LibGuides: Family Law Research Guide: Secondary Sources (Treatises, Practice Guides, Legal Encyclopedias, Law Reviews & Journals)

Family Law Treatises

Treatises are comprehensive, scholarly works that provide in-depth analysis of legal doctrines, policies, and case developments. In family law, treatises are particularly useful for understanding complex issues such as child custody, marital property, parental rights, and assisted reproduction. They often cover both national trends and state-specific nuances and are regularly updated to reflect new cases and statutory changes. These are invaluable tools for deeper academic research and are frequently cited by courts and scholars alike.

Arnold H. Rutkin & Myrna Felder, Family Law and Practice (Matthew Bender, 1985 - date) (Lexis+)
This multi-volume treatise is one of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on family law in the United States. It covers everything from divorce and child custody to reproductive technology and domestic violence, with in-depth legal analysis and citations to leading cases. It also includes sample forms, litigation strategies, and discussions of jurisdictional variations—making it useful for both academic and practical research. Accessible to OU Law facutly and students through their Lexis+ accounts.
Adoption Law and Practice (Joan H. Hollinger ed., 1988 - date). (Lexis+)
This authoritative, multi-volume treatise offers comprehensive coverage of adoption law in the United States, including agency, independent, stepparent, intercountry, and adult adoptions. It provides in-depth analysis of constitutional issues, consent requirements, parental rights termination, and the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA), along with practical guidance and sample forms. Regularly updated, it's an essential resource for attorneys, judges, and scholars working in the complex and evolving field of adoption. Accessible to OU Law facutly and students through their Lexis+ accounts.
Jeff Atkinson, Modern Child Custody Practice (2d ed., 2000 - date) (Lexis+)
This treatise provides thorough and practical guidance on all aspects of child custody law, including legal standards for custody and visitation, parental relocation, joint custody, and third-party rights. It integrates substantive law with procedural strategy, offering sample pleadings, checklists, and expert commentary on psychological evaluations, mediation, and the role of guardians ad litem. Designed for practitioners but equally useful to scholars, the treatise reflects current trends and developments in custody law across jurisdictions. Accessible to OU Law facutly and students through their Lexis+ accounts.
Thomas A. Jacobs, Children and the Law: Rights & Obligations (1995 - date) (Westlaw)
This treatise examines the legal status, rights, and responsibilities of children across a wide range of contexts, including education, medical decision-making, child labor, criminal liability, and emancipation. It explores the evolving balance between parental authority, state interests, and children's autonomy, with careful attention to constitutional principles and public policy. Both doctrinal and analytical, the work provides valuable insights for those studying or practicing juvenile and family law. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.
Homer J. Clark, The Law of Domestic Relations in the United States (3d ed., 2021) (West Academic)
This Hornbook-style treatise delivers a sweeping analysis of U.S. domestic relations law, exploring the historical continuity and modern shifts in family law practices. It examines evolving legal frameworks for marriage and its alternatives—such as contract cohabitation, civil unions, and same-sex marriage—in light of state supreme court and U.S. Supreme Court rulings. The text also addresses the economic dimensions of divorce, including equitable property division in the aftermath of marriage equality, and concludes with a candid discussion of adoption law’s transformation from secrecy to openness. At roughly 1,171 pages, this treatise is updated for contemporary doctrine while retaining deep scholarly grounding, making it indispensable for both practitioners and academics.

Practice Guides & Forms

Practice guides and formbooks are hands-on resources designed to help attorneys navigate real-world legal procedures with confidence. In the family law context, they offer practical advice, litigation strategies, procedural checklists, and sample pleadings tailored to issues like divorce, custody, child support, and adoption. These guides bridge the gap between legal theory and day-to-day practice, making them essential tools for both new and experienced practitioners.

Melissa DeLacerda, Oklahoma Family Law (Oklahoma Practice Series, June 2025 update) (Westlaw)
This Oklahoma-tailored treatise stands as the definitive guide to family law practice in the state. Covering areas such as divorce procedure, custody and visitation, child and spousal support, and the enforcement of protective orders, it marries clear statutory analysis with practical procedural guidance. Packed with jurisdiction-specific insights, sample pleadings, checklists, and tips on navigating Oklahoma courts, it’s an essential resource for practitioners, legal clinics, and students working on state-level family law matters. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.
Vernon's Oklahoma Forms (Westlaw)
This authoritative multi-volume set provides hundreds of state‑specific legal forms for use in Oklahoma across civil procedure, family law, real estate, business organizations, and more. Authored by prominent local practitioners and professors, each volume includes substantive commentary, drafting guidelines, and up‑to‑date case and statutory citations, making it an essential resource for accurate, jurisdictionally tailored document preparation. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.
Linda Diane Henry Elrod, Child Custody Practice & Procedure (June 2024 Update) (Westlaw)
This comprehensive treatise offers detailed guidance on litigating child custody matters in the U.S. It emphasizes best-interest factors and outlines jurisdictional issues under UCCJEA, PKPA, and UCCJA, along with strategy for discovery, expert evaluations, sanctions, and appeals. This resource combines doctrinal analysis with concrete tools such as sample pleadings, checklists, and courtroom tactics. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.
Isabell Scott, Domestic Violence Practice & Procedure (August 2024 update).
This annually updated treatise provides attorneys with in-depth analysis of domestic violence cases, covering both civil and criminal dimensions. It addresses protective orders, custody and immigration implications, expert testimony, VAWA jurisdictional issues, and intersectional civil rights claims. The work is supplemented with practical advice, case summaries, and trial-ready strategies.
Family Estate Planning (December 2024 update) (Westlaw)
This guide bridges family law and estate planning practice by examining how marriage, divorce, guardianship, and children impact estate strategies. It provides insights into handling blended families, trusts, and minor beneficiaries. Legal analysis and practice tools make it valuable for estate planners advising clients facing family transitions. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.
Qualified Domestic Relations Orders: Strategy and Liability for the Family Law Attorney (Matthew Bender, October 2024 update) (Lexis+)
This specialized guide provides essential analysis and drafting strategies for Qualified Domestic Relations Orders (QDROs), focusing on division of retirement assets during divorce. It addresses ERISA and tax compliance, ethical pitfalls, malpractice exposure, and coordination with plan administrators. The treatise includes model QDROs, real-world examples, and step-by-step instructions, making it a crucial tool for family law practitioners handling complex property division. Requires Lexis+ login credentials.
Family Law Litigation Guide with Forms: Discovery, Evidence, Trial Practice (Matthew Bender, August 2024 update) (Lexis+)
This comprehensive litigation manual walks attorneys through every stage of family law proceedings—from pretrial planning and discovery to trial strategy and evidentiary issues. It includes extensive sample forms, motions, and deposition questions tailored to divorce, custody, and support cases. Emphasizing practical application, the guide offers tactical insights for negotiating settlements, preparing witnesses, and presenting persuasive cases in court. Requires Lexis+ login credentials.
Representing the Child Client (Matthew Bender, May 2025 update) (Lexis+)
Focusing on the unique ethical and procedural considerations of child representation, this treatise addresses custody disputes, dependency proceedings, abuse investigations, and educational rights. It guides attorneys through the appointment process, confidentiality issues, client capacity assessments, and courtroom advocacy for minors. With sample pleadings, checklists, and commentary on child development, it is an invaluable resource for GALs, child welfare attorneys, and juvenile practitioners. Requires Lexis+ login credentials.
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d
This companion to AmJur 2d offers a wide array of sample legal forms covering transactions and litigation across all areas of law. Each form is paired with commentary, drafting notes, and citations to relevant statutes and case law, making it a useful tool for adapting documents to specific client needs. American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d is available on Westlaw (including the public access stations), Lexis+, and in the library's physical collection.
American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated
Focused on litigation, this set provides sample pleadings, motions, and procedural documents for a wide range of legal actions, including family law matters. Annotations link to relevant case law and rules, helping users craft accurate, well-supported filings. American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated is available on Westlaw (including the public access stations), Lexis+, and in the law library's physical collection.
Texas Jurisprudence Pleading & Practice Forms (Westlaw)
Designed to complement Texas Jurisprudence, this set offers Texas-specific forms for pleadings, motions, and other court filings. Each form is annotated with references to the Texas Family Code, court rules, and interpretive case law, providing practical guidance for family law litigation in the state. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal encyclopedias provide broad, easy-to-understand summaries of legal topics, organized by subject and jurisdiction. They are excellent starting points for research, offering concise explanations of doctrines, references to key statutes and cases, and guidance on where to dig deeper. National sets like AmJur 2d and CJS, as well as state-specific sources like Texas Jurisprudence, help researchers quickly get up to speed on family law issues.

American Jurisprudence 2d
A leading national legal encyclopedia, AmJur 2d provides comprehensive summaries of U.S. law across all major topics, including family law. Entries are organized by subject and include references to primary authority such as statutes, cases, and regulations. Particular entries of interest for family law researchers include: Abortion and Birth Control, Divorce and Separation, Domestic Abuse and Violence, Marriage, and Parent and Child, among others. American Jurisprudence is available on Westlaw (including the public access stations), Lexis+, and in the law library's physical collection.
Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS) (Westlaw)
CJS is another major national legal encyclopedia, known for its more detailed and systematically arranged treatment of legal subjects. Its family law volumes cover topics such as marriage, custody, and support, with citations to key cases and statutes from across jurisdictions. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.
Texas Jurisprudence
The leading legal encyclopedia for Texas law, TexJur provides detailed, state-specific coverage of statutes, case law, and procedures. Its family law volumes include discussions of marriage, divorce, custody, adoption, and community property, tailored to Texas practitioners and researchers. Texas Jurisprudence is available on Westlaw (including via the public access stations) and Lexis+.

Law Reviews & Journals

Law reviews and legal journals publish scholarly articles that explore emerging issues, policy debates, and in-depth legal analysis. These publications are often written by professors, practitioners, and students, and can offer both theoretical insights and practical critiques of family law doctrines. They’re especially valuable for academic research, writing projects, and staying informed about trends and reform efforts in the field.

In addition to the specific journals identified below, the Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) can be a useful tool in identifying new articles from a variety of publications on a particular subject (e.g., domestic relations). CILP is availble via HeinOnline or Westlaw.

Yale Journal of Law and Feminism
The Yale Journal of Law and Feminism publishes interdisciplinary scholarship that examines how gender, sexuality, and reproductive justice intersect with the law. It features articles, essays, and student notes that challenge traditional legal paradigms and advocate for social and legal transformation. The link leads to the journal's home webpage, but access to all issues of the journal are available via Westlaw, Lexis+, and HeinOnline.
Harvard Journal of Law & Gender
A leading voice in critical legal scholarship, this journal explores how gender, sexuality, and race intersect with family law, reproductive rights, and social policy. Articles often critique legal structures and advocate for reform grounded in feminist, queer, and intersectional perspectives. It’s an essential resource for scholars examining law's role in shaping private and public life. Linked resource is the journal's website, but it is also available on Westlaw, Lexis+, and HeinOnline.
Child Law Practice (ABA Center on Children and the Law)
This practitioner-focused publication provides news, analysis, and tools for attorneys, judges, and child welfare professionals working in abuse, neglect, foster care, and juvenile court systems. Articles emphasize best practices, recent case developments, federal policy updates, and practical strategies for improving outcomes for children and families. It’s especially valuable for those involved in dependency and child protection cases. Accessible to OU Law faculty and students through their Westlaw credentials; accessible to public patrons through the public access Westlaw stations in the law library.
Children's Legal Rights Journal (Loyola University Chicago School of Law)
A peer-reviewed journal exploring legal issues affecting children, including education rights, juvenile justice, child welfare, and disability law. It combines scholarly analysis with a focus on policy reform and advocacy, making it a valuable resource for both academics and practitioners. Articles often highlight emerging research and innovative approaches to children’s legal representation.
Family Advocate (ABA Section of Family Law)
A quarterly publication tailored to practicing family law attorneys, offering practical guidance on topics such as custody, support, property division, ethics, and client counseling. Each issue centers on a specific theme and includes checklists, sample forms, and real-world strategy tips. Accessible and action-oriented, it’s one of the most popular tools for staying current in family law practice. Accessible via Westlaw, Lexis+, and HeinOnline.
Family Law Quarterly (ABA Section of Family Law)
This peer-reviewed law journal provides scholarly and policy-focused analysis on family law topics including marriage, divorce, child welfare, assisted reproduction, and elder law. It features articles by leading academics and practitioners and often includes annual summaries of key case and legislative developments across jurisdictions. It bridges academic scholarship with real-world implications. Accessible via Westlaw, Lexis+, and HeinOnline.
Journal of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
Published by the AAML, this journal features in-depth articles written by experienced matrimonial attorneys and judges. It covers high-level topics such as complex property division, interstate and international custody, and financial valuation in divorce. Known for its practical focus and expert insight, it’s a go-to resource for seasoned family law practitioners and scholars alike. Linked resource is the journal's website, but it is also available on Westlaw, Lexis+, and HeinOnline.

American Law Reports

American Law Reports (ALR) provide in-depth, analytical articles—called annotations—that survey how courts across jurisdictions have addressed specific legal issues. The annotations linked below focus on selected family law topics and include case summaries, legal commentary, and citations to relevant statutes and secondary sources. An on-topic American Law Report is a fantastic jumping-off point for legal research about any topic, including family law. Westlaw provides a searchable database of family-law-specific American Law Reports here: Family Law. American Law Reports are available on both Lexis+ and Westlaw. Note for public patrons, please use the Westlaw public access station to access this link or the links provided below.

Vitauts M. Gulbis, Propriety of Awarding Joint Custody of Children, 17 A.L.R.4th 1013 (Originally published in 1982).
This annotation collects and analyzes the state cases which have determined the propriety of awarding joint custody of children to both parents following dissolution of a marriage.
Jay M. Zitter, Custodial Parent's Relocation As Grounds for Change of Custody, 70 A.L.R.5th 377 (Originally published in 1999).
This annotation collects and discusses the state and federal cases where the courts have considered the impact of the fact that a parent who has temporary or permanent custody of a minor child or children has moved or is planning to move or relocate, on a claim by the noncustodial parent that custody should be transferred to the noncustodial parent.
George L. Blum, Property Rights Arising from Relationship of Couple Cohabiting Without Marriage, 69 A.L.R.5th 219 (Originally published in 1999).
This annotation collects and analyzes those cases in which the courts have determined the rights of parties cohabiting without marriage with respect to property accumulated or those acquired during the period of cohabitation.
Kurtis A. Kemper, Construction and Application of Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, 90 A.L.R.5th 1 (Originally published in 2001).
This annotation collects and analyzes the cases construing or applying the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, which has been adopted by all states, and governs the procedure for establishing, enforcing, and modifying child and spousal support orders.
Robin Cheryl Miller, Child Custody and Visitation Rights Arising from Same-Sex Relationship, 80 A.L.R.5th 1 (Originally published in 2000).
This annotation collects and analyzes those state and federal cases discussing the propriety of an award of child custody or visitation rights, arising from a now–dissolved same–sex relationship, to the former partners in the relationship. This annotation covers both children born to, or adopted by, the partners during the relationship and children in the custody of either partner prior to the relationship. Additionally, this annotation encompasses both initial awards and modifications of prior awards of custody or visitation rights.
Carol Schultz Vento, Construction and Application of Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 (ICWA) (25 U.S.C.A. §§ 1901 et seq.) Upon Child Custody Determinations, 89 A.L.R.5th 195 (Originally published in 2001).
This annotation collects and analyzes those cases that have applied the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 (ICWA) to child custody proceedings. The custody proceedings covered by the Act include foster–care placement, preadoptive placement and termination of parental rights. Cases are also included in which courts have declined to apply the Act because certain provisions of the Act were not met.