Directories of Subject-Oriented Reseach Guides
- Georgetown Law Library Research GuidesCovers every subject from Administrative Law to Water Law. Detailed references to key databases, treatises, journals, and primary law sources.
- Harvard Law Library Research GuidesFind research assistance and explore subject guides and useful resources compiled by Harvard Law School's research experts.
- 50 State Surveys (Westlaw)50 State Surveys provides access to state and federal statutes, covering topics of law such as garnishment, attachment and judgment execution requirements, durable powers of attorney, cancellation and nonrenewal of insurance policies and premiums, and numerous others.
- Court Documents - Bloomberg LawBloomberg Law is available to all currently enrolled law students and faculty. It contains PDF versions of court documents (briefs, motions, etc.) for all federal courts and most state courts. All of the federal court PACER content is available in Bloomberg Law.
- U.S. Supreme Court Briefs (Westlaw)Begins with 1930. A limited number of selected older briefs may be included.
- U.S. Courts of Appeals Briefs (Westlaw)Selected coverage from 1972 through current
- Briefs Multibase (Westlaw)Briefs Multibase has selected briefs from the U.S. Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, U.S. Tax Court, 51 state courts and the District of Columbia. Selected Petitions for Writ of Certiorari are also included.
- SCOTUS: Where to Find BriefsAdvice from the U.S. Supreme Court on where to locate appellate briefs.
- Free and Fee Based Appellate Court Briefs OnlineThis guide provides researchers with the ability to quickly find appellate court briefs.
Locating Oral Arguments and Transcripts
- Transcripts of U.S. Supreme Court Oral Arguments (Westlaw)Official transcripts of oral arguments in cases heard before the U.S. Supreme Court from the 1990-91 Term to the present.
- Oyez - Supreme Court Oral Argument RecordingsCases listed by issue.
Refresh Your Research Skills
- Legal research in a nutshell byCall Number: KF 240 .C54 2010ISBN: 9780314264084Publication Date: 2010
Subject Guides for Researching Moot Court Problems
- Constitutional Law & History Research Guide byThis guide covers the the judicial interpretation of the U.S. Constitution, historical sources for research into the creation of the U.S. and state constitutions, and provides a list of the leading treatises, reference sources, and law reviews on the Constitution and Constitutional Law.
- Consumer law : a legal research guide byCall Number: On OrderISBN: 9780837738574Publication Date: 2012
- Criminal Law & Justice Research Guide byThis guide is an overview of the federal criminal law and procedure resources, with an emphasis on criminal procedure. It also discusses sources of law enforcement statistics.
- Employment Law Research Guide byCall Number: InternetThis guide is intended as a starting point for research in U.S. federal labor and employment law at Georgetown Law Library. It includes both primary and secondary materials, in both print and electronic formats. Labor and employment law covers employment discrimination, disability law, employee benefits, labor arbitration, labor relations, workplace health and safety.
- Federal income tax law : a legal research guide byCall Number: KF 241 .T38 D95 2010ISBN: 9780837718781Publication Date: 2010-08-01
- First Amendment Legal Research Guide byCall Number: InternetPublication Date: 2011
- Habeas Corpus: a legal research guide byCall Number: KF 241 .C75 P74 2011ISBN: 9780837738208Publication Date: 2011-09-01
- Health Law Legal Research Guide byCall Number: InternetThis research guide is designed to provide an introduction to U.S. health law research in the Georgetown Law Library. It includes select legal and policy resources on various aspects of health law.
- Identity theft : a legal research guide byCall Number: KF 241 .C75 B47 2004ISBN: 083773035XPublication Date: 2004-11-01
- Legal ethics : a legal research guide byCall Number: KF 306 .P46 2006ISBN: 0837736064Publication Date: 2006-09-01
- Legislative history research a basic guide byCall Number: InternetPublication Date: 2011
- Oil and gas law : a legal research guide byCall Number: KF 1849 .S37 2012ISBN: 9780837738451Publication Date: 2012-01-01
- Sports Law Research Guide byLegal issues related to sports revolve around a number of areas of law, ranging from contracts to torts to intellectual property and others, so secondary sources are often the best place to begin when researching a sports law question.
- The modern death penalty : a legal research guide byCall Number: KF 241 .C65 R63 2001ISBN: 1575886561Publication Date: 2001-12-01
- Small Business Legal Research Guide byCall Number: InternetThis guide describes specialized materials, both print and online, that might be useful as you do research on the topic of small businesses. In addition to these specialized materials, the Library has a comprehensive print collection of federal and state statutes, regulations, and cases on the fourth floor. The full text of most of these primary sources can also be searched online using Westlaw or Lexis.