Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law - Individual Rights by Alan Ides; Christopher N. May; Simona GrossiA favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2018
West Academic Study Aids
First Amendment Law in a Nutshell by Jerome BarronThis product provides a short and readable source for individuals interested in constitutional law, First Amendment law, and communications law. It is divided into four parts: the history, methodology, and philosophical foundations of the First Amendment; topics such as First Amendment issues that arise in cable television and in regulating children's access to the Internet; issues in First Amendment law such as the public forum doctrine, the compelled speech doctrine, and the free expression rights of government employees; and the text, history, and theory of the religion clauses, chronicling the ongoing battle in the Supreme Court between accommodationists and separationists. The Fifth Edition brings the book up to date with modern First Amendment jurisprudence, including a focus on racist and offensive speech, electoral spending, and other topics covered by recent Supreme Court cases and discussions.
Publication Date: 2017
A Short and Happy Guide to the First Amendment by Robert Power; Mark AlexanderThis concise guide breaks down a complicated topic--the First Amendment--and makes it understandable and fun. The book walks briskly through cases, rules, and theories to draw a reader-friendly road map of the First Amendment. Two law school deans and First Amendment enthusiasts, Bob Power and Mark Alexander, synthesize principles with memorable examples and a sharp wit. Their analysis reveals the common sense behind much First Amendment law, and at the same time identifies some of its flaws and inconsistencies. The book addresses the deep historic roots as well as current problems such as campaign finance, hate speech, and electronic communications. It is equally useful as a general guide as it is for preparing for class and for exams (including the bar!).
Publication Date: 2016
The First Amendment by Daniel A. FarberWritten by a leading national scholar, Farber's coverage of the First Amendment is clear and incisive. All of the major areas of this complex doctrine are reviewed, including the religion clauses. The text also probes theories of free speech and debates over controversial issues such as campaign finance, hate speech, and religious exemptions. The new edition covers recent Supreme Court decisions dealing with the use of free exercise claims as a defense in discrimination cases, the elimination of mandatory fees to support public employee unions as a violation of free speech, and the right of convicted sex offenders to access online social media.
Publication Date: 2019
First Amendment Stories by Richard W. Garnett; Andrew KoppelmanThis Stories title will enrich First Amendment courses and help students appreciate the premises that animate the cases and the values that are at stake in religious-liberty and free-speech controversies, rarely captured fully by doctrinal presentations. This collection offers carefully selected and rich cases that involve real stories, which can themselves serve as points-of-entry to the many great, ongoing debates that run through our free speech and religious liberty traditions.
Publication Date: 2011
Global Issues in Freedom of Speech and Religion by Alan E. Brownstein; Leslie Gielow JacobsBrownstein and Jacobs's Global Issues in Freedom of Speech and Religion: Cases and Materials is a companion volume to existing materials. Designed to assist professors in introducing issues of international and comparative law, this title is ideal for use in educational courses that address: The First Amendment Law and religion Individual rights Other topics dealing with free speech and religious liberty In order to make companion materials understandable and accessible to students as well as to professors who have not taught the materials before, this title: Includes case excerpts, helpful background materials, and notes Is set out in a structure that mirrors U.S. constitutional jurisprudence
Publication Date: 2008
Lexis Study Aids
Understanding the First Amendment by Russell L. WeaverThe overarching objective of Understanding the First Amendment is to facilitate student learning efficiency and academic success. Toward this end, it focuses upon core subject matter that is likely to be tested in a law school examination or on the bar examination. The book also provides tools that enable students to organize the course and their understanding in a way that enhances retention. The beginning of each chapter highlights key points of coverage. The end of each chapter indicates essential points to remember. The book strikes a balance between comprehensiveness and selectivity, thus providing students with assurance that they know enough, know it well, but are not overwhelmed by details that are unduly esoteric or irrelevant to their performance needs.
Mastering First Amendment Law by John C. KnechtleMastering First Amendment Law offers students an opportunity to learn the essential elements of First Amendment law in a condensed framework. At a time when First Amendment study books are detailed, long and full of footnotes, this book's concise, up-to-date, user-friendly approach is refreshing. Whether students are studying for con law exams or the bar exam, Mastering First Amendment Law offers an outline which is easy to use. Each chapter begins with a simple roadmap alerting the reader to the direction of the chapter. The chapter naturally unfolds according to that plan and then ends with a list of checkpoints which summarize the law in pithy phrases. There are no footnotes, see also's, bibliographies, etc. because Mastering First Amendment Law is a condensed yet complete outline of constitutional law.
Mastering First Amendment Law starts by giving the reader the theory and methodology to analyze and understand First Amendment law. It then addresses various types of speech such as advocacy of illegal action, fighting words, hostile audiences, threats, hate speech, obscenity, child pornography, defamation, invasion of privacy, disclosure of confidential information and commercial speech. These topics lead to the question of where does free speech protections apply and the development of public, limited and nonpublic forums as well as private property and restricted environments such as schools, prisons and the military.
Mastering First Amendment Law then addresses freedom of the press, including broadcast regulation and advancing technology and freedom of association, including the in electoral process. Finally, Mastering First Amendment Law examines freedom of religion from both the establishment clause perspective and the free exercise perspective. The former includes government support for religious beliefs and financial aid to religious institutions, and the latter includes law discriminating against religion and neutral laws adversely affecting religion.
Mastering First Amendment Law helps students learn the concepts, doctrines, and analytical tools that underlie first amendment law. Over the past 70 years, First Amendment law has grown exponentially sometimes leaving casebook authors and students feeling overwhelmed by the number and nuances of decisions. The author of Mastering First Amendment Law selected only the most important decisions for this book in order to give students the essential knowledge needed to master First Amendment law.
This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.