Skip to main content

Alternative Textbooks: Geology

OU Libraries Resources for Geology

OU Libraries provides access to content such as online books, journals and image collections that can be used to lower or remove student textbook costs for OU students.  To learn more, see the following:

Geology

On this page you will find several open Geology textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.  

The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive.  The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here. 

For more information about Creative Commons and quick reference to license definitions see the OU Creative Commons LibGuide.

 

Textbooks

GeoWiki -UC Davis

The GeoWiki is a collaborative approach toward geology education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in textbook chapters on Geophysics, Geochemistry, and Tectonics that can supplant or replace conventional paper-based books.

Director:

Prof. Delmar S. Larsen, UC Berkeley, College of Biological Sciences

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

 

Evolution of Physical Oceanography  -MIT

Evolution of Physical Oceanography was created to mark the career of Henry M. Stommel, the leading physical oceanographer of the 20th Century and a longtime MIT faculty member. The authors of the different chapters were asked to describe the evolution of their subject over the history of physical oceanography, and to provide a survey of the state-of-the-art of their subject as of 1980. Many of the chapters in this textbook are still up-to-date descriptions of active scientific fields, and all of them are important historical records.  -MIT

Instructors:

Bruce A. Warren

Prof. Carl Wunsch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences

Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use.

 

 

Geomorphology  -Goddard Earth Sciences Data and Information services Center

Geomorphology from Space is an out of print 1986 NASA publication edited by Nicholas M. Short, Sr. and Robert W. Blair, Jr. designed for use by the remote sensing science and educational communities to study landforms and landscapes. The core of this book is a gallery of space imagery consisting of 237 plates, each treating a geographic region where a particular landform theme is exemplified. Commentary, photographs, locator maps, and sometimes a geologic map accompany each plate.  -NASA

Authors:

Robert W. Blair, Jr.

Nicholas M. Short, Sr.

Copyright information unknown.

Open Textbook Collections

Find more Geology textbooks in these collections

 

 

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

BC Campus Open Ed

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.

Supplemental Materials

USGS Education  -United States Geological Survey

The United States Geological survey  provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment. USGS monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.  USGS has an interest in supplying educational resources to children, high school students, and college undergraduates.  Maps, simulations, and images can all be found in the Education section of the USGS website. 

Most content on USGS webpages is in the public domain, but not all information, illustrations, or photographs are.  Materials under copyright are generally marked as such.  Find more information on USGS copyright policies on their policies page.

 

The National Map  -United States Geological Survey

The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views.  -The National Map

Most content on USGS webpages is in the public domain, but not all information, illustrations, or photographs are.  Materials under copyright are generally marked as such.  Find more information on USGS copyright policies on their policies page.

 

College of Earth and Mineral Sciences OER Initiative  -Penn State

Dense with material including topics on Mineral Engineering, Geography, Geosciences, Engineering, and Meteorology, courseware found on this page represents substantial portions of the resources provided to students who register in participating Penn State classes.  These resources are available for reuse by teachers and learners worldwide. 

Authors:

Faculty of College of Earth and Mineral Sciences at Pennsylvania State University

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share-Alike 3.0 License.


 

Lecture Videos

Marine Chemistry -MIT

This course is an introduction to chemical oceanography. It describes reservoir models and residence time, major ion composition of seawater, inputs to and outputs from the ocean via rivers, the atmosphere, and the sea floor. Biogeochemical cycling within the oceanic water column and sediments, emphasizing the roles played by the formation, transport, and alteration of oceanic particles and the effects that these processes have on seawater composition.

Instructors:

Dr. Karen Casciotti, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use.

 

 

USGS Evening Public Lecture Series  -United States Geologic Survey

The USGS Evening Public Lecture Series events are free and are intended for a general public audience that may not be familiar with geology. Speakers are encouraged to thoroughly explain the subject matter being presented, and to define any words or terms that may be unfamiliar to those not having a background or familiarity with the material being presented.  -USGS

Most content on USGS webpages is in the public domain, but not all information, illustrations, or photographs are.  Materials under copyright are generally marked as such.  Find more information on USGS copyright policies on their policies page.

 

 

 

Geology  -University of Oxford

Video lectures spanning topics including, colliding continents, Cambrian Explosion, volcanoes, environmental science, and seismic activity in Greece. 

Lecturers:

Mike Searle, University of Oxford, Department of Earth Sciences

Paul Smith, University of Oxford, Museum of Natural History

David Pyle, University of Oxford, Department of Earth Sciences

Most of the content of this page are licensed under a Creative Commons License

License

All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. It is not necessary to seek permission to reuse the content, although – per the terms of the license – attribution is required. Please attribute as follows: "Content from University of Oklahoma Libraries." All linked-to content adheres to its respective license.

Creative Commons License