NEPA

Treatises:

• NEPA Law and Litigation
  • This treatise provides a comprehensive guide to NEPA litigation from determining the Act's application to the Environmental Impact Statements. 

American Law Reports (ALR)

• Requirements Under NEPA 
  • This source provides an overview of agency requirements under NEPA, Environmental Impact Statements, and the broad national commitment and purpose of NEPA. 
• Environmental Assessment for Compliance with NEPA
  • This source provides an overview of the Environmental Assessment that federal agencies must prepare if it's proposed action falls outside a categorical exclusion. 
• Purpose of Environmental Impact Statement Under NEPA
  • This source provides summary of "hard look" purpose an Environmental Impact Statement has under the NEPA. 
• Adequacy of Environmental Impact Statements under NEPA
  • This source provides information pertaining to an Environmental Impact Statement's compliance with NEPA. 
• Council on Environmental Quality to Promote NEPA Compliance 
  • This source explains the responsibilities of the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ). 
• The National Environmental Policy Act 
  • This source provides a historical overview of NEPA, describes agency action that falls within NEPA, lists requirements for Environmental Impact Statements, and the standard of review courts apply to EIS. 
• Necessity and Sufficiency of Environmental Impact Statements Under the National Environmental Policy Act 
  • This source provides an extensive review of NEPAs background, elements of proof, model discovery, proof of the necessity for preparation of an EIS, and proof of inadequacy of an EIS.

Law Review Articles

• Towards a Smarter NEPA: Monitoring and Managing Government's Environmental Performance 
  • This law review article addresses different perspectives regarding the NEPA legislation as a launch into the environmental decade, but also a costly and pointless paper-shuffling requirement. 
• Judicial Review of the Administrative Record in NEPA litigation
  • This law review article considers the balance between agency power to perform their duties and ensuring that agencies follow the law in the context of NEPA litigation.

Citizens Guide to NEPA

• A Citizen's Guide to NEPA
  • This document provides a detailed overview of NEPA including the history and purpose behind NEPA, parties responsible for implementing NEPA, procedural requirements of NEPA, navigating the NEPA process, and how to become involved in the process. This documents provides helpful flowcharts to describe the NEPA review process. 

CALI: NEPA Basics

• The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides an exercise to review the basic structure and requirements of NEPA. 

Continued Legal Education ("CLE")

• The American Bar Association's (ABA) CLE materials are an excellent source of information on environmental law and NEPA specifically. The courses required payment of a fee, however materials are available on Westlaw and Lexis. 

Clean Air Act ("CAA")

• Clean Air Act Handbook
  • This source an overview of the Clean Air Act, National Ambient Air Quality Standards, hazardous air pollutants, permitting, ozone protection, and enforcement, rulemaking, and judicial review.
• The Clean Air Act- National ambient air quality standards and state implementation plans
  • This source provides a comprehensive overview of the Clean Air Act and state implementation plans to comply with National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS).

Clean Water Act ("CWA")

• The Clean Water Act 
  • This source provides a comprehensive overview of the Clean Water Act legislation, unlawful discharges, and permitting. 

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980 ("CERCLA")

• Allocation Methodologies- CERCLA 
  • This source provides a broad overview into the CERCLA legislation, defining "hazardous substances", CERCLA's liability scheme, CERCLA defenses, and substantive litigation materials. 

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act ("RCRA")

• The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act
  • The source provides an overview of the CERCLA legislation, the substantive provisions of RCRA, duties imposed by RCRA, standards for transporters of hazardous and solid wastes, state program standards, EPA injunctive relief provisions, and judicial review regulations. 

Safe Drinking Water Act ("SDWA")

• Safe Drinking Water Act ("SDWA") 
  • This source provides an overview of the Safe Drinking Water Act legislation, the EPA's authority under the Act, notice to state governments, and the crimes defined by the SDWA. 

Endangered Species Act ("ESA")

• The Endangered Species Act 
  • This source provides information regarding the Endangered Species Act legislation, the mission of ESA, the five major components of the ESA legislation, and Court of Appeals agency decisions.