Coverage: 1535-1920

This resource covers the diverse history of the Caribbean Islands over nearly 400 years. Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1956-present

El Caribe is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic's most influential and longest-running newspapers. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial. 

Coverage: 1945-1991

International primary source documents on the Cold War. Resources include news broadcasts, reports, and publications.  

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial. 

Coverage: 1954-1999

The DNSA collection is the most comprehensive collection available of significant declassified U.S. government documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. University of Oklahoma Libraries provides access to four sub-collections relating to Latin American policy and human rights:

• El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984
• El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980-1994 
• Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978-1990
• Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the U.S., 1954-1999

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Provides access to materials that cover early encounters between the Indigenous People of North America and the rest of the world from 1534 to 1850. This collection focuses on present-day Canada and the United States with limited coverage of Mexico. Resources include letters, diaries, memoirs, and illustrations. The collection provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, enslaved peoples, missionaries, soldiers, Indigenous Peoples, and officials. Highlights include John James Audubon's Birds of America and George Catlin's early illustrations capturing the traditions and customs of various North American tribes.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial. 

Coverage: 1959-present

Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Subject coverage includes culture, religion, independent press, and ethnic studies. The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1941-1996

Provides access to the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. This resource includes translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and commentary. 

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Shared digital repository of millions of library books and journals converted from print resources owned by research institutions around the world. HathiTrust Digital Library does not permit downloading or viewing the full text of books that are still under copyright. 

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1808-1908

Provides access to more than 350 Spanish-language and bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. These newspapers offer unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers, and grassroots figures. Key titles include El Clamor Publico (Los Angeles), El Nuevo Mexicano (Santa Fe), Latin Times (Chicago), and El Misisipi (New Orleans). 

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 2010-present

Combining deep historical content with current sources, Hispanic Life in America provides primary source documents related to Hispanic American life. This database is continually updated to reflect the latest news in government, business, and arts  - from U.S. immigration policies and the response at the U.S. southern border, to the Dreamers and the fate of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program (DACA), as well as the ongoing influence of Hispanic American businesses, politicians, musicians, athletes, and others.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial. 

Searches the full text of twelve historical newspapers: Atlanta Daily World, The Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, The Guardian and The Observer, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Pittsburgh Courier, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1941-1996

Digital archive covering all aspects of 20th-century human migration, including first-hand reports and global analysis. 

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1918-1946

El Imparcial was a conservative, pro-independence tabloid published in San Juan, Puerto Rico in the early 20th century. During that time, it was the most widely read newspaper in Puerto Rico, providing coverage on such historical events as the Cuban Revolution and political corruption in Puerto Rico in the 1940s.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial. 

Coverage: 1807-1972

The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Comprised of over 1,000 titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods, this collection provides documentation on topics such as partisan politics, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Material is sourced from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas in Austin, the preeminent Latin American library in the United States.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1957-1995

Provides access to English translations of foreign language materials from regions throughout the world. Includes monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts. This database is ideal for the study of history of science, global economics, agriculture, health, political culture, international relations, and military affairs.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1800-1924

Included in the World Newspaper Archive, this collection provides access to more than 35 nineteenth and twentieth century Latin American newspapers. Features titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. 

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1943-1949

Noticias Graficas was a groundbreaking Argentine newspaper published in Buenos Aires during the early 20th century, known for its double-page illustrated center spread and high-quality journalism. This prominent newspaper was shut down during the dictatorship of Pedro Eugenio Aramburu.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial. 

Coverage: 1789-present

Index of legislative information, including congressional publications from 1789 to the present, legislative histories for public laws dating back to 1970, testimony from congressional hearings, bill histories, the Congressional Record and Federal Register, Congressional Research Service reports, information about congressional members and committees, and executive documents (1789-1931). Some full text is available.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.

Coverage: 1500-1926

Sabin Americana contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Resources include books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, and military actions. 

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial. 

Coverage: 1931-1992

SUR is one of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century. This resource featured the writings of leading figures in literature, philosophy, history, and the arts from Latin America, North America, and Western Europe. Contributors include Le Corbusier, Lacan, Sartre, Borges, Silvina Ocampo, and Bioy Casares. This collection features images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs, advertisements, a comprehensive electronic index of 6,300 entries as well as an unpublished set of letters by Victoria Ocampo.

Provides access to a wide range of previously classified federal records from the twentieth and twenty first centuries. These documents cover significant foreign policy development and international crisis, as well as domestic issues. Materials include policy papers, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, military reports, diplomatic correspondence, CIA and FBI intelligence memoranda, and more.

For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.