Skip to main content

Art History

Browsing the Stacks

N Visual arts

NA Architecture

NB Sculpture

NC Drawing. Design. Illustration

ND Painting

NE Print media

NK Decorative arts

NX Arts in general

TR Photography

 

Because books are arranged by medium, browsing often does not work for art history.

An artist like Picasso, who created works in many media, has books in NB, NC, and ND

call number ranges. Finding a call number before you wander the stacks is recommended

Reference Resources

Benezit Dictionary of Artists

   N 40 .D5213 2006 Fine Arts Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of 19th Century Photography

   TR 9 .H25 2008 v. 1-2 Fine Arts Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of 20th Century Photography

   TR 642 .E5 2006 v. 1-3 Fine Arts Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist Art

   N 6370 .E53 1999 Fine Arts Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art

   N 6502 .E53 2000 Fine Arts Library Reference Collection

Grove Dictionary of Art

   N 31 .D5 1996  34 volumes (Located on the last table to the right when you walk in the door)

Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art

   N 8510 .G76 2008 Fine Arts Library Reference Collection

Catalogue raisonné


The Fine Arts Library owns the Catalogue raisonné for many artists, including Picasso, Klee, Modigliani, Ruscha, Renoir and Raphael.  These are shelved in our Reference Collection and must be used in the library.

Librarian

Matt Stock's picture
Matt Stock
Contact:
Catlett Music Center, 020
500 W. Boyd St.
(405)325-4243

Follow Us on Facebook