Books
The books in this list serve as finding aids that you can use to locate tests by topic, including both unpublished and commercially published tests. They do not contain the full text of the tests themselves. Many of them include critical reviews on the reliability, validity, and appropriate application of the included tests.
Note: This list includes both books located in the reference collection (main floor) and books in the Bizzell Library stacks.
- Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment TechniquesCall Number: Reference BF 176.5 .D53Publication Date: 1988Describes assessment techniques, including clinical applications.
- Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise SciencesCall Number: Reference GV 706.4 .D57Publication Date: 1996Describes purpose and application of tests for research, primarily not available commercially.
- Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional, and Research LibrariesCall Number: Reference LB 3051 .D564Publication Date: 2001Not a finding aid for individual tests, but a directory of libraries and other institutions that hold test collections, including contact information for interested researchers.
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental MeasuresCall Number: Reference BF 431 .D45Publication Date: 1996Contains information on over 1700 test instruments taken from 37 social science journals published between 1986 and 1990. Each entry includes test descriptions and citation information.
- ETS Test Collection CatalogCall Number: Reference LB 3051 .E79Publication Date: 1986/1992Brief descriptions of commercially available tests in education, psychology, and related fields.
- Family Assessment: A Guide to Methods and MeasuresCall Number: Reference HQ 518 .G75Publication Date: 1989Include both published and unpublished measures, focusing on whole-family assessment.
- Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and MeasuresCall Number: Reference HM 253 .B43 1990Publication Date: 1990Descriptions and sample items for tests on a range of gender-related constructs in social and psychological domains.
- Index to Tests Used in Educational DissertationsCall Number: Reference LB 3051 .F3Publication Date: 1989Indexes tests used in educational dissertations from 1938 to 1980. Use Dissertation Abstracts to locate cited dissertations.
- Major Psychological Assessment InstrumentsCall Number: Stacks BF 176 .M35Publication Date: 1985/1996Two editions. In-depth discussion of some of the most significant psychological assessment instruments.
- Mental Measurements YearbookCall Number: Reference BF 431 .B847Publication Date: 1940-2014See online version for detailed description.
- Personality Tests and ReviewsCall Number: Reference BF 698.5 .B87Publication Date: 1972-74Comprises the personality sections of MMYs Tests in Print. Includes a comprehensive bibliography, evaluations, and sample items.
- Psychological Assessment in the SchoolsCall Number: Reference BF 722 .B8Publication Date: 1995Published by the Buros Institute (producers of MMY and TIP), this guide reviews over 100 frequently used instruments.
- Screening and Evaluating the Young Child: A Handbook of Instruments to Use from Infancy to Six YearsCall Number: Reference LB 1132 .S68Publication Date: 1980
- Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and MeasuresCall Number: Reference BF 692 .B38Publication Date: 1990Includes sample items as well as reviews and availability information.
- Test CritiquesCall Number: Reference BF 176 .T419Publication Date: 1984-1994Critiques of tests in a broad range of social science topics, focusing on commercially published tests. Comprehensive index in final volume.
- Testing Adolescents: A Reference Guide for Comprehensive Psychological AssessmentsCall Number: Reference BF 724.25 .T47Publication Date: 1986
- Testing Adults: A Reference Guide for Special Psychodiagnostic AssessmentsCall Number: Reference RC 469 .T47Publication Date: 1985
- Testing Children: A Reference Guide for Effective Clinical and Psychoeducational AssessmentsCall Number: Reference BF 722 .T47Publication Date: 1984
- Tests and Measurements in Child DevelopmentCall Number: Reference BF 722 .J64Publication Date: 1976Reliability and validity information for over 1200 unpublished measures of child behavior.
- Tests in Education: A Book of Critical ReviewsCall Number: Reference LB 3051 .T446Publication Date: 1984Reviews tests for primary and secondary school children, focusing on British tests.
- Tests in PrintCall Number: Reference LB 3051 .B83Publication Date: 1961-2011See online version for detailed description.
- Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and BusinessCall Number: Reference BF 176 .T43Publication Date: 2003Directory of commercially available tests.