Primary Resources
You will need to utilize primary resources in your projects for this course. Below are resources that may be particularly helpful for your projects. See the research guide for Oklahoma History for a more extensive list of resources.
Newspapers
Many Oklahoma cities, towns, and counties have daily or weekly newspapers. There are also many tribal newspapers published throughout Oklahoma. These resources may be found in a variety of places, both inside and outside the university.
For Oklahoma newspapers, check the OHS Research Center's Newspaper Catalog. Some of these newspapers are available digitally while other are available on-site at the OHS Research Center.
To locate tribal newspapers at OU, search Discover Local using "Indians of North America Newspapers" as the search term under the "Subject" category and choose "Journals" from the "Material Type" drop-down menu. Using the search term "Oklahoma newspapers" in the same way will bring up those newspapers available in the OU Libraries.
- Black Dispatch (microfilm; 1917-1981)An African-American newspaper out of Oklahoma City. Available on microfilm. Click title, above, and request via Sooner Xpress.
- Norman Transcript (microfilm; 1889-2013)Norman, Oklahoma newspaper on microfilm on the 4th floor, outside the Government Documents Department.
- Oklahoman Archives (1901-present)Digital edition of The Oklahoman, formerly The Daily Oklahoman.
- The O’CollegianOklahoma State's student newspaper. Digital from 1895 to 2011.
- Oklahoma Daily (microfilm, 1911-2014)University of Oklahoma student newspaper. Microfilm, 4th floor outside Government Documents Department.
- Tulsa WorldFrom the database Newspaper Source Plus: Tulsa World, 1997-2014. Also on microfilm, 1906-2014, on the 4th floor, outside the Government Documents Department.
National Resources
- Library of Congress: Web Guide to the New DealThe Library of Congress has a significant collection of materials about New Deal Programs. Some of these materials have been digitized.
- FDR Presidential LibraryFRANKLIN is the FDR Presidential Library's virtual reading room and digital repository. Not all but much of the collection has been digitized and is available online.
- PhotogrammarIncludes over 170,000 photos of the Great Depression. Searchable by photographer, date, geographic location, and subject.
Oklahoma Resources
- Oklahoma Historical Society Research CenterLocated in Oklahoma City, the OHS Research Center contains manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and more. Many OKC history resources are found here.
- Cleveland County Historical SocietyThis local historical society, located at the Moore-Lindsay Historical House Museum, features great resources for Norman and Cleveland County history.
- Metropolitan Library System Oklahoma CollectionThe Downtown Library in OKC features a special collection titled the Oklahoma Collection. This is a great place to find information about OKC places and events.
Western History Collections
Western History Collections has a rich collection of primary resources. See the Western History Collections Guide for more about their holdings.
- Indian Pioneer PapersThis oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936. It includes interviews conducted in the 1930s by government workers.
- Guide to Manuscript CollectionsThis guide book contains information about all the WHC manuscript collections. Once you find a collection that looks helpful, use the finding aid list to get more information about the collection.
- WHC Manuscript Collection Finding AidsFind the collection you need and click the link to access the finding aid.
- WPA Historic Sites and Federal Writers Project CollectionThis collection includes information from these WPA projects, including notes about the guide book tours.
Carl Albert Center
The Carl Albert Center has one of the largest collections of congressional papers in the country. You can search their collection on the Center's website. The staff at the CAC has also created a subject guide and map you can use to discover materials in their collections.
University Archives
- Sooner YearbookOU's yearbook, 1905-2015. Contains information about university buildings, programs, students, and organizations.
All years available at Western History Collections. - Regents' MinutesThe Regents handle governance of the university, and these minutes are the record of the meetings. These are useful for finding top-level university decisions.
- General and Course CatalogsThese contain information about courses at OU, but also include campus maps, building descriptions, and other details about being a student at OU.
All years available at Western History Collections.
- UARG 03 President BizzellFinding aid to the Bizzell presidential papers.
Bring the box, folder, and location numbers to the Western History Collections. - UARG 03 Wardell--Assistant to President BizzellMorris Wardell served as President Bizzell's assistant from 1937 to 1941. He was very involved with New Deal projects at OU.
Bring the box, folder, and location numbers needed to the Western History Collections. - Herbert Hengst CollectionOU professor who conducted oral history interviews with university administrators, faculty and staff members, regents, and alumni.
Bring box, folder, and location numbers to the Western History Collections. - Morris Wardell CollectionOU professor and administrator who worked extensively with New Deal projects and programs at the university.
Bring box, folder, and location numbers to the Western History Collections.