Each chapter describes substantive governance issues, and includes a Practical Advice section that provides guidance on how to apply principles and addresses different substantive issues. The suggestions contained in the Practical Advice sections, many in bullet point or checklist format, are intended to help nonprofit management and board leadership convert principles and concepts into concrete actions to improve governance and help board members understand their responsibilities.While this book is an indispensable tool for nonprofit board members, it is of particular value to executive officers and board chairs. It clearly spells out the responsibilities of these two roles and stresses the importance of mutual respect, trust, and support in promoting the organization's goals.
Call Number: Available as ebook from ProQuest Ebook Central (Law)
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
Nonprofit Governance Law, Practices & Trends Governance seems to be the subject that is perched atop every nonprofit lawyer's worry/wish list, despite the fact that there is not much law on the point, particularly at the federal level. This ascension in importance is largely due to the various organizations propounding best practices and principles for public charities and other forms of nonprofit organizations, the IRS's redesigned Form 990, the agency's aggressive push of certain good governance principles in the tax-exempt organizations' setting, and scandals brought to light by the Senate Finance Committee staff. Stemming from the authors' endless hours of meditating over the new Form 990 and sifting through the many (and often inconsistent) best practices principles, Nonprofit Governance fills the need for some cohesion in the realm of nonprofit governance by providing in-depth coverage and explanations of the laws, practices, and trends in this volatile area. An invaluable resource for nonprofit executives, officers, directors, nonprofit lawyers, accountants, members of boards of directors, and consultants, legal experts Bruce R. Hopkins and Virginia Gross's Nonprofit Governance brims with detailed documentation and references to regulations, rulings, cases, and tax literature (which includes current articles and tax law review notes). Here, readers will find a wealth of clarifying information on: Federal and state law fundamentals Board member responsibilities and liability Nonprofit governance principles Nonprofit governance issues Application of the private benefit doctrine Governance and the redesigned Form 990 Recommended polices and procedures Governance case studies Governance legal audit A law primer for nonprofit board members And much more The book includes an exhaustive index, Internal Revenue Code citations and numerous case studies, tips, forms, and checklists to round out the authoritative coverage. Nonprofit Governance is an indispensable guide to, and through, all of the governance policymaking that is unfolding, to improve the management of nonprofit organizations as well as to help organizations be in compliance with nonprofit governance law.
Build a more effective board with insight from the forefront of corporate governance The Handbook of Board Governance provides comprehensive, expert-led coverage of all aspects of corporate governance for public, nonprofit, and private boards. Written by collaboration among subject matter experts, this book combines academic rigor and practitioner experience to provide thorough guidance and deep insight. From diversity, effectiveness, and responsibilities, to compensation, succession planning, and financial literacy, the topics are at once broad-ranging and highly relevant to current and aspiring directors. The coverage applies to governance at public companies, private and small or medium companies, state-owned enterprises, family owned organizations, and more, to ensure complete and clear guidance on a diverse range of issues. An all-star contributor list including Ram Charan, Bob Monks, Nell Minow, and Mark Nadler, among others, gives you the insight of thought leaders in the areas relevant to your organization. A well-functioning board is essential to an organization's achievement. Whether the goal is furthering a mission or dominating a market, the board's composition, strategy, and practices are a determining factor in the organization's ultimate success. This guide provides the information essential to building a board that works. Delve into the board's strategic role in value creation Gain useful insight into compensation, risk, accountability, legal obligations Understand the many competencies required of an effective director Get up to speed on blind spots, trendspotting, and social media in the board room The board is responsible for a vast and varied collection of duties, but the singular mission is to push the organization forward. Poor organization, one-sided composition, inefficient practices, and ineffective oversight detract from that mission, but all can be avoided. The Handbook of Board Governance provides practical guidance and expert insight relevant to board members across the spectrum.
Call Number: Available as ebook from ProQuest Ebook Central (Law)
Publication Date: 2007-05-07
As the number and size of nonprofit organizations continues to grow, NFPs are coming under ever-increasing government scrutiny. Soon Congress will require that nonprofits comply with rigorous accounting and governance standards very similar to those set forth for for-profits in the Sarbanes-Oxley Act. If you work for a nonprofit and are concerned about meeting impending changes to tax and finance standards governing NFPs this book is for you. In simple, straight-forward language, this guide demystifies the often perplexing world of nonprofit governance in the age of Sarbanes-Oxley. Author, Jill Gilbert Welytok, an attorney who heads the Sarbanes-Oxley division of a major Midwest law firm, walks you step-by-step through the process of evaluating your governance structures. She arms you with tips and strategies for adopting uniform standards under current governance and tax laws, while preparing you for any upcoming changes. She shows you how to protect your tax status and reassure donors and volunteers while staying true to your organization's mission. And she fills you in on what you need to know to: Comply with state laws and regulations Get and keep tax-exempt status Avoid lawsuits and other legal landmines Handle the media Anticipate future trends Make sense of the Sarbanes-Oxley act Including sample nonprofit bylaws and a complete audit committee report, Nonprofit Law & Governance for Dummies, Second Edition is an indispensable survival tool for 21st century nonprofits.
Nonprofit Leadership and Management
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by David O. RenzThe go-to nonprofit handbook, updated and expanded for today's leader The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is the bestselling professional reference and leading text on the functions, processes, and strategies that are integral to the effective leadership and management of nonprofit and nongovernmental organizations. Now in its fourth edition, this handbook presents the most current research, theory, and practice in the field of nonprofit leadership and management. This practical, relevant guide is invaluable to the effective practice of nonprofit leadership and management, with expanded attention to accountability, transparency, and organizational effectiveness. It also extensively covers the practice of social entrepreneurship, presented via an integrative perspective that helps the reader make practical sense of how to bring it all together. Nonprofit organizations present unique opportunities and challenges for meeting the needs of societies and their communities, yet nonprofit management is more complex and challenging than ever. This Handbook provides a framework to help you lead and manage efficiently and effectively in this new environment. Building on solid current scholarship, the handbook provides candid, practical guidance from nationally-recognized leaders who share their insights on: The relationship between board performance and organizational effectiveness Managing internal and external stakeholder relationships Financial viability and sustainability and how to enhance both for the long term Strategies to successfully attract, retain, and mobilize the very best of staff and volunteers The fourth edition of the handbook also includes content relevant to associations and membership organizations. The content of the handbook is supplemented and enriched by an extensive set of online supplements and tools, including reading lists, web references, checklists, PowerPoint slides, discussion guides, and sample exams. Running your nonprofit or nongovernmental organization effectively in today's complex and challenging environment demands more knowledge and skill than ever, deployed in a thoughtful and pragmatic way. Grounded in the most useful modern scholarship and theory, and explained from the perspective of effective practice, The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is a pivotal resource for successful nonprofit leaders in these turbulent times.
Call Number: Bizzell Memorial Library Stacks HD 62.6 .J67 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Nonprofit & Constitutional Law
Tax-Exempt Organizations and Constitutional Law by Bruce R. HopkinsA comprehensive guide to understanding the theory and implications of constitutional law as it relates to tax-exempt organizations Although the U.S. Constitution does not make any reference to nonprofit organizations--not surprising, since the Constitution is not a framework for the structure of the entirety of U.S. society--the Supreme Court has effusively shaped nonprofit law. Now, leading nonprofit law expert Bruce R. Hopkins discusses how tax-exempt organizations, including educational, religious, and healthcare institutions, are directly affected by constitutional law decisions and other pronouncements from the U.S. Supreme Court. Written by one of the country's leading legal authorities on tax-exempt organizations Provides a comprehensive, authoritative examination of constitutional law principles and their implications for tax-exempt organizations Includes coverage of the Supreme Court's perspective on nonprofit organizations and tax exemption, applicability of the Establishment and Free Exercise Clauses to nonprofit religious organizations, the import of Free Speech principles in the charitable fundraising context, the constitutionality of the individual health insurance mandate, and more Other titles by Bruce R. Hopkins: The Law of Tax-Exempt Organizations, Tenth Edition, The Law of Fundraising, Fourth Edition, and The Tax Law of Charitable Giving, Fourth Edition Should religious organizations be exempt from taxation? Should religious groups get tax exemptions not available to other organizations? Are state charitable solicitation acts constitutional? Is the health insurance mandate constitutional? Is the Affordable Care Act subject to legal challenge at this time? How many ways has the Supreme Court shaped nonprofit law? Get answers to these questions and many more from Tax-Exempt Organizations and Constitutional Law.
Call Number: Electronic book available via ProQuest Ebook Central
Call Number: Available electronically via Proquest Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2008-06-20
Nonprofit Law for Religious Organizations: Essential Questions & Answers is a hands-on guide to the most pertinent and critical legal issues facing those who lead and manage religious tax-exempt organizations with an emphasis on tax, employment, property and constitutional law. This timely book is a response to the need for guidance, direction, and clarification of legal and tax laws affecting churches and other religious organizations.
How to Read Nonprofit Financial Statements by Andrew S. Lang; Tammy Ricciardella; Lee Klumpp; William D. EisigEXPERT GUIDANCE ON HOW TO READ, INTERPRET, AND USE NONPROFIT FINANCIAL STATEMENTS UPDATED TO INCLUDE THE NEW FASB STANDARD FOR NONPROFIT FINANCIAL REPORTING Whether you re a nonprofit executive unfamiliar with the language of financial statements or a seasoned pro, this book is the only guide you ll need to correctly interpret those critical documents, refresh your skills and familiarize yourself with the new FASB nonprofit reporting standards. The intent behind the recent FASB accounting standards update was to improve the clarity and usefulness of nonprofit financial statements. But making sense of those statements can still be tough for the uninitiated. Accountants and non-accountants who use and prepare nonprofit financial statements need guidance on how to interpret and implement these new FASB standards. Written for both audiences, this book: Clearly defines accounting terminology and concepts, while offering numerous examples of financial statements reflecting both the old and new FASB standards Steers you, line-by-line, through financial reports, providing in-depth explanations of the differences between the old and new standards Provides numerous illustrations to help you quickly feel at home with the format of nonprofit financial statements Offers exercises to help you gain insight into the core concepts of nonprofit financial statements and reinforce your command of those concepts In addition to the new FASB standards, this expanded edition includes: A new chapter on reserves, a long-standing challenge for nonprofits A new section on general financial analysis, outlining what financial statement readers should look for to stay informed and satisfy their responsibility regardless of their role A new chapter on benchmarking to help nonprofits measure performance against industry peers How to Read Nonprofit Financial Statements, Third Edition is an invaluable resource for anyone who reads, interprets, or prepares these all-important documents.
Call Number: Bizzell Memorial Library HF5686.N56 L36 2017