Lexis and Westlaw Law Reviews & Journals 

Researchers can locate full-text journal articles by jurisdiction and/or topic. Westlaw and Lexis offer current and past coverage dating back to the 1980s or 1990s, sometimes earlier.           

• Lexis > Content > Secondary Materials > Law Reviews & Journals
• Westlaw Precision > Content Types > Secondary Sources > Law Reviews & Journals

 

HeinOnline Law Journal Library

Hosts an extensive collection of scholarly journals and covers all issues from the journal's inception to the most current term permitted by publishers. Researchers can peruse a multitude of journals alphabetically. This source is great for comprehensive research.

• HeinOnline > Databases > Law Journal Library

 

Google Scholar

This is a search engine that allows users to search for journal articles with simple terms. It is perhaps most helpful for beginning your research.

Energy Law Journal

Published twice a year by the Energy Bar Association since 1980. This journal contains related to oil and gas, minerals, water, electricity, wind, and other forms of energy. This link goes to HeinOnline, but the journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

 

Environment, Energy, and Resources Law

The Year in Review is published annually by the ABA Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources and contains a chapter on Water Resources. This link goes to HeinOnline, but this publication can also be found on Westlaw.

 

Environmental & Energy Law & Policy Journal

This journal was published by the University of Houston Law Center that ran from 2005 to 2012. This link goes to HeinOnline; however, past issues are also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

 

Journal of Energy & Natural Resources Law

Since 1983, this journal has been published three times a year by the International Bar Association's Section on Energy, Environment, Natural Resources, and Infrastructure Law. It is unique in its coverage of global legal issues related to energy and natural resources. This link goes to HeinOnline, but the journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

 

The Foundation Journal for Natural Resources and Energy Law

This semi-annual journal was published by The Foundation for Natural Resources and Energy Law, formerly the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation. It contains research, scholarly, and practical articles on oil and gas, mining, water law, land, and environmental law. This link goes to HeinOnline, but the journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis. A few relevant articles are included below.

• Burke W. Griggs, Water: Practical Challenges and Legal Rights to Acquire and Recycle Water for Hydraulic Fracturing, 56 Rocky Mountain L. Foundation J. 69 (2019)
• Judith V. Royster, Conjunctive Management of Reservation Water Resources: Legal Issues Facing Indian Tribes, 49 Rocky Mountain L. Foundation J. 183 (2012)

 

Natural Resources Journal 

Since 1961, this journal has been published four times a year by the University of New Mexico School of Law. It is dedicated to public policy topics concerning natural and environmental resources nationally and internationally. This link goes to HeinOnline, but the journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

• Gabe Collins, Blue Gold: Commoditize Groundwater and Use Correlative Management to Balance City, Farm, and Frac Water Use in Texas, 55 Nat. Resources J. 441 (2015)

 

Oklahoma Law Review

Published quarterly by the University of Oklahoma College of Law since 1948. This link goes to HeinOnline, but this journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

• Jason B. Aamodt et. al., Groundwater: A Comparative Analysis of the Regulation of Groundwater Encountered in Surface Mining, 64 Okla. L. Rev. 539 (2012)

• Drew L. Kershen, Domestic Well Exemption in Oklahoma Groundwater Law - Impact and Implications, 64 Okla. L. Rev. 563 (2012)

• Dean A. Couch & C. Lou Klaver, Beneficial Use in Oklahoma Water Law: Opportunity for Better Management or More Mischief?, 64 Okla. L. Rev. 615 (2012)

• Gary D. Allison, Oklahoma Water Rights: What Good Are They?, 64 Okla. L. Rev. 469 (2012)

• Darin C. Savage, Environmental Law: The Environmental Quality Act As A Reservoir of Legislative Intent - A New Model of Interagency Cooperation Springs Forth from the Clarification of Oklahoma's Groundwater Law, 55 Okla. L. Rev. 417 (2002)

 

ONE J: Oil and Gas, Natural Resources, and Energy Journal 

Published quarterly by the University of Oklahoma College of Law since 2015. This journal focuses on domestic and international law related to oil and gas, natural resources, and energy law. This link goes to HeinOnline, but this journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

• Hilary Soileau, For Texas, Now Is the Time to Force Groundwater Owners to Accommodate, 1 Oil & Gas, Nat. Resources & Energy J. 465 (2016)

 

University of Denver Water Law Review

This is a semi-annual publication by the University of Denver College of Law. This link goes to HeinOnline, which houses publications from this journal's inception in 1997 to more current issues from 2024. Researchers may browse issues by date or use the search bar to find articles relevant to their topic. It is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

• Emily A. Fouts, A New Day: Empowering Groundwater Conservation Districts to Manage Groundwater in Texas, 24 U. Denv. Water L. Rev. 25 (2020)

 

Texas Water Journal

The Texas Water Journal is an online, open-access journal published by the Texas Water Resources Institute since 2006. It is dedicated to water resource management and policies in Texas and beyond.

• Groundwater Withdrawals Associated with Oil and Gas Production from Water Supply Aquifers in Texas: Implications for Water Management Practices

• Exploring Groundwater Recoverability in Texas: Maximum Economically Recoverable Storage

• Texas groundwater rights and immunities: from East to Day and beyond

 

Texas Bar Journal

Published monthly by the State Bar of Texas since 1938 and distributed by mail to every member of the Texas Bar. The Texas Bar Journal features legal articles, news, lawyer profiles, and information on technology and trends in the law. This link goes to the archived publications on the State Bar of Texas website, but this journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

• Justin Hodge & Graham Taylor, Groundwater Law A Look at the Ancient Rule of Capture and the Modern Accommodation Doctrine, 80 Tex. B.J. 761 (2017)

 

Texas Environmental Law Journal

Published twice a year by the University of Texas School of Law since 1990. This student-edited journal gives timely and practical information about developments in environmental and natural resources law. This link goes to HeinOnline, but this journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

• Melissa Waggoner, The Cut and Dry of Texas Groundwater Law: Unconstitutional Takings of Produced Water from Oil and Gas Wells As A Result of House Bill 3246, 51 Tex. Envtl. L.J. 157 (2021)
• Haley King, Conflicts in Groundwater and Mineral Estates in Texas, 48 Tex. Envtl. L.J. 299 (2018)
• Amy Hardberger, World's Worst Game of Telephone: Attempting to Understand the Conversation Between Texas's Legislature and Courts on Groundwater, 43 Tex. Envtl. L.J. 257 (2013)
• Deborah Clarke Trejo, Groundwater District Enforcement, 42 Tex. Envtl. L.J. 299 (2012)

 

Baylor Law Review

Published quarterly by the Baylor University School of Law since 1948. This journal boasts a wide variety of legal issues and topics and is available on HeinOnline, Westlaw, and Lexis. This link goes to HeinOnline. 

• Christopher S. Kulander, Edwards Aquifer Authority v. Day and Bragg-Predictions on Their Effects for Regulatory Takings Claims for Groundwater Used in Oil & Gas Operations, 66 Baylor L. Rev. 471 (2014)
• Matthew Ley, What Are You Going to Do About It?: The Ramifications of the Edwards Aquifer Authority v. Day Decision on Interstate Groundwater Disputes, 65 Baylor L. Rev. 661 (2013)
• Marvin W. Jones, Andrew Little, The Ownership of Groundwater in Texas: A Contrived Battle for State Control of Groundwater, 61 Baylor L. Rev. 578 (2009)
• Susana Elena Canseco, Landowners' Rights in Texas Groundwater: How and Why Texas Courts Should Determine Landowners Do Not Own Groundwater in Place, 60 Baylor L. Rev. 491 (2008)

 

Texas Tech Law Review

Published quarterly by the Texas Tech University School of Law since its establishment in 1970. This journal focuses on legal scholarship of current issues across Texas and the nation. This link goes to HeinOnline, but the journal is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

• Kathryn Linnartz, Texas Groundwater: Balancing Individual Property Rights with A Depleting Natural Resource, 53 Tex. Tech L. Rev. 773 (2021)

• Jennifer L. Harder, Unlimited Rights in A Water-Scarce World? Quantification of Dormant Rights to Common Pool Groundwater, 48 Tex. Tech L. Rev. 719 (2016)

 

Texas A&M Law Review

Published quarterly by the Texas A&M University School of Law since 2013. This journal provides broad coverage of legal issues relevant to academics, practitioners, and law students. This link goes to HeinOnline, but the journal can also be found on Westlaw.

• Kameron B. Smith, Subsurface Tension: The Conflicting Laws of Texas and New Mexico over Shared Groundwater and New Mexico's Desire for Regulation, 7 Tex. A&M L. Rev. 453 (2020)

• Andrew D. Lewis, The-Ever Protruding Stick in the Bundle: The Accommodation of Groundwater Rights in Texas Oil and Gas, 2 Tex. A&M L. Rev. 79 (2014-2015)

 

Houston Law Review

Since 1963, the University of Houston Law Center has published this journal five times a year. Although it highlights a variety of legal topics, including water, recent issues have focused on constitutional law and intellectual property law. This journal is available on HeinOnline (where the link goes), Westlaw, and Lexis. 

• Yong Eoh, Yes, No, Maybe So: Uncertainty in Texas Groundwater Withdrawal for Hydraulic Fracturing, 52 Hous. L. Rev. 1227 (2015)

• Chris Connelley, The Inconvenience in Texas Groundwater Law, 46 Hous. L. Rev. 1301 (2009)