Citing Sources from OU Libraries Databases

Most databases offer a citation tool or a "cite" feature that will help you to quickly generate a rough citation. These features can help form a basic foundation for your citations. Just remember to check the citations from the databases for accuracy before including them in your work. 

Discover Citation Feature

If you use Discover to find sources for your research:

• Click on the item title you would like to cite.
• Under the Send To section, click on the citation feature.
• A list of citations will pop up under the citation feature.
  • Click on the style that you need. 
• Highlight the citation, then copy the citation and paste it into your document.

EBSCO Citation Feature

If you use an EBSCO database such as Academic Search Premier to find sources for your research:

• Click the item title in the database.
  • This will take you to the source's record page in the database. 
• On the left side of the record page, click on the Cite feature. 
• A list of citations will pop up in the center of the screen.
  • Scroll down to find the style that you need. 
• Highlight the citation, then copy the citation and paste it into your document.

ProQuest Citation Feature

If you use a ProQuest database such as ABI/Inform to find sources for your research:

• Click the item title in the database.
  • This will take you to the source's record page in the database. 
• On the left side of the record page, click on the Cite feature.
• A list of citations will pop up in the center of the screen.
  • Use the "Citation style" drop-down menu to change the style (to MLA, Chicago, etc.), if needed. 
• Highlight the citation, then copy the citation and paste it into your document.

Citation Manuals & Guides

OU Libraries Tutorial Video

Why Do We Cite Sources?

Learn about why citations are needed, parts of a citation, and the different citation styles.

More Tutorial Videos