Skip to main content

Alternative Textbooks: Chemistry

OU Library Resources for Chemistry

OU Libraries provides access to content such as online books, journals and image collections that can be used to lower or remove student textbook costs for OU students.  To learn more, see the following:

Chemistry

On this page you will find several open Chemistry textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.  

The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive.  The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here. 

For more information about Creative Commons and quick reference to license definitions see the OU Creative Commons LibGuide.

Textbooks

Introductory Chemistry  -David W. Ball

David W. Ball of Cleveland State University brings his new survey of general chemistry text, Introductory Chemistry. This book is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course. Throughout the chapters, David presents two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook, that chemistry is everywhere.

Author:

Dr. David W. Ball, Cleveland State University, Chemistry

Introductory Chemistry is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

General Chemistry  -Wikibooks

Wikibooks is for textbooks, annotated texts, instructional guides, and manuals. These materials can be used in a traditional classroom, an accredited or respected institution, a home-school environment, or for self-learning. 

Wikibooks are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported license. 

 

Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry  -William Reusch

This virtual textbook allows for visualization of 3D-molecular models while teaching principles of Organic Chemistry.

Author:

William Reusch, Michigan State University, Chemistry

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivitaves 2.0 License.

 

 

Organic Chemistry Wikibook

This text has a complete index. Each entry in its index is denoted with a symbol noting its completeness. It appears to be a mature-developing text. It is full  of well composed diagrams and well organized text.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike 3.0 license.

 

 

Thermodynamics and Chemistry  -Howard Devore

 

Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.

 

Author:

 

Howard DeVoe, Associate Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland

 

This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 3.0 License.

Open Textbook Collections

Find more Chemistry textbooks in these collections

 

 

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

College Open Textbooks

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.  -College Open Textbooks

BC Campus Open Ed

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.

Supplemental Materials

Organic Structure Elucidation  -Notre Dame

This online workbook has been developed for senior undergraduate and graduate students learning to solve the structures of organic compounds from spectroscopic data.

Manager:

Bradley D. Smith, University of Notre Dame, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Copyright University of Notre Dame

 

ChemCollective -Carnegie Mellon  

The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials. The ChemCollective is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon who are interested in using, assessing, and creating engaging online activities for chemistry education.

Project Director:

Prof. David Yaron, Carnegie Mellon University, Chemistry

The ChemCollective site and its contents are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivitaves 3.0 License.

 

ChemWiki  -UC Davis

The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books.

Director:

Prof. Delmar S. Larsen, UC Berkeley, College of Biological Sciences

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

 


 

 

Organic Chemistry I  -MIT

The material found at this link is part of an open courseware class at MIT.  This resource includes PDFs of selected lecture notes, a complete set of assignments for the lass with solutions and a complete set of exams without solutions. 

Instructors:

Dr. Sarah Tabacco, MIT

Prof. Barbara Imperiali, Organic Chemistry, MIT

This material is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribuiton-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

Organic Chemistry I  -MIT

This subject deals primarily with the basic principles to understand the structure and reactivity of organic molecules. Emphasis is on substitution and elimination reactions and chemistry of the carbonyl group. The course also provides an introduction to the chemistry of aromatic compounds.  This courseware includes a full set of assignments and exams both with solutions.

Instructors:

Dr. Kimberly Berkowski, MIT

Prof. Sarah O' Connor, MIT.

This material is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribuiton-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

 

Synthetic Organic Chemistry II -MIT

This course focuses on general methods and strategies for the synthesis of complex organic molecules. Emphasis is on strategies for stereoselective synthesis, including stereocontrolled synthesis of complex acyclic compounds.  This courseware includes an entire set of lecture notes.

Instructor:

Prof. Rick Danheiser, MIT

 

This material is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribuiton-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

 

Lecture Videos

Principles of Chemical Science  -MIT

This course provides an introduction to the chemistry of biological, inorganic, and organic molecules. The emphasis is on basic principles of atomic and molecular electronic structure, thermodynamics, acid-base and redox equilibria, chemical kinetics, and catalysis.

 

Instructors:

Prof. Catherine Drennan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chemistry and Biology

Dr. Elizabeth Vogel Taylor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chemistry

Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use.

 

 

OpenChemistry Lecture Videos  -UC Irvine

OpenChemistry features a series of video lectures spanning courses including Preparation for General Chemistry, Organic, Physical, and Graduate level Chemistry among others.  These videos are well organized with the topics covered in each listed beside their titles.

 Instructors:

Prof. Eric Potma, UC Irvine, Natural Sciences

Prof. Donald Blake, UC Irvine, Chemistry

Prof. James Nowick, UC Irvine, Chemistry

Prof. Rachel Martin, UC Irvine, Chemistry

Prof. David Van Vranken, Chemistry

Copyright University of California Irvine

 

Organic Chemistry  -Khan Academy

Supplemental videos that cover topics of Organic Chemistry ranging from organic structures, stereochemistry, and carboxylic acids.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

License

All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. It is not necessary to seek permission to reuse the content, although – per the terms of the license – attribution is required. Please attribute as follows: "Content from University of Oklahoma Libraries." All linked-to content adheres to its respective license.

Creative Commons License