Research Guides
Secondary sources are materials written by historians using primary sources (such as newspaper articles, government reports, books, etc. from the time period being studied). Examples of secondary sources include: books, journal articles, reference materials.
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database covering social sciences, humanities, education, physical and life sciences, and ethnic studies with access to more than 7,000 peer reviewed journals and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
Coverage: 1984-present
Includes materials on traditional art, art history, archaeology, architecture, fashion design, interior design, visual art, folk art, film, and non-western art. Materials indexed include journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes multi-lingual material.
Fore more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
Coverage: 1949-present
This database covers topics in biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Materials indexed includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays. The ATLA Religion Database includes ALTASerials, an online collection of religion and theology journals, which provides some full text access.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
Coverage: 1900-present
Provides access to Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts. Subject coverage includes communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields. Some full text is available.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
Bibliographic database covering the subjects of film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. This database indexes periodicals and technical publications. Some full text is available.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
A multidisciplinary database that provides coverage of Latin America. Resources include references to journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers in both Spanish and English.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1960s
Provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Includes topics on current political, economic, and social issues. Some full text is available.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1954-present
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Materials indexed include abstracts to books, journals, and dissertations.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
This database is a digitized archive of the backfiles of selected scholarly journals. Provides access to materials in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1926-present
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database is an index covering topics in literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Materials indexed include journals, books, working papers, translations, dissertations, websites, and conference proceedings.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
Coverage: 1969-present
International index to vocal and instrumental music materials, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, reviews, and videos.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print and video tutorial.
Coverage: 1956-present
El Caribe is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic's most influential and longest-running newspapers. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1918-1946
El Imparcial was a conservative, pro-independence tabloid published in San Juan, Puerto Rico in the early 20th century. During that time, it was the most widely read newspaper in Puerto Rico, providing coverage on such historical events as the Cuban Revolution and political corruption in Puerto Rico in the 1940s.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1807-1972
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Comprised of over 1,000 titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods, this collection provides documentation on topics such as partisan politics, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Material is sourced from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas in Austin, the preeminent Latin American library in the United States.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1800-1924
Included in the World Newspaper Archive, this collection provides access to more than 35 nineteenth and twentieth century Latin American newspapers. Features titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1919-1990
El Mundo was a conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico during the 20th century, in production from 1919-1990. Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States, independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, and more.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1943-1949
Noticias Graficas was a groundbreaking Argentine newspaper published in Buenos Aires during the early 20th century, known for its double-page illustrated center spread and high-quality journalism. This prominent newspaper was shut down during the dictatorship of Pedro Eugenio Aramburu.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1992-present
Provides selective full text access to current content from The Economist, a premier weekly publication providing timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive appraisal of global news, spanning centuries and continents.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1843-2020
Provides full text access to over 150 years of The Economist, a premier weekly publication providing timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive appraisal of global news, spanning centuries and continents.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1959-present
Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Subject coverage includes culture, religion, independent press, and ethnic studies. The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Provides access to business and news archives, historical market data, interactive charting, financial statements, and company reports.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
NOTE: Some newspapers are not available in the academic version of Factiva.Coverage: 1996-one month ago
The Financial Times is a daily newspaper, based in London, that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1888-2021
A key international business paper based in London, The Financial Times Historical Archive provides access to fully searchable digital reproductions of every issue from 1888-2021. Coverage includes critical financial and economic events, industry, energy, international politics, and more recently management, personal finance and the arts.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Provides full text to over 500 U.S. newspapers and over 600 international newspapers. Real time news updates are also available through newswires such as CNN Newswire, PR Newswire, and CNN. This database also provides access to over 1.6 million radio and television transcripts.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.