Online Reference Works
Please login to libraries.ou.edu to access these resources.
- Dance OnlineDance Online presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference materials. The collection includes curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance.
- International Encyclopedia of DanceWith nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Databases
Please login to libraries.ou.edu to access these resources.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & DanceAccess content in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full-text for titles including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Full-text available.
- JSTORProvides access to materials in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. It is a digitized archive of the backfiles of selected scholarly journals. Full-text available.
- Times Digital Archive (1/1/1785 - 12/31/1985)Complete digital archive of The Times (London), except for the Sunday edition. Can be searched using keywords. Materials indexed include all articles, advertisements, illustrations, and photos. Full-text available.
- Academic Search Premier (1/1/1984 - )Multidisciplinary database covering social sciences, humanities, education, physical and life sciences, and ethnic studies. Over 3,500 journals are indexed. Some full-text available.
- New York Times Historical Newspaper (1/1/1851 - 2019)Archives the historical New York Times, including full page digital reproductions of every page from all available issues. Full-text available.
- Web of ScienceThis database indexes several dance journals including Tanz and Dancing Times..
- WorldCatAn international, multi-disciplinary catalog of books, Internet resources, audio visual materials, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings and other materials held by over 20,000 OCLC libraries. It contains materials representing 400 languages.
Journals -- Online & Print
Hover over a title for further details.
- Dance ChronicleFull-text available online 1977- one year from present
- Dance MagazineFull-text available online 1998-present.
Prinet copies available at Fine Arts 1952-present. - Dance ResearchFull-text online 1983 - One year from present.
- Dance TeacherFull-text online June 2004-present
- Dance today!Full-text online 2007-present
- Dancing TimesFull-text available online 2007-present.
Printed copies available at the Fine Arts Library 2001-present.
Microfilm copies available at Bizzell 1910-1951.
E-Books
Our e-book collection is constantly growing. What is listed below is intended only as a sample of the types of material available. Please login to libraries.ou.edu to access E-books.
