Healthcare Law

HIPAA privacy regulations have been the subject of countless hours of study, analysis, and compliance efforts within the health care industry and beyond. Almost two decades later, and more than 15 years after the first edition of this book, the privacy and security requirements of HIPAA are the subject of significant confusion and uncertainty. As the laws and social pressure evolve and tighten the reigns on health care privacy, patients and providers will continue to become more concerned about maintaining the security and privacy of data while rising to the challenge of balancing privacy while promoting patient access and quality care.This revised and updated edition creates a useful guide for those who are new to HIPAA as well as provide updates for seasoned veterans of HIPAA. This book expands on the first edition and includes the Security Rule, the HITECH Act, and the Breach Notification Rule along with extensive discussion about HIPAA's parameters, practical applications, and lessons learned over the past 15 years. To assist you in complying with HIPAA's complex requirements, this book also includes forms and experiential anecdotes that you will find helpful in your ongoing HIPAA compliance efforts.

HIPAA and the Security Rule are sources of law, but the Security Rule also acts as a source of information security practices. A Guide to HIPAA Security and the Law, Second Edition bridges the gap between the law and information security practices. The Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act, also called the HITECH Act, imposes additional security requirements. This book serves as a reference to a wide audience: healthcare and information security professionals implementing the HIPAA Security Rule and Breach Notification Rule, as well as attorneys and business professionals advising them. It is dedicated to healthcare professionals who struggle every day with meeting their obligations to provide care and services for patients and at the same time are seeking to protect the security of patients' health information. A Guide to HIPAA Security and the Law, Second Edition provides vital guidance and information for those involved in compliance with the Security Rule and Breach Notification Rule. Book jacket.

Following in the footsteps of its bestselling predecessor,The Practical Guide to HIPAA Privacy and Security Compliance, Second Edition is a one-stop, up-to-date resource on Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) privacy and security, including details on the HITECH Act, the 2013 Omnibus Rule, and the pending rules. Updated and revised with several new sections, this edition defines what HIPAA is, what it requires, and what you need to do to achieve compliance. The book provides an easy-to-understand overview of HIPAA privacy and security rules and compliance tasks. Supplying authoritative insights into real-world HIPAA privacy and security issues, it summarizes the analysis, training, and technology needed to properly plan and implement privacy and security policies, training, and an overall program to manage information risks. Instead of focusing on technical jargon, the book spells out what your organization must do to achieve and maintain compliance requirements on an ongoing basis.

When HIPAA became law in 1996, the move already had begun from a paper-based patient data system to an electronic one. This migration poses complex security and privacy issues. Over the next six and a half years, the HIPAA implementation took place with the following goals in mind: -Improve access to health insurance -Minimize healthcare billing fraud, waste and abuse -Increase efficiency and effectiveness of the health care system.

From the publisher: HIPAA/HITECH Resource Guide provides not only the history of the development of the rules and standards, but also practical guidance for insuring compliance. Background and context are provided with insightful coverage of:
The rules and regulations governing patient privacy prior to enactment of the Omnibus Rule.
The numerous aspects of the Administrative Simplification Act-Standard Transactions and Code Sets.
Employer, provider, and health plan identifiers — including definitions of key terms.
Expansion of liability to more organizations.
Increased liability on the part of "business associates" who must now adopt their own security protocols and perform security risk analysis.
The Guide includes numerous practice tools such as:
Sample privacy right policies
HIPAA business associate agreements
Subcontractor agreements
A HIPAA training outline
A survey of state health care privacy laws

Healthcare IT is the growth industry right now, and the need for guidance in regard to privacy and security is huge. Why? With new federal incentives and penalties tied to the HITECH Act, HIPAA, and the implementation of Electronic Health Record (EHR) systems, medical practices and healthcare systems are implementing new software at breakneck speed. Yet privacy and security considerations are often an afterthought, putting healthcare organizations at risk of fines and damage to their reputations.   Healthcare Information Privacy and Security: Regulatory Compliance and Data Security in the Age of Electronic Health Records outlines the new regulatory regime, and it also provides IT professionals with the processes and protocols, standards, and governance tools they need to maintain a secure and legal environment for data and records. It's a concrete resource that will help you understand the issues affecting the law and regulatory compliance, privacy, and security in the enterprise.   As healthcare IT security expert Bernard Peter Robichau II shows, the success of a privacy and security initiative lies not just in proper planning but also in identifying who will own the implementation and maintain technologies and processes. From executive sponsors to system analysts and administrators, a properly designed security program requires that that the right people are assigned to the right tasks and have the tools they need. Robichau explains how to design and implement that program with an eye toward long-term success. Putting processes and systems in place is, of course, only the start. Robichau also shows how to manage your security program and maintain operational support including ongoing maintenance and policy updates. (Because regulations never sleep!)  This book will help you devise solutions that include: Identity and access management systems Proper application design Physical and environmental safeguards Systemwide and client-based security configurations Safeguards for patient data Training and auditing procedures Governance and policy administration  Healthcare Information Privacy and Security is the definitive guide to help you through the process of maintaining privacy and security in the healthcare industry. It will help you keep health information safe, and it will help keep your organization--whether local clinic or major hospital system--on the right side of the law.

This handbook covers Electronic Medical Record (EMR) systems, which enable the storage, management, and sharing of massive amounts of demographic, diagnosis, medication, and genomic information. It presents privacy-preserving methods for medical data, ranging from laboratory test results to doctors' comments. The reuse of EMR data can greatly benefit medical science and practice, but must be performed in a privacy-preserving way according to data sharing policies and regulations. Written by world-renowned leaders in this field, each chapter offers a survey of a research direction or a solution to problems in established and emerging research areas. The authors explore scenarios and techniques for facilitating the anonymization of different types of medical data, as well as various data mining tasks. Other chapters present methods for emerging data privacy applications and medical text de-identification, including detailed surveys of deployed systems. A part of the book is devoted to legislative and policy issues, reporting on the US and EU privacy legislation and the cost of privacy breaches in the healthcare domain. This reference is intended for professionals, researchers and advanced-level students interested in safeguarding medical data.

Funding for workforce development in the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 / David H. Bradley and Ann Lordeman --
Summary of estimated cost of the conference agreement for H.R. 1, the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 / The House Committee on Rules --
Agriculture, nutrition, and rural provisions in the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 / Jim Monke ... [et al.] --
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA, P.L. 111-5) : Title V, Medicaid provision / Cliff Binder ... [et al.] --
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (P.L. 111-5) : summary and legislative history / Clinton T. Brass ... [et al.] --
General oversight provision in the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) : requirements and related issues / Clinton T. Brass --
Estimated impact of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act on employment and economic output as of September 2009 / Congressional Budget Office --
Authoritative resources on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) / Kim Walker Klarman and Julie Jennings.