The ShareOK repository provides electronic full text of dissertations written by OU doctoral students. Currently, more than 6000 OU dissertations are included, and this number increases every semester as additional students complete their doctoral work.

Search tips

If you're looking for dissertations written by students in your discipline, enter the name of your department or program in the search box, in quotation marks -- for example, "Department of Economics" or "School of Geology and Geophysics."

If you're looking for dissertations supervised by a particular faculty member, enter their name in the search box -- for example, "Tom Boyd" or "Jill Irvine."

For more information, visit the ShareOK Guide.

Almost every dissertation includes a literature review section or chapter. To find examples of dissertations in your discipline, use the Dissertation Abstracts database, accessible through the OU Libraries web site.

Dissertation Abstracts provides complete PDF full text for most dissertations published after 1997 at most universities in the United States and Canada and major universities in more than 90 other countries.

Search tips

Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases. For example, searching for library anxiety retrieves more than 250,000 results, because it retrieves records that contain both the word "library" and the word "anxiety." But searching for "library anxiety" in quotation marks retrieves only 250 results, because it looks for the exact phrase "library anxiety."

To narrow your results further, add a word or phrase in the second search line (such as "quantitative methods," as shown in the example below).