern Pueblo Pottery: 2000 Artist Biographies, c. 1800-Present

E 99 .P9 S343 2002

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography   

          Fine Arts Reference TR 9 .H25 2008

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography  

          Fine Arts Reference TR 642 .E5 2006

 

Southwest Art

American Art Review

Archives of American Art Journal

Art in America