Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes), the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries.

The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (GEAA) deals with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.

Multidisciplinary database covering social sciences, humanities, education, physical and life sciences, and ethnic studies.

(01/01/1690 - 12/31/1922)
Features early American newspapers with cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages of full text, searchable facsimile images.

(01/01/1954 - Present)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present, including topics in the social sciences and humanities. Materials indexed include journals articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations.

The dissertations and dataset present a rich area of study for the ways in which the field of art history has evolved over the last 40 years. The dataset presents over 6,000 dissertations from over 80 North American institutions.

Provides access to the Graff Collection. Includes a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources related to frontier life, to Native Americans and to vigilantes and outlaws as well as the growth of urban centres, the environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands. Full text available.

(01/01/1984 - Present)
Includes materials on traditional art, art history, archaeology, architecture, fashion design, interior design, visual art, and non-western art. Materials indexed include journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes multi-lingual material.

(01/01/1975 - 12/31/2007)
Also see International Bibliography of Art (IBA)

(01/01/2008 - Present)
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) covers European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database provides access to scholarship from over 500 core journals, in addition to detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogs. Covers subjects such as fine arts from all media, museum studies, folk art, classical studies, material culture, antiques, and architectural history.

Provides access to materials in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics. It is a digitized archive of the backfiles of selected scholarly journals. Full text available.

Access hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Full text available.

Covers Native North American history, life, and culture from the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF). Materials indexed include the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America, books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, dissertations and U.S. government documents.

Repository of images that include collections from a wide variety of civilizations, time-periods, and media. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

U.S. West: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints digital collection provides a sample of the photographs, images, albums, and more, relating to the U.S. West held by SMU's DeGolyer Library.

Among the best known of the Western History Collections resources is the Photographic Archives, with its holdings of over 250,000 prints and negatives. With an emphasis on the American Southwest and West for the period 1870-1940, the Photographic Archives is a major source for research and graphic illustration for many disciplines.