A comprehensive introduction to the precontact cultures of continental North America. Contains more than 750 entries.

This innovative casebook explores the emerging law of archaeology. It combines carefully edited judicial opinions with extensive descriptions of famous controversies that were not litigated, all arranged to illustrate relevant legal concepts in a sequential development. The cases are buttressed by full coverage of relevant federal statutory materials and a collection of representative state statutes. Taken together, the materials present a fascinating opportunity to study the process by which both public and private law respond to rapidly changing political, ethical, and technical circumstances. The law of sunken ships--as governed by rules of sovereignty and admiralty--provides the context to explore whether an original owner's claim of title can be lost with the passage of time. When an owner's claim no longer exists, complex rules of finder's law determine whether finders, landowners, or governments may assert ownership over artifacts and relics. Different issues arise when artifacts are located on federal lands, or subject to federal regulatory control; the book sets out the history and modern operation of both the Antiquities Act and the ARPA, using statutory material, recent cases, and commentary to highlight major issues. Looting, and the interstate and international commerce in looted artifacts, is examined with materials involving ARPA, and both bilateral agreements undertaken under UNESCO and unilateral use of the National Stolen Property Act. Protection of archaeological resources that are located on private land is examined in the context of salvage archaeology, undertaken either voluntarily or under state and federal mandates, particularly various environmental review processes. The law of human remains receives detailed exposure, including the common law and statutory rules that governed treatment of bodies, manner of burial, the creation and protection of graves and cemeteries, and the emerging law of disinterment and repatriation. Those materials provide the context for examination of recent developments under the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA). The revised second edition includes noteworthy state and federal caselaw, expanded materials on illicit international transfers, and "final" resolution of the Kennewick Man litigation. A Teacher's Manual is available.

contents -- Introduction (Sangita Chari & Jaime Lavallee) -- 1. The Case for NAGPRA (Jack F. Trope) -- 2. "The Secretary Shall": Actual and Apparent Delegation of NAGPRA's Implementation Responsibilities (C. Timothy McKeown) -- 3. Finding Our Way Home(Eric Hemenway) -- 4. A Call for Healing from the Tragedy of NAGPRA in Hawaii (E. Sunny Greer) -- 5. Amending Wonder: Museums and Twenty Years of the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (Patricia Capone) -- 6. Federal Agency Perspective (C. Timothy McKeown, Emily Palus, Jennifer Riordan, & Richard Waldbauer) -- 7. NAGPRA's Impact on Non-Federally Recognized Tribes (Angela Neller, Ramona Peters, & Brice Obermeyer) -- 8. Implementing NAGPRA at History Colorado: Applying Cultural Property Legacy Collections and Forging Tribal Partnerships (Bridget Ambler & Sheila Goff) -- 9. Moving Forward from the Last Twenty Years: Finding a New Balance (Shannon Keller O'Loughlin) -- 10. Navigating a Colonial Quagmire: Affirming Native Lives in the Struggle to Define Our Dead (Clayton W. Dumont Jr.) -- 11. The Impact of NAGPRA on Communities (Jan I. Bernstein) -- Index.

The passage of the Archaeological Resources Protection Act (ARPA) in 1979 was a watershed moment in the movement to protect cultural objects against looting. This brief volume provides practical help to those who wish to use the provisions of ARPA_archaeologists, government land managers, preservation groups, and attorneys_to maximize its protective net. The distinguished group of authors, all veterans of ARPA enforcement efforts, first provides a comprehensive history of passage of the law and highlights some key cases that shaped its impact. Other chapters offer concrete instructions on establishing archaeological valuation and assessing damage to cultural sites. A final section provides a menu of legal strategies now available for use to strengthen and extend the provisions of the law. For cultural resource professionals working under ARPA's provisions, this book will be an invaluable, guide for daily practice.

Palaeontology, the scientific study of fossils, has developed from a descriptive science to an analytical science used to interpret relationships between Earth and life history. This book provides a comprehensive and thematic treatment of applied palaeontology, covering the use of fossils in the ordering of rocks in time and in space, in biostratigraphy, palaeobiology and sequence stratigraphy. Robert Wynn Jones presents a practical workflow for applied palaeontology, including sample acquisition, preparation and analysis, and interpretation and integration. He then presents numerous case studies that demonstrate the applicability and value of the subject to areas such as petroleum, mineral and coal exploration and exploitation, engineering geology and environmental science. Specialist applications outside of the geosciences (including archaeology, forensic science, medical palynology, entomopalynology and melissopalynology) are also addressed. Abundantly illustrated and referenced, Applications of Palaeontology provides a user-friendly reference for academic researchers and professionals across a range of disciplines and industry settings.

This new and significantly updated authored dictionary is a unique glossary of paleontological terms, taxa, localities, and concepts.  It focuses primarily on identifying the most significant groups of fossil animals and plants in relation to their evolution and phylogeny.  It also focuses on mass extinctions, on taxa that are problematic in some significant way, on the principal fossil-Lagerstätten of the world, and on historical turning points marked by index fossils.  Although there are many current resources on the subject, none contains an accurate representation of the paleontological lexicon. Although well aware that the fast-changing field of paleontology will always defy any attempt at complete description, the author has attempted to provide an accurate and comprehensive set of about 4,000 entries that will be useful to professionals as well as to general readers of scientific literature without a background in paleontology.

Take your advanced students on a simulated dinosaur dig and hone the analytical skills required to think like a paleontologist! Designed to meet the needs of gifted students in grades 5-6, this award-winning curriculum unit consists of 30 lesson plans structured around an included 26-chapter novel. Based on the author's real-life experiences, your students will join Dorian as he travels from New York City to Montana to participate in a paleontological dig. Employing problem-based learning and Socratic seminars, these engaging lessons give students the space to choose which parts of the lessons they'd like to explore further while encouraging them to investigate change over time, from the age of the dinosaurs to the modern era. With opportunities for student choice and targeted social-emotional learning discussions embedded throughout, this award-winning unit is a must-have for gifted educators seeking to facilitate active student engagement while integrating an exciting, problem-based learning unit into their curriculum.

An illustrated look at the art and science of paleontology from its origins to today Humans have been stumbling upon the petrified remains of ancient animals since prehistoric times, leading to tales of giant dogs, deadly dragons, tree gods, sea serpents, and all manner of strange and marvelous creatures. In this richly illustrated book, David Bainbridge recounts how legends like these gradually gave rise to the modern science of paleontology, and how this pioneering discipline has reshaped our view of the natural world. Bainbridge takes readers from ancient Greece to the eighteenth century, when paleontology began to coalesce into the scientific field we know today, and discusses how contemporary paleontologists use cutting-edge technologies to flesh out the discoveries of past and present. He brings to life the stories and people behind some of the greatest fossil finds of all time, and explains how paleontology has long straddled the spheres of science and art. Bainbridge also looks to the future of the discipline, discussing how the rapid recovery of DNA and other genetic material from the fossil record promises to revolutionize our understanding of the origins and evolution of ancient life. This panoramic book brings together stunning illustrations ranging from early sketches and engravings to eye-popping paleoart and high-tech computer reconstructions.

Being embedded in the past and continuing in the present, both archaeology and law have common background of tradition. Their interdisciplinary approaches in research have benefited both the disciplines. Not only the similarities about thinking process and the ways of multi-method research but also their engagements in values, culture and tradition have brought them together with synergy. Four principal areas of their interaction include those that occur in the realms of society and culture, in identification of the idea and image of justice, in resolving disputes on places of worship and in making archaeological research viable through legal protection of cultural property. The products of such interdisciplinary process are valuable. They throw light on features and reasons behind composite culture; nuances of gender injustice; and imperatives of concordance in multicultural society. They artistically depict philosophical basis of justice, and enable objective determination of facts on the basis of which legal disputes on titles could be decided. They emphasise the need for bringing human rights discourse and respect for culture in the matter of protection of cultural property. In expanding the knowledge of law and archaeology these factors should act as great incentives.

Since its enactment over five decades ago, the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) and the organizations, policies, and regulations implementing it have strongly influenced how archaeology is conducted in the United States. The NHPA created a national network of archaeologists in government agencies. This network reviews the possible impact on important archaeological resources of tens of thousands of public projects planned each year. These reviews often include investigations, of which there have been millions. The archaeological profession has shifted from one oriented mainly on academic research and teaching to one focused on field investigations, planning, resource management, public outreach, and resource protection, bundled under the term cultural resource management (CRM). Since 1966, growth has produced good outcomes as well as some troubling developments. Current and new challenges include avoiding lock-step, overly bureaucratic procedures and finding the financial, professional, and technical resources, as well as political support, to build on the achievements so far.