Dictionaries
-
Black's Law Dictionary
by
ISBN: 9780314613004Publication Date: 2014-05-01This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law. -
Norton Dictionary Of Bankruptcy Terms 2021 Edition
by
ISBN: 9781731921093Publication Date: 2021A comprehensive resource for understanding the complex language and concepts used in bankruptcy law, offering definitions and explanations of key terms and legal concepts -
Ballentine's Law Dictionary with Pronunciations
by
ISBN: 9780686145400Publication Date: 1969-10-01A dictionary containing definitions of legal terms "based on the actual construction of those terms by courts of last resort, with each case cited to the page on which the definition appears."
Encyclopedias
-
American Jurisprudence 2d – BankruptcyAmerican Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur. 2d) – Bankruptcy" is a comprehensive legal reference guide that provides in-depth coverage of U.S. bankruptcy law. It is part of the larger American Jurisprudence series, which is a well-regarded treatise that covers various areas of law. The Bankruptcy section of Am. Jur. 2d offers detailed explanations, analysis, and case law for key issues in bankruptcy law, including:
1. Bankruptcy Proceedings:
The section covers the procedural aspects of bankruptcy cases, such as filing for bankruptcy, the role of the debtor and creditor, and the various types of bankruptcy filings (Chapter 11 begins in section XXVI)
2. The Bankruptcy Code:
Explains the specific provisions of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code and how they apply in different circumstances, including automatic stays, discharge of debts, and bankruptcy estate property.
3. Rights and Duties of Parties:
Outlines the rights and responsibilities of debtors, creditors, trustees, and bankruptcy judges are addressed, including the powers of the trustee and the duties of the debtor to disclose assets and income.
4. Bankruptcy Court Jurisdiction:
Discusses the role and jurisdiction of bankruptcy courts in the U.S. legal system and how cases are handled by federal courts.
5. Bankruptcy Litigation:
The treatise also discusses various bankruptcy-related lawsuits, such as adversary proceedings, and issues related to fraudulent transfers, preferences, and dischargeability of debts.
NOTE: This is a Westlaw Link and will require Westlaw access. -
Corpus Juris SecundumCorpus Juris Secundum (CJS) is a comprehensive and authoritative legal encyclopedia that provides an extensive overview of U.S. law across many legal topics. The Bankruptcy section of CJS is one of the chapters in this work and offers a thorough analysis of the law surrounding bankruptcy in the United States. It is similar in scope to other legal encyclopedias but is more comprehensive and structured to provide detailed summaries of principles, statutes, and case law. The section regarding Chapter 11 reorganizations can be found in part XI.
NOTE: This is a Westlaw Link and will require Westlaw access.