Skip to main content

Alternative Textbooks: Economics

OU Libraries Resources for Economics

OU Libraries provides access to content such as online books, journals and image collections that can be used to lower or remove student textbook costs for OU students.  To learn more, see the following:

Economics

On this page you will find several open Economics textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.  

The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive.  The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here. 

For more information about Creative Commons and quick reference to license definitions see the OU Creative Commons LibGuide.

Textbooks

 

Principles of Economics  -OpenStax

Principles of Economics covers the scope and sequence for a two-semester principles of economics course.  The text also includes many current examples, including; discussions on the great recession, the controversy among economists over the Affordable Care Act, the recent government shutdown, and the appointment of the United States' first female Federal Reserve Chair, Janet Yellen. 

The pedagogical choices, chapter arrangements, and learning objective fulfillment were developed and vetted with feedback from educators dedicated to the project. The outcome is a balanced approach to micro and macro economics, to both Keynesian and classical views, and the theory and application of economics concepts. Current events are treated in a politically-balanced way, as well. -OpenStax

Authors:

Eric Dodge, Hanover College

Cynthia Gamex, University of Texas at El Paso

Andres Jauregui, Columbus State University

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

 

Principles of Macroeconomics -OpenStax

Principles of Macroeconomics covers the scope and sequence for a one-semester economics course. The text also includes many current examples, including: the housing bubble and housing crisis, Zimbabwe’s hyperinflation, global unemployment, and the appointment of the United States’ first female Federal Reserve chair, Janet Yellen.

The pedagogical choices, chapter arrangements, and learning objective fulfillment were developed and vetted with feedback from educators dedicated to the project. The outcome is a balanced approach to economics, to both Keynesian and classical views, and to the theory and application of economics concepts. Current events are treated in a politically-balanced way, as well. -OpenStax

Authors

Timothy Taylor, Macalester College

Steven A. Greenlaw, University of Mary Washington

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

 

Principles of Microeconomics -OpenStax

Principles of Microeconomics covers the scope and sequence for a one-semester economics course. The text also includes many current examples, including; the Keystone Pipeline, Occupy Wall Street, and debates over the minimum wage.

The pedagogical choices, chapter arrangements, and learning objective fulfillment were developed and vetted with feedback from educators dedicated to the project. The outcome is a balanced approach to economics and to the theory and application of economics concepts. Current events are treated in a politically-balanced way, as well.  -OpenStax

Authors

Timothy Taylor, Macalester College

Steven A. Greenlaw, University of Mary Washington

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

 

Microeconomics: Theory Through Applications  -Open Textbook Library

The text covers all the areas and ideas of Macroeconomics that one would expect to find at the introductory level. The subjects are clear, easy to follow, relevant with applied examples. Global examples are used through the lens of US laws and economics.

Authors:

Russell Cooper, European University Institute, Economics

Andrew John, Melbourne Business School, Economics

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license. 

 

Principles of Microeconomics

This textbook is used in the MIT Principles of Microeconomics course (listed below). Chapters generally consist of three main content sections that break down a particular topic into manageable parts. Each content section contains not only an exposition of the material at hand but also learning objectives, summaries, examples, and problems. Each chapter is introduced with a story to motivate the material and each chapter ends with a wrap-up and additional problems.

Authors:

Libby Rittenberg, Colorado College, Economics

Dr. Timothy Tregarthen

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

Principles of Economics -Open Textbook Library

The integrating theme for macroeconomics is the model of aggregate demand and aggregate supply. Following its presentation in an early macroeconomics chapter, this model allows us to look at both short-run and long-run concepts and to address a variety of policy issues and debates. Recognizing that a course in economics may seem daunting to some students, we have tried to make the writing clear and engaging. Clarity comes in part from the intuitive presentation style, but we have also integrated a number of pedagogical features that we believe make learning economic concepts and principles easier and more fun. These features are very student-focused.

Authors:

Libby Rittenberg, Colorado College, Economics

Dr. Timothy Tregarthen

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

Introduction to Economic Analysis  -Preston McAfee

This book presents introductory economics ("principles") material using standard mathematical tools, including calculus. It is designed for a relatively sophisticated undergraduate who has not taken a basic university course in economics. It also contains the standard intermediate microeconomics material and some material that ought to be standard but is not. The book can easily serve as an intermediate microeconomics text. The focus of this book is on the conceptual tools and not on fluff. Most microeconomics texts are mostly fluff and the fluff market is exceedingly over-served by $100+ texts. In contrast, this book reflects the approach actually adopted by the majority of economists for understanding economic activity. There are lots of models and equations and no pictures of economists.   -John McAfee

Authors:

Preston McAfee, Caltech, Economics 

Trecy Lewis, Duke University, Economics

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license. 

 

Microeconomics -John Petroff

This is a web-based text. It has a complete table of contents and each section contains reading material, practice questions, assignments, an appendix, and a quiz. Topics covered in this text include, demand and supply, elasticity, competition, momopoly and oligopoly, income redistribution, and in ternational trade. 

Author:

John Petroff, Ph.D.

This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

Quantum Microeconomics  -Yoram Bauman

The basic text, Quantum Microeconomics, is intended for use in introductory classes. A calculus-based version (unimaginatively titled Quantum Microeconomics with Calculus) is available for intermediate courses or math-intensive introductory courses, but it is much less polished.

Authors:

Yoram Bauman Ph. D. Economic, University of Washington

This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 License.

Open Textbook Collections

Find more Economics textbooks in these collections

 

 

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

College Open Textbooks

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.  -College Open Textbooks

BC Campus Open Ed

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.

Supplemental Materials

Principles of Microeconomics  -MIT

These lectures are intended to supplement an introductory undergraduate course that teaches the fundamentals of microeconomics. These materials introduce microeconomic concepts and analysis, supply and demand analysis, theories of the firm and individual behavior, competition and monopoly, and welfare economics. This resources contains many links to supplemental material and uses the Principles of Macroeconomics open textbook (listed above).

Instructor:

Prof. Jonathan Gruber, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Economics

Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use.

 

 

Open Economics

An Open Knowledge Foundation project providing open content, data and code related to economics. The Open Economics Working Group is run by the Open Knowledge Foundation in association with the Centre for Intellectual and Property Law (CIPIL) at the University of Cambridge. Its membership consists of leading academics and researchers, public and private sector economists, representatives from national and international public bodies and other experts from around the world.

The contents of Open Economics are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.

 

Macrothink

Macrothink encourages the publication of research papers in the fields of operations management, production management, strategic management, marketing, economics, financial, information technology management, business analysis, business strategy, business development, enterprise management, human resource management and relevant subjects.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.

 

Open Data Institute

The Open Data Institute is catalysing the evolution of open data culture to create economic, environmental, and social value. It helps unlock supply, generates demand, creates and disseminates knowledge to address local and global issues.We convene world-class experts to collaborate, incubate, nurture and mentor new ideas, and promote innovation. We enable anyone to learn and engage with open data, and empower our teams to help others through professional coaching and mentoring.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 License.

 


 

Lecture Videos

 Open Yale  -Yale

The Department of Economics at Yale offers a wide spectrum of courses for both specialists and non-specialists alike. For undergraduate majors, a core of courses in macro- and microeconomics, mathematics, and econometrics is required. Advanced courses offer training in economic history, finance, theory, international and developmental economics, market organization, human resources, and the public sector. The graduate program covers a broad range of research interests and diverse methodologies.

Instructors:

Robert J. Shiller, Yale, Economics

John Geanakoplos, Yale, Economics

Ben Polak, Yale, Economics

Lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

Micro & Macroeconomics  -Khan Academy

Khan Academy features instructional videos that span topics covered in Microeconomics and Macronomics at the introductory college level. 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

 

Public Economics and Finance  -New York University

Public finance (also known as public economics) analyzes the impact of public policy on the allocation of resources and the distribution of income in the economy. In this course, you will learn how to use the tools of microeconomics and empirical analysis to analyze the economic effects of public expenditures and taxation. This course requires a working knowledge of certain prerequisite courses, namely Statistics, Microeconomics, and Financial Management.  -New York University

Instructor:

Nirupama Rao, New York University, New York University

The content in this course is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license

License

All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. It is not necessary to seek permission to reuse the content, although – per the terms of the license – attribution is required. Please attribute as follows: "Content from University of Oklahoma Libraries." All linked-to content adheres to its respective license.

Creative Commons License