This section contains a number of research guides that provide background information on paleontology and archeology. Since, these are two fields that are specialized these guides may provide context to the statues and regulations at issue as well as information that is useful in understanding the subject matter that these rules regulate.

 

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress has produced a wonderful guide on Paleontology and Dinosaurs. The introduction provides helpful context while the body of the guide provides helpful online resources. Both the introduction to the guide and the main body of the guide are linked below. 

• Guide Introduction
• Guide Main Body

Society for American Archaeology 

This guide provides a brief overview of the federal and state laws at issue. It also notes some of the ethical implications involved with archaeology. 

• https://www.saa.org/about-archaeology/archaeology-law-ethics

University of South Florida Libraries 

This guide provides an overview of government and legal resources relating to anthropology and archaeology. 

• https://guides.lib.usf.edu/c.php?g=5782&p=4359394

Society of Veratabe Paleontology  

This guide provides background on the Paleontological Resources Preservation Act. It also provides other paleontological society statement and guidelines. 

• https://vertpaleo.org/us-paleontology-law-and-agencies/

Smithsonian Libraries 

The Smithsonian Libraries and Archives' Paleontology Research Guide is a select list of resources for students, teachers, and researchers to learn about paleontology.  

• https://library.si.edu/research/paleontology

National Park Service: Laws, Regulations, and Policy 

This provides the laws, regulations, and policy of the Natural Park Service generally. 

• https://www.nps.gov/subjects/fossils/fossil-protection.htm