CHEMnetBASE is the online home to CRC Press' chemistry reference works. Includes "Handbook of Chemistry and Physics", "Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD)" and more.
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry and Drug DiscoveryBurger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development provides a comprehensive source on medicinal chemistry and drug discovery and development. This authoritative resource incorporates the entire drug development cycle (preclinical testing, clinical trials, etc.), alongside medicinal chemistry and drug discovery.
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry by Robert A. Meyers (Editor-In-Chief)Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory (environmental, clinical, QC, research, university), in the field or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a lab protocol and together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also enables preparation of procedures, protocols and "cookbooks" by managers and staff of laboratories. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry comprises over 600 articles, arranged alphabetically by topic, in approximately 14000 pages, in 15 volumes.
Publication Date: 2000 (with updates through 2009)
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by William J. Lennarz (Editor-In-Chief); M. Daniel Lane (Editor-In-Chief)The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Second Edition, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry. Editors-In-Chief William J. Lennarz and M. Daniel Lane have crafted a work that proceeds from the acknowledgement that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics-is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning. Each article in the work provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, written by experts, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researcher wishing to go into greater depth.
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry by Jack Moore (Editor); Nicholas Spencer (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Physical Chemistry and Chemical Physics introduces possibly unfamiliar areas, explains important experimental and computational techniques, and describes modern endeavors. The encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Particular attention has been paid to symbols and abbreviations to make this a user-friendly encyclopedia. Care has been taken to ensure that the reading level is suitable for the trained chemist or physicist. The encyclopedia is divided in three major sections: FUNDAMENTALS: the mechanics of atoms and molecules and their interactions, the macroscopic and statistical description of systems at equilibrium, and the basic ways of treating reacting systems. The contributions in this section assume a somewhat less sophisticated audience than the two subsequent sections. At least a portion of each article inevitably covers material that might also be found in a modern, undergraduate physical chemistry text. METHODS: the instrumentation and fundamental theory employed in the major spectroscopic techniques, the experimental means for characterizing materials, the instrumentation and basic theory employed in the study of chemical kinetics, and the computational techniques used to predict the static and dynamic properties of materials. APPLICATIONS: specific topics of current interest and intensive research. For the practicing physicist or chemist, this encyclopedia is the place to start when confronted with a new problem or when the techniques of an unfamiliar area might be exploited. For a graduate student in chemistry or physics, the encyclopedia gives a synopsis of the basics and an overview of the range of activities in which physical principles are applied to chemical problems. It will lead any of these groups to the salient points of a new field as rapidly as possible and gives pointers as to where to read about the topic in more detail.
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Chemical Reactions by C.A. Jacobson and Clifford A. Hampel
Call Number: QD 155.J3 (Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 1946-
classic source; described by a prominent chemistry librarian as "an unparalleled source for basic, basic reactions."
Encyclopedia of Forensic ScienceThis resource provides essential information for forensic scientists, doctors, practicing and academic lawyers, paralegals, police, crime scene investigators, analytical chemists, behavioral scientists, and toxicologists.
It covers all topics which, either as part of an established forensic discipline or as a potentially useful emerging discipline, are of interest to those involved in the forensic process. This work represents the interdisciplinary nature of forensic sciences.
• Covers key areas such as: Behavioral, Biological Sciences, Criminalistics, Digital Evidence, Multimedia and Engineering, DNA Analysis of Biological Fluids, Fire and Explosives, Investigation and Law Enforcement, Law, Medicine, Statistics and the Evaluation of Evidence, Toxicology and Drug Analysis and Trace
• Contributions from specialists working in forensic institutions around the globe
Publication Date: 2009 (updated through 2015)
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry by Robert A. Scott, Editor-in-ChiefFormed from the merger of the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins.
From basic inorganic chemistry principles to the latest thinking and developments in materials, energy, bioscience, nanoscience and catalysis, the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry is an essential online resource for researchers and students working in all areas of inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry.
Combining content of exceptional quality with a globally recognised editorial board - and delivering contributions from prize winning authors, including Nobel Laureate Robert Huber - EIBC presents up-to-date information on the hottest areas and spans the following topics:
Publication Date: 2012 (updated through 2015)
Encyclopedia of Life ScienceseLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is an essential resource for students.
Publication Date: 2007 (updated through 2015)
Encyclopedia of Metalloproteins by Robert H. Kretsinger (Editor); Vladimir N. Uversky (Editor); Eugene A. Permyakov (Editor)In biochemistry, a metalloprotein is a generic term for a protein that contains a metal cofactor. The metal may be an isolated ion or may be coordinated with a nonprotein organic compound, such as the porphyrin found in hemoproteins. In some cases, the metal is co-coordinated with a side chain of the protein and an inorganic nonmetallic ion. This kind of protein-metal-nonmetal structure is seen in iron-sulfur clusters Metalloproteins deals with all aspects related to the intracellular and extracellular metal-binding proteins, including their structures, properties and functions. The biological roles of metal cations and metal-binding proteins are endless. They are involved in all crucial cellular activities. Many pathological conditions are related to the problematic metal metabolism. Research in metalloprotein-related topics is therefore rapidly growing, and different aspects of metal-binding proteins progressively enter curricula at Universities and even at the High School level on occasion. However, no key resource providing basic, but comprehensible knowledge on this rapidly expanding field exists. The Encyclopedia of Metalloproteins aims to bridge this gap, and will attempt to cover various aspects of metalloprotein/metalloproteomics and will deal with the different issues related to the intracellular and extracellular metal-binding proteins, including their structures, properties and functions. The goal is to cover exhaustively all catalytically and biologically crucial metal ions and to find at least one interacting protein for other metal ions. The Encyclopedia of Metalloproteins will provide a key resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, researchers, instructors, and professors interested in protein science, biochemistry, cell biology, and genetics.
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology, 4th ed.Formerly known as Mark's Encyclopedia. Articles in the Encyclopedia cover the fundamental and practical aspects of the polymer field, including polymeric materials, polymer properties, polymerization methods, processing, and uses. Special emphasis is put on new and advanced polymeric materials for various applications (e.g. coating, water filtration, energy, and biomedical applications, etc.), new and improved characterization and analytical methods, and modern processing technology.
Publication Date: updated quarterly
Encyclopedia of Radicals in Chemistry, Biology, and MaterialsCovering not only basic concepts and chemical synthesis, the encyclopedia also covers various aspects concerning the role of free radicals in materials and life sciences. Offering the reader a balanced contribution of topics related to free radicals, for example, their role in proteomics, genomics and lipidomics as well as their enormous potential in synthesis and technology.
The volumes are thematically structured within four areas: Basic Concepts & Methodologies, Synthetic Strategies & Applications, Chemical Biology, and Polymers & Materials.
Publication Date: 2012
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyThe Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are addressed.
Publication Date: 2001 (with updates through 2015)
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals with over 10,000 monographs on single substances or groups of related compounds. It also includes an appendix with monographs on organic named reactions.
Presenting the single most comprehensive knowledge source for protein scientists, Protein Science Encyclopedia covers the structure of proteins, the function of proteins, analytical methods of proteins, engineering of proteins, and medical aspects of proteins.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, 7th ed.ULLMANN'S Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and many more.
Publication Date: 2009 (with updates through 2015)
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Glenn D. Considine (Editor)Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.
Call Number: QD 4 .V36 2005 Reference Collection
Publication Date: 2005
Handbooks & Assorted Chemistry References
Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic SynthesisIn the Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis series, you'll find the entire contents of all print volumes, including an A to Z listing of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. To save you time in researching, all information about a particular reagent is collected in one single article. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.
International Tables for CrystallographyInternational Tables for Crystallography is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography and structural science. This series, first established in 1935, has grown over the decades to become the definitive reference work for crystallography and structural science. The wide range of articles in the series and the numerous tables of data assist in the use of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials, from physics and materials science to chemistry, biology and biochemistry. Emphasis is placed on symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal-structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. The data are accompanied by discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.
Provides reference books and information in the fields of chemistry and the life sciences, materials and engineering. Full text available.
March's Advanced Organic Chemistry, 7th ed. by Michael B. SmithThe new, revised and updated 7th edition of "March's Advanced Organic Chemistry" clearly explains the theories and examples of organic chemistry, providing the most comprehensive resource about organic chemistry available. Readers are guided on planning and execution of multi-step synthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all the reactions. The first five chapters deal with the structure of organic compounds and discuss important organic chemistry bonds, fundamental principles of conformation, and stereochemistry of organic molecules, and reactive intermediates in organic chemistry. Chapters 6 to 9 are concerned with general principles of mechanism in organic chemistry, including acids and bases, photochemistry, sonochemistry and microwave irradiation, and finally the relationship between structure and reactivity. The last 10 chapters cover the nature and the scope of organic reactions and their mechanisms. The 7th edition proves again it is a must-have desktop reference and textbook for every student and professional working in organic chemistry or related fields. Key features of the 7th edition: Every chapter has been updated with the most recent reaction information with references to both the primary and review literature New to the 7th edition: 5,500 references since the last edition, updates / rewrites of the retained sections, and an updated index in Appendix B Contains more than 1650 reactions and 20,000 valuable references to the primary literature Includes appendices on the literature of organic chemistry and the classification of reactions according to the compounds synthesized Guides the reader on planning and execution of multi-step synthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all the reactions. Reviews of the previous edition: ..".a favorite general organic chemistry text and an easy-to-use one-volume reference. We are confident that this book will remain a dominant reference and that it will reside on many chemists' personal bookshelves." -"Journal of Medicinal Chemistry" "Who can hope to be seriously accepted as a member of the organic chemistry community without being in possession of at least one edition of 'March'?" -"Chemistry and Industry"
Provides access to chemical and physical property data from the collections of the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and other sources. Can search by formula, chemical name, CAS registry number, author, reaction, and several other options.
NIST Critically Selected Stability Constants of Metal Complexes Database by Robert M. Smith, Arthur E. Martell, Ramunas J. Motekaitis, Standard Reference Data Program (NIST)
Call Number: QD 503 .M37 2004 (ask for CD at circulation desk)
Publication Date: 2004
Successor to Critical Stability Constants by Martell & Smith (6-volume set located at QD 503 .M37)
Patty's ToxicologyPatty's Toxicology is a premier reference for toxicological information on a large number of industrial chemicals that pose potential health hazards. The reference presents logical groupings of comprehensive toxicological data for industrial compounds, including CAS numbers, physical and chemical properties, exposure limits, and biological tolerance values for occupational exposures, making it essential for toxicologists and industrial hygienists.
Publication Date: 5th ed.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by Robert H. Perry; Don W. GreenGet Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics--from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications. First published in 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition of Perry's Chemcial Engineering Handbook features: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data * Mathematics * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics * Process Control * Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Size Reduction and Size Enlargement * Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids * Alternative Separation Processes * And Many Other Topics!
Polymer Handbook by J. Brandrup; Edmund H. Immergut (Editor); E. A. Grulk (Editor); A. Abe (Editor); D. Bloch (Editor)Brings together all the data needed in theoretical and experimental polymer research. Features: * Continues to be the only source for fundamental, validated property data of polymeric material * Explores the developments in the field since 1989, such as new pvt relationships and new co-polymer reactivity parameters * Includes 30% new data - which is more reliable and accurate due to advances in instruments * Improved nomenclature to aid indexing and search & retrieval
Database contains over 500,000 substances; includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.
Database contains: fundamental organic compounds, commercial compounds, pharmaceuticals, pesticides,
solvents, reagents, and important biochemicals.
DOC also covers the principal organic compounds of Se, Te, As, Sb and Bi. There is also selective coverage of organo-B and organo-Si compounds, especially those of importance in synthetic organic chemistry.