Skip to main content

NEW Full Text Resources Available During Library Closure

This guide provides information on full text resources being freely offered by publishers/vendors during nationwide library closures.

NEW Full Text Resources Available During Library Closure

This guide will be updated regularly as new information becomes available.  If you have any questions about any of these resources, please contact your liaison librarian. Resources with an asterisk (*) have records in Discover (but not Discover Local).

American Economic Association (AEA) Journals*

All AEA journals are open access through August 31st, 2020. 

ANSI Standards

American National Standards Institute is providing free access to key international standards supporting biological evaluation of medical devices; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience.  Users must create an account to receive access.

DPLA Open Bookshelf

Over 6,000 free ebooks, no login required to access.

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS)

ETAS provides full text access to approximately 40% of OU Libraries' print book collection until the University Libraries is able to open again.

To access, use the link above and LOG IN (yellow button, upper right corner of your browser).  When logging in, select University of Oklahoma and provide your 4x4 and password when prompted to do so.  See our video tutorial for accessing HathiTrust ETAS.

HathiTrust ETAS provides online reading access to materials; users may also download one page at a time.  Users can check out a book for one hour, and access will automatically renew at the end of the hour if the user is actively engaged with the book (turning pages/scrolling).  Only one book may be checked out at a time.  To read a book that is being used by someone else, check back periodically.  Please be courteous and return books as soon as you are done with them.

Users interested in learning more about ETAS should see ETAS:  Information for Users.

JSTOR*

Over 32,000  ebooks now openly available through December 31st, 2020 from a number of publishers on a wide variety of topics; access through the Libraries JSTOR database listing. 

Ohio State University Press

Free access to Ohio State University Press ebooks (monographs and textbooks).

Open Libraries

Full digital scans of 1M+ books, freely available to read, from the Internet Archive.  By signing up for a free account, OU users can check out any book in Open Libraries.

Project Muse

Free access to journals and monographs from a number of publishers on a wide variety of topics; access through the Libraries Project Muse database listing.

ProQuest Ebook Central

Most ProQuest ebooks owned by the University Libraries, which can be found in our Discover Local catalog, have unlimited users.  Don't see a book you need?  We can research whether it is available for purchase; use our request form.

SpringerNature textbooks

Access to 400+ textbooks in a variety of disciplines through July 30; access through the Libraries SpringerLink database listing.

University of Michigan Press*

1500+ University of Michigan ebook collection titles freely available to read until August 31st, 2020.