Skip to main content

Alternative Textbooks: Sociology

OU Libraries Resources for Sociology

OU Libraries provides access to content such as online books, journals and image collections that can be used to lower or remove student textbook costs for OU students.  To learn more, see the following:

Sociology

On this page you will find several open Sociology textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.  

The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive.  The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here. 

Content on this page that is highlighted in crimson and cream was created or is being used by an OU faculty member and is being given special attention as such.

For more information about Creative Commons and quick reference to license definitions see the OU Creative Commons LibGuide.

Textbooks

 

Introduction to Sociology  -OpenStax

Introduction to Sociology is intended for a one-semester introductory sociology course. Conceived of and developed by active sociology instructors, this up-to-date title and can be downloaded now by clicking on the "Get this book" button below. This online, fully editable and customizable title includes sociology theory and research; real-world applications; simplify and debate features; and learning objectives for each chapter. 

A custom version of this textbook has been adopted by OU faculty member, Dr. Kelly Damphousse.

Authors:

Nathan Keirns, Zane State College

Eric Strayer, Hartnell college

Heather Griffiths, Fayetteville State University

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

 

Intro to Sociology  -Ron Hammond Ph.D.

This is a free, online textbook that was developed by the author to engage his students in the course.  The text is complete with diagrams and photographs.  There is even a place where faculty members can request test banks that the authors have developed. -Merlot

Author:

Ron Hammond Ph. D., Utah Valley University, Sociology

This ebook is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license.

 

Sociological Landscape -Theories, Realities and Trends  -Dr. Dennis Erasga

 

More than the usual academic textbook, the present volume presents sociology as terrain that one can virtually traverse and experience. Each version of the sociological imagination captured by the chapter essays takes the readers to the realm of the taken-for-granted (such as zoological collections, food, education, entrepreneurship, religious participation, etc.) and the extraordinary (the likes of organizational fraud, climate change, labour relations, multiple modernities, etc.) - altogether presumed to be problematic and yet possible. Using the sociological perspective as the frame of reference, the readers are invited to interrogate the realities and trends which their social worlds relentlessly create for them, allowing them in return, to discover their unique locations in their cultures' social map.  -intech

Editor:

Dr. Dennis Erasga, De La Salle University

This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license.

 

Sociology of the Family -Ron Hammond, Ph. D.

This is a free, online textbook that was developed by the author to engage his students in the course.  The text is complete with diagrams and photographs.  There is even a place where faculty members can request test banks that the authors have developed. -Merlot

Author:

Ron Hammond Ph. D., Utah Valley University, Sociology

This ebook is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license.


Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social World  -Steve Barkan

This text presents a sociological understanding of society but also a sociological perspective on how to change society, while maintaining the structure and contents of the best mainstream texts. Several pedagogical features of the book convey the sociological perspective and change theme: Social Issues in the News, Sociology Making a Difference, Learning from Other Societies, and Theory Snapshots are just a few topics discussed in the text. -Open Textbook Library

Author:

Dr. Steve Barkan, University of Maine, Sociology

This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License


Social Problems: Continuity and Change -Steve Barkan

It is easy for students to read a social problems textbook and come away feeling frustrated by the enormity of the many social problems facing us today. Social Problems: Continuity and Change certainly does not minimize the persistence of social problems, but neither does it overlook the possibilities for change offered by social research and by the activities of everyday citizens working to make a difference. Readers of Steve Barkan’s book will find many examples of how social problems have been improved and of strategies that hold great potential for solving them today and in the future.

Author:

Dr. Steve Barkan, University of Maine, Sociology

This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License

 

Open Textbook Collections

Find more Sociology textbooks in these collections

 

 

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

College Open Textbooks

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.  -College Open Textbooks

BC Campus Open Ed

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.

Supplemental Materials

 

OER Commons

 

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions.  It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection.  This collection is recommended for OER searches for Sociology Molly StrothmannSocial and Behavioral Sciences Librarian.  The most valuable part is probably the open course content from some partner universities. Some do not provide anywhere near enough information about authorship. Some bad links.  Read more about the OER Commons.

 

MERLOT is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. MERLOT was opened in 1997 and is supported by the California State University System.  This collection is recommended for OER searches for Sociology Molly Strothmann, Social and Behavioral Sciences Librarian.  There are a lot of links to other complete sites, which clutter the results somewhat. However, Merlot also has a decent collection of complete courses in sociology (several from MIT Open) and a few textbooks. Read more about MERLOT.

 


 

The Sociological Cinema

The Sociological Cinema is an online resource to help sociology instructors incorporate videos into their classes. The centerpiece of the site is a searchable database of video clips. Each clip is tagged with sociological themes, year, and includes a summary of the clip with suggestions of how to use it in the classroom. The focus of the site is on short video clips (<10 minutes), but videos may be up to one hour in length. The site also includes comment sections for all videos, a blog, assignments, video-related scholarship on teaching and learning, and a form to submit new video clips to the site.  -Merlot
 

Developers:

Valerie Chepp, University of Maryland, Sociology

Lester Andrist, University of Maryland, Sociology

Paul Deen, Ohio Wesleyan University, Sociology

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives license; however, each video is subject to its individual license. 

 

Sociology Sounds

SociologySounds is a simple site to make it easy for teachers to find and share great music for their classes. Pairing a great song with a sociological concept can be tricky, but here it's just a few clicks away.  -Merlot

  This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives license; however, each piece of media is subject to its individual license. 

 

 

Introduction to Sociology  -WikiBooks

Because of its complexity, the discipline of Sociology has been subdivided over time into specialty areas. The first section of this book covers the foundations of sociologym including an introduction to the discipline, the methods of study, and some of the dominant theoretical perspectives. The remaining chapters focus on the different areas of study in Sociology.  -WikiBooks

This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license.


 

Lecture Videos

Foundations of Modern Social Theory  -Yale

This course provides an overview of major works of social thought from the beginning of the modern era through the 1920s. Attention is paid to social and intellectual contexts, conceptual frameworks and methods, and contributions to contemporary social analysis. Writers include Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, Montesquieu, Adam Smith, Marx, Weber, and Durkheim.  -Yale

Instructor:

Iván Szelényi, Yale University, Sociology

Lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

 

 

Intro to Sociology  -New York University

This course provides a sampling of problems and methods used by sociologists, with concrete examples from everyday life, history, and contemporary events.  -New York University

Instructor:

Harvey Molotch, New York University, Sociology

The content in this course is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license

License

All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. It is not necessary to seek permission to reuse the content, although – per the terms of the license – attribution is required. Please attribute as follows: "Content from University of Oklahoma Libraries." All linked-to content adheres to its respective license.

Creative Commons License