Suitable for students and research workers in mathematics, physics, engineering and other sciences, this work presents a compilation of mathematical formulas and tables. The topics range from elementary to advanced - from algebra, trigonometry and calculus to vector analysis, Bessel functions, Legendre polynomials, and elliptic integrals.
The material for these volumes has been selected from the past twenty years' examination questions for graduate students at the University of California (Berkeley), Columbia University, the University of Chicago, MIT, State University of New York at Buffalo, Princeton University and the University of Wisconsin.
The material for these volumes has been selected from the past twenty years' examination questions for graduate students at the University of California at Berkeley, Columbia University, the University of Chicago, MIT, the State University of New York at Buffalo, Princeton University and the University of Wisconsin.
The material for this series was selected from the past 20 years' examination questions for graduate students at the University of California (Berkeley), Columbia University, the University of Chicago, MIT, the State University of New York at Buffalo, Princeton University and the University of Wisconsin.This volume comprises 165 problems. The section on Solid State Physics includes crystal structures and properties, electron theory, energy bands and semiconductors. The Relativity section covers both the special and general theories. Topics that were not appropriate for the other 6 volumes in this series appear here under the heading of Miscellaneous Topics.
Sears and Zemansky's University Physics: with Modern Physics by Hugh D. Young; Roger A. Freedman; A. Lewis FordOlder editions will have the same call number and will be on the shelves on the 4th floor of Bizzell.
University Physics with Modern Physics, Technology Update, Thirteenth Edition continues to set the benchmark for clarity and rigor combined with effective teaching and research-based innovation. The Thirteenth Edition Technology Update contains QR codes throughout the textbook, enabling you to use your smartphone or tablet to instantly watch interactive videos about relevant demonstrations or problem-solving strategies. University Physics is known for its uniquely broad, deep, and thoughtful set of worked examples--key tools for developing both physical understanding and problem-solving skills. The Thirteenth Edition revises all the Examples and Problem-solving Strategies to be more concise and direct while maintaining the Twelfth Edition's consistent, structured approach and strong focus on modeling as well as math. To help you tackle challenging as well as routine problems, the Thirteenth Edition adds Bridging Problems to each chapter, which pose a difficult, multiconcept problem and provide a skeleton solution guide in the form of questions and hints. The text's rich problem sets--developed and refined over six decades--are upgraded to include larger numbers of problems that are biomedically oriented or require calculus. The problem-set revision is driven by detailed student-performance data gathered nationally through MasteringPhysics®, making it possible to fine-tune the reliability, effectiveness, and difficulty of individual problems. Complementing the clear and accessible text, the figures use a simple graphic style that focuses on the physics. They also incorporate explanatory annotations-a technique demonstrated to enhance learning.
Call Number: QC 21.2 .S36 2013 TEXTBOOK RESERVES
Publication Date: 2013, 13th edition
Essential University Physics by Richard WolfsonRichard Wolfson's Essential University Physics, Second Edition is a concise and progressive calculus-based physics textbook that offers clear writing, great problems, and relevant real-life applications. This text is a compelling and affordable alternative for professors who want to focus on the fundamentals and bring physics to life for their students. Essential University Physics focuses on the fundamentals of physics, teaches sound problem-solving skills, emphasizes conceptual understanding, and makes connections to the real world. The presentation is concise without sacrificing a solid introduction to calculus-based physics. New pedagogical elements have been introduced that incorporate proven results from physics education research. Features such as annotated figures and step-by-step problem-solving strategies help students master concepts and solve problems with confidence. The Second Edition features dramatically revised and updated end-of-chapter problem sets, significant content updates, new Conceptual Examples, and additional Applications, all of which serve to foster student understanding and interest. Essential University Physics is offered as two paperback volumes, available shrink-wrapped together, or for sale individually. This package contains: Essential University Physics: Volume 1, Second Edition (which includes Chapters 1-19)
Call Number: QC 21.3 .W65 2012
Publication Date: 2010, 2nd edition
Schaum's Outline of Modern Physics by Ronald Gautreau; William SavinTough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
Call Number: QC 32 .G34 1999
Publication Date: 1999
3,000 Solved Problems in Physics by Alvin HalpernThe ideal review for your physics course. Step-by-step, authors walk readers through 3,000 solved problems from every area of physics. Clear diagrams and illustrations. Appropriate for all high school and undergraduate physics courses.
Call Number: QC 32 .H325 2011
Publication Date: 2011
GRE Physics by Research & Education Association Editors; Joseph J. MolitorisThe SAT II: Subject Tests are used by colleges and universities for evaluating a student's ability in a particular subject. Many colleges require SAT II: Subject Test scores as part of the admission process.This test preparation book includes four full-length exams with detailed explanations modeled after the actual GRE in Physics. Knowledge of mechanics, electromagnetism, atomic physics, physic optics and wave phenomena, quantum mechanics, special relativity, thermodynamics and statistical mechanics, laboratory methods, and advanced topics are tested. Includes a general physics review of all topics tested on the exam. For physics students bound for graduate school.
Call Number: QC 32 .M645 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Schaum's Outline of Physical Chemistry by Clyde R. MetzConfusing Textbooks? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
1000 Solved Problems in Classical Physics by Ahmad A. KamalThis book basically caters to the needs of undergraduates and graduates physics students in the area of classical physics, especially Classical Mechanics and Electricity and Electromagnetism. Lecturers/ Tutors may use it as a resource book. The contents of the book are based on the syllabi currently used in undergraduate courses in USA, U.K., and other countries. The book is divided into 15 chapters, each chapter beginning with a brief but adequate summary and necessary formulas and Line diagrams followed by a variety of typical problems useful for assignments and exams. Detailed solutions are provided at the end of each chapter.
Publication Date: 2011
Conquering the Physics GRE by Yoni Kahn; Adam AndersonREVISED SECOND EDITION: This revised and edited second edition extends the discussions in the subject area reviews, contains several new diagrams and problems, and features updated sample exams whose questions more accurately reflect the content of the current GRE.Thousands of students take the GRE subject test in physics each year, yet surprisingly few published resources exist to help students prepare for the content and structure of this important exam. This book, written by two MIT graduate students intimately familiar with the content of the exam, is a comprehensive review of all topics covered on the Physics GRE. Conquering the Physics GRE includes three full-length practice tests with worked solutions, content reviews of all the major subject areas with over 150 additional problems, and a full chapter on special test-taking tips specific to the Physics GRE.
Call Number: QC 32 .K346 2015
Publication Date: 2015, 2nd edition, updated
Physics Qualifying Examination by Horacio A. Farach; Charles P. Poole; John L. SafkoDesigned for use in tandem with the 'Handbook of Physics', this volume is nonetheless self-contained and can be used on its own. The chapters are based on lectures delivered annually by Professor Poole in a course to prepare students for their PhD qualifying examination in the physics department at the University of South Carolina. The book contains 120 selected problems (and answers) that appeared in these examinations, and each one refers to the chapter in the Handbook that discusses the background for it. Professor Farach has kept a record of all the qualifying examinations in the department since 1981. It covers all relevant physics subjects, which are otherwise scattered in different preparation publications or university scripts, including: * Atomic and General Physics * Condensed Matter Physics * Classical Mechanics * Electricity and Magnetism * Elementary Particle Physics * Nuclear Physics * Optics and Light * Quantum Mechanics * Relativity and Astrophysics * Thermo and Statistical Mechanics An excellent self-study approach to prepare physics PhD candidates for their qualifying examinations.
Call Number: QC 32 .F37 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Mathematics for Physics: A Guided Tour for Graduate Students by Michael Stone; Paul GoldbartAn engagingly-written account of mathematical tools and ideas, this book provides a graduate-level introduction to the mathematics used in research in physics. The first half of the book focuses on the traditional mathematical methods of physics – differential and integral equations, Fourier series and the calculus of variations. The second half contains an introduction to more advanced subjects, including differential geometry, topology and complex variables. The authors' exposition avoids excess rigor whilst explaining subtle but important points often glossed over in more elementary texts. The topics are illustrated at every stage by carefully chosen examples, exercises and problems drawn from realistic physics settings. These make it useful both as a textbook in advanced courses and for self-study. Password-protected solutions to the exercises are available to instructors at www.cambridge.org/9780521854030.
Call Number: QC 20 .S76 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Mathematics for Physics by Michael M. Woolfson; Malcolm S. WoolfsonMathematics is the essential language of science. It enables us to describe abstract physical concepts, and to apply these concepts in practical ways. Yet mathematical skills and concepts are an aspect of physics that many students fear the most. Mathematics for Physics recognizes the challenges faced by students in equipping themselves with the maths skills necessary to gain a full understanding of physics. Working from basic yet fundamental principles, the book builds the students' confidence by leading them through the subject in a steady, progressive way. As its primary aim, Mathematics for Physics shows the relevance of mathematics to the study of physics. Its unique approach demonstrates the application of mathematical concepts alongside the development of the mathematical theory. This stimulating and motivating approach helps students to master the maths and see its application in the context of physics in one seamless learning experience. Mathematics is a subject mastered most readily through active learning. Mathematics for Physics features both print and online support, with many in-text exercises and end-of-chapter problems, and web-based computer programs, to both stimulate learning and build understanding. Mathematics for Physics is the perfect introduction to the essential mathematical concepts which all physics students should master.
Call Number: QC 23.2 .W66 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Mathematics for College Physics by Biman DasThis book is designed to help readers get up to speed quickly on the mathematical concepts and tools needed to solve basic physics problems. Instead of a rigorous development of the concepts of mathematics (as is found in a typical math book), it describes the various mathematical concepts and tools and their direct use in physics. Almost all sections end with worked-out examples and exercises taken directly from basic physics. Algebra: Dealing with Numbers and Equations in Physics. Trigonometry: A Powerful Tool to Solve-Real-World Problems. Geometry: Dealing with Shapes and Plots. Calculus: A Way of Probing the Changing World. Vectors: Tracking the Direction of a Change. Probability and Statistics: Analysis of Data and Predicting Future from the Present. For anyone needing a quick review of math for physics applications.
Call Number: QA 39.3 .D37 2004
Publication Date: 2003
Astronomical Spectroscopy: An Introduction to the Atomic and Molecular Physics of Astronomical Spectra by Jonathan TennysonNearly all information about the Universe comes from the study of light as it reaches us. However, understanding the information contained in this light requires both telescopes capable of resolving it into its component colours and a detailed knowledge of the quantum mechanical behaviour of atoms and molecules. This book, which is based on a third-year undergraduate course taught by the author at University College London, presents the basic atomic and molecular physics necessary to understand and interpret astronomical spectra. It explains how and what kind of information can be extracted from these spectra. Contemporary astronomical spectra are used extensively to study the underlying atomic physics and illustrate the results.
Call Number: QB 465 .T46 2011
Publication Date: 2011, 2nd edition
Astrophysics Is Easy! An Easy Introduction for the Amateur Astronomer by Michael InglisAstrophysics is often -with some justification - regarded as incomprehensible without the use of higher mathematics. Consequently, many amateur astronomers miss out on some of the most fascinating aspects of the subject. Astrophysics Is Easy! cuts through the difficult mathematics and explains the basics of astrophysics in accessible terms. Using nothing more than plain arithmetic and simple examples, the workings of the universe are outlined in a straightforward yet detailed and easy-to-grasp manner. The original edition of the book was written over eight years ago, and in that time, advances in observational astronomy have led to new and significant changes to the theories of astrophysics. The new theories will be reflected in both the new and expanded chapters. A unique aspect of this book is that, for each topic under discussion, an observing list is included so that observers can actually see for themselves the concepts presented -stars of the spectral sequence, nebulae, galaxies, even black holes. The observing list has been revised and brought up-to-date in the Second Edition.
Publication Date: 2014, 2nd ed.
Astrophysics Through Computation: With Mathematica Support by Brian Koberlein; David MeiselThis new text surveys a series of fundamental problems in astrophysics, both analytically and computationally for advanced students in physics and astrophysics. The contents are supported by over 110 class-tested Mathematica notebooks, allowing rigorous solutions to be explored in a visually engaging way. Topics covered include many classical and historically interesting problems, enabling the students to appreciate the mathematical and scientific challenges that were overcome in the subject's development. The text also shows the advantages and disadvantages of using analytical and computational methods. It will serve students, professionals, and capable amateurs to master the quantitative details of modern astrophysics and the computational aspects of their research projects.
Call Number: QB 462.2 .K63 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Basic Concepts of X-Ray Diffraction by Emil ZolotoyabkoAuthored by a university professor deeply involved in X-ray diffraction-related research, this textbook is based on his lectures given to graduate students for more than 20 years. It adopts a well-balanced approach, describing basic concepts and experimental techniques, which make X-ray diffraction an unsurpassed method for studying the structure of materials. Both dynamical and kinematic X-ray diffraction is considered from a unified viewpoint, in which the dynamical diffraction in single-scattering approximation serves as a bridge between these two parts. The text emphasizes the fundamental laws that govern the interaction of X-rays with matter, but also covers in detail classical and modern applications, e.g., line broadening, texture and strain/stress analyses, X-ray mapping in reciprocal space, high-resolution X-ray diffraction in the spatial and wave vector domains, X-ray focusing, inelastic and time-resolved X-ray scattering. This unique scope, in combination with otherwise hard-to-find information on analytic expressions for simulating X-ray diffraction profiles in thin-film heterostructures, X-ray interaction with phonons, coherent scattering of Mössbauer radiation, and energy-variable X-ray diffraction, makes the book indispensable for any serious user of X-ray diffraction techniques. Compact and self-contained, this textbook is suitable for students taking X-ray diffraction courses towards specialization in materials science, physics, chemistry, or biology. Numerous clear-cut illustrations, an easy-to-read style of writing, as well as rather short, easily digestible chapters all facilitate comprehension.
Call Number: QC 482 .D5 Z65 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Basic Electronics for Scientists and Engineers by Dennis L. EgglestonIdeal for a one-semester course, this concise textbook covers basic electronics for undergraduate students in science and engineering. Beginning with the basics of general circuit laws and resistor circuits to ease students into the subject, the textbook then covers a wide range of topics, from passive circuits through to semiconductor-based analog circuits and basic digital circuits. Using a balance of thorough analysis and insight, readers are shown how to work with electronic circuits and apply the techniques they have learnt. The textbook's structure makes it useful as a self-study introduction to the subject. All mathematics is kept to a suitable level, and there are several exercises throughout the book. Password-protected solutions for instructors, together with eight laboratory exercises that parallel the text, are available online at www.cambridge.org/Eggleston.
Call Number: TK 7816 .E35 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Dark Energy by Miao Li; Xiao-Dong Li; Shuang Wang; Yi WangThis book introduces the current state of research on dark energy. It consists of three parts.
Call Number: QB 791.3 .L53 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Essential Astrophysics by Kenneth R. LangEssential Astrophysics is a book to learn or teach from, as well as a fundamental reference volume for anyone interested in astronomy and astrophysics. It presents astrophysics from basic principles without requiring any previous study of astronomy or astrophysics. It serves as a comprehensive introductory text, which takes the student through the field of astrophysics in lecture-sized chapters of basic physical principles applied to the cosmos. This one-semester overview will be enjoyed by undergraduate students with an interest in the physical sciences, such as astronomy, chemistry, engineering or physics, as well as by any curious student interested in learning about our celestial science. The mathematics required for understanding the text is on the level of simple algebra, for that is all that is needed to describe the fundamental principles. The text is of sufficient breadth and depth to prepare the interested student for more advanced specialized courses in the future. Astronomical examples are provided throughout the text, to reinforce the basic concepts and physics, and to demonstrate the use of the relevant formulae. In this way, the student learns to apply the fundamental equations and principles to cosmic objects and situations. All of the examples are solved with the rough accuracy needed to portray the basic result. Astronomical and physical constants and units as well as the most fundamental equations can be found in the appendix. Essential Astrophysics goes beyond the typical textbook by including references to the seminal papers in the field, with further reference to recent applications, results, or specialized literature. There are fifty set-aside focus elements that enhance and augment the discussion with fascinating details. They include the intriguing historical development of particular topics and provide further astrophysics equations or equations for other topics. Kenneth Lang is a world-renowned author on astrophysics. His books for professional astrophysicists as well as for students and the interested layman are highly acclaimed.
Publication Date: 2013
Feynman Diagram Techniques in Condensed Matter Physics by Radi A. JishiA concise introduction to Feynman diagram techniques, this book shows how they can be applied to the analysis of complex many-particle systems, and offers a review of the essential elements of quantum mechanics, solid state physics and statistical mechanics. Alongside a detailed account of the method of second quantization, the book covers topics such as Green's and correlation functions, diagrammatic techniques, and superconductivity, and contains several case studies. Some background knowledge in quantum mechanics, solid state physics and mathematical methods of physics is assumed. Detailed derivations of formulas and in-depth examples and chapter exercises from various areas of condensed matter physics make this a valuable resource for both researchers and advanced undergraduate students in condensed-matter theory, many-body physics and electrical engineering. Solutions to exercises are made available online.
Publication Date: 2013
Field Theories of Condensed Matter Physics by Eduardo FradkinPresenting the physics of the most challenging problems in condensed matter using the conceptual framework of quantum field theory, this book is of great interest to physicists in condensed matter and high energy and string theorists, as well as mathematicians. Revised and updated, this second edition features new chapters on the renormalization group, the Luttinger liquid, gauge theory, topological fluids, topological insulators and quantum entanglement. The book begins with the basic concepts and tools, developing them gradually to bring readers to the issues currently faced at the frontiers of research, such as topological phases of matter, quantum and classical critical phenomena, quantum Hall effects and superconductors. Other topics covered include one-dimensional strongly correlated systems, quantum ordered and disordered phases, topological structures in condensed matter and in field theory and fractional statistics.
Call Number: QC 611.98 .H54 F73 2013
Publication Date: 2013, 2nd ed.
Fundamental Forces of Nature by Kerson HuangThis book tells the story of gauge fields, from Maxwell's 1860 theory of electromagnetism to 1954 theory of Yang and Mills that underlies the Standard Model of elementary particle theory. In the course of the narration, the author introduces people and events in experimental and theoretical physics that contribute to ideas that have shaped our conception of the physical world.
Call Number: QC 793.3 .G38 H835 2007
Publication Date: 2007
How Do You Find an Exoplanet? by John Asher JohnsonAlien worlds have long been a staple of science fiction. But today, thanks to modern astronomical instrumentation and the achievements of many enterprising observational astronomers, the existence of planets outside our solar system; also known as exoplanets; has moved into the realm of science fact. With planet hunters finding ever smaller, more Earth-like worlds, our understanding of the cosmos is forever changed, yet the question of how astronomers make these discoveries often goes unanswered. How Do You Find an Exoplanet? is an authoritative primer on the four key techniques that today's planet hunters use to detect the feeble signals of planets orbiting distant stars. John Johnson provides you with an insider's perspective on this exciting cutting-edge science, showing how astronomers detect the wobble of stars caused by the gravitational tug of an orbiting planet, the slight diminution of light caused by a planet eclipsing its star, and the bending of space-time by stars and their planets, and how astronomers even directly take pictures of planets next to their bright central stars. Accessible to anyone with a basic foundation in college-level physics, How Do You Find an Exoplanet? sheds new light on the prospect of finding life outside our solar system, how surprising new observations suggest that we may not fully understand how planets form, and much more.
Publication Date: 2016
Introduction to Condensed Matter Physics by Feng Duan; Jin GuojunThis is volume 1 of two-volume book that presents an excellent, comprehensive exposition of the multi-faceted subjects of modern condensed matter physics, unified within an original and coherent conceptual framework. Traditional subjects such as band theory and lattice dynamics are tightly organized in this framework, while many new developments emerge spontaneously from it. In this volume,• Basic concepts are emphasized; usually they are intuitively introduced, then more precisely formulated, and compared with correlated concepts.• A plethora of new topics, such as quasicrystals, photonic crystals, GMR, TMR, CMR, high Tc superconductors, Bose–Einstein condensation, etc., are presented with sharp physical insights.• Bond and band approaches are discussed in parallel, breaking the barrier between physics and chemistry.• A highly accessible chapter is included on correlated electronic states — rarely found in an introductory text.• Introductory chapters on tunneling, mesoscopic phenomena, and quantum-confined nanostructures constitute a sound foundation for nanoscience and nanotechnology.• The text is profusely illustrated with about 500 figures.
Call Number: QC 173.454 .F45 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Introduction to Statistical Physics by Kerson HuangWritten by a world-renowned theoretical physicist, Introduction to Statistical Physics, Second Edition clarifies the properties of matter collectively in terms of the physical laws governing atomic motion. This second edition expands upon the original to include many additional exercises and more pedagogically oriented discussions that fully explain the concepts and applications. The book first covers the classical ensembles of statistical mechanics and stochastic processes, including Brownian motion, probability theory, and the Fokker-Planck and Langevin equations. To illustrate the use of statistical methods beyond the theory of matter, the author discusses entropy in information theory, Brownian motion in the stock market, and the Monte Carlo method in computer simulations. The next several chapters emphasize the difference between quantum mechanics and classical mechanics-the quantum phase. Applications covered include Fermi statistics and semiconductors and Bose statistics and Bose-Einstein condensation. The book concludes with advanced topics, focusing on the Ginsburg-Landau theory of the order parameter and the special kind of quantum order found in superfluidity and superconductivity. Assuming some background knowledge of classical and quantum physics, this textbook thoroughly familiarizes advanced undergraduate students with the different aspects of statistical physics. This updated edition continues to provide the tools needed to understand and work with random processes.
Call Number: QC 174.8 .H82 2010
Publication Date: 2010, 2nd edition
Knots and Physics by Louis H. Kauffman
Call Number: QC 20.7 .K56 K38 2013
Publication Date: 2013, 4th edition
LHC Physics by Thomas Binoth (Editor); Philip James Clark (Editor); Craig Buttar (Editor)Exploring the phenomenology of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, LHC Physics focuses on the first years of data collected at the LHC as well as the experimental and theoretical tools involved. It discusses a broad spectrum of experimental and theoretical activity in particle physics, from the searches for the Higgs boson and physics beyond the Standard Model to studies of quantum chromodynamics, the B-physics sector, and the properties of dense hadronic matter in heavy-ion collisions. Covering the topics in a pedagogical manner, the book introduces the theoretical and phenomenological framework of hadron collisions and presents the current theoretical models of frontier physics. It offers overviews of the main detector components, the initial calibration procedures, and search strategies. The authors also provide explicit examples of physics analyses drawn from the recently shut down Tevatron. In the coming years, or perhaps even sooner, the LHC experiments may reveal the Higgs boson and offer insight beyond the Standard Model. Written by some of the most prominent and active researchers in particle physics, this volume equips new physicists with the theory and tools needed to understand the various LHC experiments and prepares them to make future contributions to the field.
Call Number: QC 787 .P73 L44 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Mathematical Methods for Physicists by George B. Arfken; Hans J. Weber; Frank E. HarrisOlder editions at call number QA 37 .A68. Now in its 7th edition, Mathematical Methods for Physicists continues to provide all the mathematical methods that aspiring scientists and engineers are likely to encounter as students and beginning researchers. This bestselling text provides mathematical relations and their proofs essential to the study of physics and related fields. While retaining the key features of the 6th edition, the new edition provides a more careful balance of explanation, theory, and examples. Taking a problem-solving-skills approach to incorporating theorems with applications, the book's improved focus will help students succeed throughout their academic careers and well into their professions. Some notable enhancements include more refined and focused content in important topics, improved organization, updated notations, extensive explanations and intuitive exercise sets, a wider range of problem solutions, improvement in the placement, and a wider range of difficulty of exercises. Revised and updated version of the leading text in mathematical physics Focuses on problem-solving skills and active learning, offering numerous chapter problems Clearly identified definitions, theorems, and proofs promote clarity and understanding New to this edition: Improved modular chapters New up-to-date examples More intuitive explanations
Publication Date: 2012, 7th ed.
Observational Astrophysics by Pierre Léna; Daniel Rouan; François Lebrun; François Mignard; Didier Pelat; Laurent Mugnier (Contribution by); Stephen Lyle (Translator)This is the updated, widely revised, restructured and expanded third edition of Léna et al.'s successful work Observational Astrophysics. It presents a synthesis on tools and methods of observational astrophysics of the early 21st century. Written specifically for astrophysicists and graduate students, this textbook focuses on fundamental and sometimes practical limitations on the ultimate performance that an astronomical system may reach, rather than presenting particular systems in detail. In little more than a decade there has been extraordinary progress in imaging and detection technologies, in the fields of adaptive optics, optical interferometry, in the sub-millimetre waveband, observation of neutrinos, discovery of exoplanets, to name but a few examples. The work deals with ground-based and space-based astronomy and their respective fields. And it also presents the ambitious concepts behind space missions aimed for the next decades. Avoiding particulars, it covers the whole of the electromagnetic spectrum, and provides an introduction to the new forms of astronomy becoming possible with gravitational waves and neutrinos. It also treats numerical aspects of observational astrophysics: signal processing, astronomical databases and virtual observatories.
Publication Date: 2012, 3rd edition
One Hundred Physics Visualizations Using MATLAB by Dan GreenThis book provides visualizations of many topics in general physics. The aim is to have an interactive MATLAB script wherein the user can vary parameters in a specific problem and then immediately see the outcome by way of dynamic movies of the response of the system in question. MATLAB tools are used throughout and the software scripts accompany the text in Symbolic Mathematics, Classical Mechanics, Electromagnetism, Waves and Optics, Gases and Fluid Flow, Quantum Mechanics, Special and General Relativity, and Astrophysics and Cosmology. The emphasis is on building up an intuition by running many different parametric choices chosen actively by the user and watching the subsequent behavior of the system. Physics books using MATLAB do not have the range or the intent of this text. They are rather steeped in technical detail. Symbolic math is used extensively and is integral to the aim of using MATLAB tools to accomplish the technical aspects of problem solving.
Call Number: QC 20 .G74 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Physics by Jed Z. Buchwald; Robert FoxThe Oxford Handbook of the History of Physics brings together cutting-edge writing by more than twenty leading authorities on the history of physics from the seventeenth century to the present day. By presenting a wide diversity of studies in a single volume, it provides authoritative introductions to scholarly contributions that have tended to be dispersed in journals and books not easily accessible to the general reader. While the core thread remains the theories and experimental practices of physics, the Handbook contains chapters on other dimensions that have their place in any rounded history. These include the role of lecturing and textbooks in the communication of knowledge, the contribution of instrument-makers and instrument-making companies in providing for the needs of both research and lecture demonstrations, and the growing importance of the many interfaces between academic physics, industry, and the military.
Publication Date: 2014
The Particle at the End of the Universe by Sean CarrollScientists have just announced an historic discovery on a par with the splitting of the atom: the Higgs boson, the key to understanding why mass exists has been found. In The Particle at the End of the Universe, Caltech physicist and acclaimed writer Sean Carroll takes readers behind the scenes of the Large Hadron Collider at CERN to meet the scientists and explain this landmark event. The Higgs boson is the particle that more than six thousand scientists have been looking for using the Large Hadron Collider, the world's largest and highest energy particle accelerator, which lies in a tunnel 17 miles in circumference, as deep as 575 feet beneath the Franco-Swiss border near Geneva. It took ten years to build and this search has now cost over $9 billion and required the collaboration of engineers from more than one hundred countries. What is so special about the Higgs boson? We didn't really know for sure if anything at the subatomic level had any mass at all until we found it. The fact is, while we have now essentially solved the mass puzzle, there are things we didn't predict and possibilities we haven't yet dreamed. A doorway is opening into the mind boggling, somewhat frightening world of dark matter. We only discovered the electron just over a hundred years ago and considering where that took us--from nuclear energy to quantum computing--the inventions that will result from the Higgs discovery will be world-changing. The Particle at the End of the Universe not only explains the importance of the Higgs boson but also the Large Hadron Collider project itself. Projects this big don't happen without a certain amount of conniving, dealing, and occasional skullduggery-- and Sean Carroll explores it all. This is an irresistible story (including characters now set to win the Nobel Prize among other glories) about the greatest scientific achievement of our time.
Call Number: QC 793.5 .B62 C37 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Physics Handbook by Charles P. PooleThis compendium of physics covers the key equations and fundamental principles that are taught in graduate programs. It offers a succinct yet systematic treatment of all areas of physics, including mathematical physics, solid state physics, particle physics, statistical mechanics, and optics. In one complete, self-contained volume, author Charles P. Poole provides both review material for students preparing for PhD qualifying examinations and a quick reference for physicists who need to brush up on basic topics or delve into areas outside their expertise. In this second edition the author devotes two chapters to such regularly needed information as trigonometric and vector identities and special functions. The remaining chapters incorporate less frequently summoned concepts, including Lagrangians, parity, dispersion relations, chaos, free energies, statistical mechanical ensembles, and elementary particle classification. A brand new chapter on entanglement and quantum computing has been added, making this an indispensable resource for graduate students and physicists in both industry and academia.
Call Number: QC 61 .P65 2007
Publication Date: 2007, 2nd edition
Practical Electronics for Inventors by Paul ScherzThis intuitive, applications-driven guide to electronics for hobbyists, engineers, and students doesn't overload readers with technical detail. Instead, it tells you-and shows you-what basic and advanced electronics parts and components do, and how they work. Chock-full of illustrations, Practical Electronics for Inventors offers over 750 hand-drawn images that provide clear, detailed instructions that can help turn theoretical ideas into real-life inventions and gadgets.
Call Number: TK 7816 .S347 2007
Publication Date: 2006, 2nd edition
Quantum Mechanics: Non-Relativistic Theory by L.D. Landau; E.M. Lifshits; J.S. Bell; J.B. Sykes
Call Number: QC 174.1 .L313 1965
Publication Date: 1965, 2nd revised and enlarged edition
Solar System Astrophysics: Background Science and the Inner Solar System by Eugene F. Milone; William J. F. WilsonThe second edition of Solar System Astrophysics: Background Science and the Inner Solar System provides new insights into the burgeoning field of planetary astronomy. As in the first edition, this volume begins with a rigorous treatment of coordinate frames, basic positional astronomy, and the celestial mechanics of two and restricted three body system problems. Perturbations are treated in the same way, with clear step-by-step derivations. Then the Earth's gravitational potential field and the Earth-Moon system are discussed, and the exposition turns to radiation properties with a chapter on the Sun. The exposition of the physical properties of the Moon and the terrestrial planets are greatly expanded, with much new information highlighted on the Moon, Mercury, Venus, and Mars. All of the material is presented within a framework of historical importance. This book and its sister volume, Solar System Astrophysics: Background Science and the Inner Solar system, are pedagogically well written, providing clearly illustrated explanations, for example, of such topics as the numerical integration of the Adams-Williamson equation, the equations of state in planetary interiors and atmospheres, Maxwell's equations as applied to planetary ionospheres and magnetospheres, and the physics and chemistry of the Habitable Zone in planetary systems. Together, the volumes form a comprehensive text for any university course that aims to deal with all aspects of solar and extra-solar planetary systems. They will appeal separately to the intellectually curious who would like to know how just how far our knowledge of the solar system has progressed in recent years.
Publication Date: 2014, 2nd edition
Solar System Astrophysics: Planetary Atmospheres and the Outer Solar System by Eugene F. Milone; William J. F. WilsonThe second edition of Solar System Astrophysics: Planetary Atmospheres and the Outer Solar System provides a timely update of our knowledge of planetary atmospheres and of the bodies of the outer solar system and their analogs in other planetary systems. This volume begins with an expanded treatment of the physics, chemistry, and meteorology of the atmospheres of the Earth, Venus, and Mars, moving on to their magnetospheres and then to a full discussion of the gas and ice giants and their properties. From here, attention switches to the small bodies of the solar system, beginning with the natural satellites. The comets, meteors, meteorites, and asteroids are discussed in order, and the volume concludes with the origin and evolution of our solar system. Finally, a fully revised section on extrasolar planetary systems puts the development of our system in a wider and increasingly well understood galactic context. All of the material is presented within a framework of historical importance. This book and its sister volume, Solar System Astrophysics: Background Science and the Inner Solar system, are pedagogically well written, providing clearly illustrated explanations, for example, of such topics as the numerical integration of the Adams-Williamson equation, the equations of state in planetary interiors and atmospheres, Maxwell's equations as applied to planetary ionospheres and magnetospheres, and the physics and chemistry of the Habitable Zone in planetary systems. Together, the volumes form a comprehensive text for any university course that aims to deal with all aspects of solar and extra-solar planetary systems.nbsp;They will appeal separately to the intellectually curious who would like to know how just how far our knowledge of the solar system has progressed in recent years.
Publication Date: 2014, 2nd edition
Statistical Mechanics by Kerson HuangUnlike most other texts on the subject, this clear, concise introduction to the theory of microscopic bodies treats the modern theory of critical phenomena. Provides up-to-date coverage of recent major advances, including a self-contained description of thermodynamics and the classical kinetic theory of gases, interesting applications such as superfluids and the quantum Hall effect, several current research applications, The last three chapters are devoted to the Landau-Wilson approach to critical phenomena. Many new problems and illustrations have been added to this edition.
Call Number: QC 174.8 .H83 1987
Publication Date: 1987, 2nd edition
Statistical Physics by L.D. Landau and E.M. Lifshits
Call Number: QC 175 .L32 1980
Publication Date: 1980, 3rd revised and enlarged edition
Statistical Physics: Fundamentals and Application to Condensed Matter: With Lectures, Problems and Solutions by H.T. Diep
Call Number: QC 174.8 .D54 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Theoretical Astrophysics: An Introduction by Ralf Klessen; Matthias BartelmannBeginning from first principles and adopting a modular structure, this book develops the fundamental physical methods needed to describe and understand a wide range of seemingly very diverse astrophysical phenomena and processes. For example, the discussion of radiation processes including their spectra is based on Larmor's equation and extended by the photon picture and the internal dynamics of radiating quantum systems, leading to the shapes of spectral lines and the ideas of radiation transport. Hydrodynamics begins with the concept of phase-space distribution functions and Boltzmann's equation and develops ideal, viscous and magneto-hydrodynamics all from the vanishing divergence of an energy-momentum tensor, opening a natural extension towards relativistic hydrodynamics. Linear stability analysis is introduced and used as a common and versatile tool throughout the book. Aimed at students at graduate level, lecturers teaching courses in theoretical astrophysics or advanced topics in modern astronomy, this book with its abundant examples and exercises also serves as a reference and an entry point for more advanced researchers wanting to update their knowledge of the physical processes that govern the behavior and evolution of astronomical objects.
Call Number: QB 461 .B37 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Theoretical Atomic Physics by Harald FriedrichThis established text contains an advanced presentation of quantum mechanics adapted to the requirements of modern atomic physics. The third edition extends the successful second edition with a detailed treatment of the wave motion of atoms, and it also contains an introduction to some aspects of atom optics that are relevant for current and future experiments involving ultra-cold atoms. Included: Various problems with complete solutions.
Call Number: QC 173 .F7223813 2006
Publication Date: 2005, 3rd ed.
Topics in Statistical Mechanics by Brian CowanBuilding on the material learned by students in their first few years of study, this book presents an advanced level course on statistical and thermal physics. It begins with a review of the formal structure of statistical mechanics and thermodynamics considered from a unified viewpoint. After a brief revision of non-interacting systems, emphasis is laid on interacting systems. First, weakly interacting systems are considered, where the interest is in seeing how such interactions cause small deviations from the non-interacting case. Second, systems are examined where interactions lead to drastic changes, namely phase transitions. A number of specific examples are given, and these are unified within the Landau theory of phase transitions. The final chapter of the book looks at non-equilibrium systems and the way these evolve towards equilibrium. Here, fluctuations play a vital role, as is formalized in the Fluctuation–Dissipation theorem.
Call Number: QC 174.7 .C69 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Understanding Quantum Physics by Michael A. MorrisonWritten in an informal yet substantive style that is a joy to read, this book provides a uniquely engaging, in-depth introduction to the concepts of quantum physics and their practical implementation, and is filled with clear, thorough explanations that help readers develop insight into physical ideas and master techniques of problem-solving using quantum mechanics. Fully explores the concepts and strategies of quantum mechanics, showing the connections among the physical concepts that govern the atomic and sub-atomic domain of matter, and examining how these concepts manifest themselves in the mathematical machinery of quantum mechanics. Focuses on the explanations and motivations of the postulates that underlie the machinery of quantum mechanics, and applies simple, single-particle systems in one dimension. Illuminates discussions of ideas and techniques with a multitude of examples that show not just the answers but also the reasoning behind them, and adds dimension to the subject with historical, biographical and philosophical references throughout. Designed for a wide range of readers interested in various branches of physics and engineering physics.
Call Number: QC 174.12 .M69 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Everyone's Universe by Noreen A. Grice"One out of five Americans has a disability. Everyone's Universe: A Guide to Accessible Astronomy Places (second edition) is an innovative, enabling book that explores ways to provide universal access to educational science programs through: MOBILITY ACCESS for people who use wheelchairs, LOW VISION AND TACTILE ACCESS for people who are blind or visually impaired, SPECIALIZED ENVIRONMENTS for people with neurological disorders including autism spectrum disorder, ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY for nonverbal communication and NON-HEARING ACCESS for people who are deaf or hearing impaired Everyone's Universe includes a visitor friendly travel guide to accessible science museums, planetariums and observatories. Astronomy educator Noreen Grice's mission is to make astronomy accessible for everyone, and she never accepts that something is impossible!"