Abramson's Acing Professional Responsibility, 3rd Ed. by Leslie AbramsonAcing Professional Responsibility provides a dual benefit to law students who, to become licensed lawyers, have to pass both a law school exam in a Legal Ethics course as well as the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE). To prepare for the law school examination, there are pages of text, numerous outlines, bullet points, sample essay questions and answers, and mini-checklists to learn the basics and fine points of Professional Responsibility. The Acing book also enables students to quickly recall and pass the MPRE. The materials are current through the Model Rules changes in 2016.
Publication Date: 2017
Exam Pro on Professional Responsibility by Leslie W. AbramsonHelping law students score higher on law school tests, the Exam Pro Series offers sample exams and corresponding answers with detailed analysis. Each Exam Pro title is authored by a leading law professor and recognized expert in an area of law and contains multiple choice and essay questions based on current court decisions. Detailed explanations for each answer describe the best possible choice as well as red herring answers, which helps increase law student understanding of a topic and build exam skills.
Publication Date: 2017
Professional Responsibility by Ronald D. RotundaThis text is designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course on professional responsibility. It can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. The law is succinctly stated, and exceptions to the rules are stated in the text. Rules and exceptions have purposely been condensed to facilitate quick and easy recollection. For an in-depth study of a point of law, citations to major student texts are given.
Publication Date: 2011
A Short and Happy Guide to the MPRE by Leah ChristensenThis Short and Happy Guide is meant to provide students with the essential concepts and overarching themes that are most frequently tested on the MPRE. The Guide covers the rules of professional responsibility giving students the best introduction they can have as they begin their exam preparation. Learn more about this series at ShortandHappyGuides.com.
Publication Date: 2016
High Court Case Summaries on Professional Responsibility, Keyed to Gillers' by Publishers Editorial StaffHigh Court Case Summaries on Professional Responsibility contain well-prepared briefs for each major case in Gillers' casebook on Professional Responsibility. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core "take away" knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.
Publication Date: 2019
Gilbert Law Summary on Legal Ethics by Thomas MorganThe subjects covered in this outline are regulating admission to practice, preventing unauthorized practice of law. Discusses the contract between client and lawyer, including lawyer's duties regarding accepting employment, spheres of authority of lawyer and client, obligation of client to lawyer, and terminating the lawyer-client relationship, and attorney-client privilege. Other topics discussed include professional duty of confidentiality, conflicts of interest, obligations to third persons and the legal system, special obligations in litigation (including limitations on advancing money to client and duty to reject certain actions), solicitation and advertising, specialization, disciplinary process, malpractice, and special responsibilities of judges.
Publication Date: 2017
Legal Ethics in a Nutshell by Ronald RotundaMany law professors aim to probe deep ethical issues in class. But they also need to cover the material that the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination requires. The Rotunda Nutshell fulfils that need as it digests the Model Rules in an engaging, analytical, and often critical way. In a surprisingly pithy manner, this book places the Rules in an historic context that lets the student understand problems with prior versions of the Rules, which led to the present version. The Nutshell also analyzes the American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers, Third. This approach frees up precious class time for important normative issues. And, this Nutshell helps your students come up with better answers to your Socratic questions than you anticipated. This book has proved so popular as an explanation of the basic principles of legal ethics that it has been translated into Japanese and used there to teach American legal ethics.
Publication Date: 2018
Legal Malpractice Law in a Nutshell by Vincent JohnsonLegal Malpractice Law in a Nutshell charts the dynamic field of lawyer professional liability. With reference to recent cases and statutory developments, the book covers prominent causes of action (including professional negligence, breach of fiduciary duty, and fraud), the role of experts in malpractice litigation, theories of liability to nonclients, affirmative defenses, damages, and fee forfeiture. The book also explores the vicarious liability of lawyers and law firms, conflicts of interest, strategies for reducing errors and claims, and the role of malpractice insurance.
Mastering Professional Responsibility by Grace M. GieselThis second edition of Mastering Professional Responsibility presents a concise explanation of the rules and concepts of lawyer professional responsibility. In creating the book, the author's goal is to provide students in the typical law school professional responsibility course with a source that explains the relevant rules and concepts in a way understandable to novices to the legal profession. In furtherance of that goal, the book provides a straightforward treatment of the subject, with special attention to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct and all recent amendments to those rules through the date of publication. For each topic, the book briefly addresses any relevant rationales, but primarily focuses on explaining the parameters of the applicable standards in a clear, understandable, step-by step manner. A typical treatment of a topic includes not only a clear explanation of each standard, often broken into manageable concepts, but also a simple example illustrating the application of that standard. These easy-to-understand examples are designed to facilitate learning in students who, in contrast to practicing lawyers, have not yet had the opportunity to develop an understanding of the context of law practice. This book is an excellent accompaniment to the typical professional responsibility course. The book is also a good preparatory tool for the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam, which is a requirement for admission for most states.
This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
Understanding Lawyers' Ethics by Monroe H. Freedman; Abbe SmithThis Understanding treatise analyzes the fundamental issues of lawyers' ethics and the ABA's Model Rules. It is designed to facilitate a real understanding of legal rules as distinguished from a superficial familiarity with them by challenging the reader to test their understanding of the legal rules against the reader's own moral standards and reasoned judgment. The fifth edition includes new chapters on Lawyers' Ethics in a Time of Crisis and Counseling Clients, Coaching Witnesses, and Cross-Examining to Discredit the Truth, and substantial updates on Judicial Ethics and more.
Publication Date: 2016
Wolters Kluwer Study Aids
Emanuel CrunchTime for Professional Responsibility by James E. MoliternoEmanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Developed for students by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime titles provide the trusted guidance of Emanuel Law Outlines in a tighter, briefer format for quick review at exam time. Flow Charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts. You can test your knowledge by working through the ample Short-Answer Q&A s, which are organized by topic. Exams Tips often based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested on exams for you. They explore fact patterns typically used to test those issues. CrunchTime allows you to practice your essay exam skills by answering questions asked on past exams. Flowcharts help you craft compelling essays, and you can compare your answers to the samples provided. CrunchTime aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Uniform in writing style and approach, you can be confident that any title in the series is of consistent quality. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks.
Publication Date: 2016
Emanuel Law Outlines: Professional Responsibility by James E. MoliternoThe most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines were developed while Steve Emanuel was a student at Harvard Law and were the first to approach each course from the point of view of the student. Invaluable for use throughout your course and again at exam time, Emanuel Law Outlines are well-correlated to all major casebooks to help you to create your own outlines. Sophisticated yet easy to understand, each guide includes both capsule and detailed explanations of critical issues, topics, and black letter law you must know to master the course. Quiz Yourself Q&As, Essay Q&As, and Exam Tips give you ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester and leading up to the exam. Every title in the series is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks. Emanuel Law Outlines provide a comprehensive breakdown of the law, more sweeping than most, for your entire study process. For more than thirty years, Emanuel Law Outlines have been the most trusted name in law school outlines. Here s why: Developed by Steve Emanuel when he was a law school student at Harvard, Emanuel Law Outlines became popular with other law students and spawned an industry of reliable study aids. (Having passed the California bar as well, Steve Emanuel is now a member of the New York, Connecticut, Maryland, and Virginia bars.) Each Outline is valuable throughout the course and again at exam time. Outline chapters provide comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law covered in the course and major casebooks, written in a way you can easily understand. The Quiz Yourself Q&A in each chapter and the Essay Q&A at the end provide ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues that commonly pop up on exams and to the fact patterns commonly used to test those items. The Capsule Summary an excellent exam preparation tool provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the course. The comprehensive coverage is more sweeping than most outlines. Each Emanuel Law Outline is correlated to the leading casebooks. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks. Tight uniformity of writing style and approach means that if you use one of these guides, you can be confident that the others will be of similar quality.
Publication Date: 2016
Examples and Explanations: Professional Responsibility by W. Bradley WendelA favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. Appropriate for students in any Professional Responsibility course, this study aid is structured around concepts, so it doesn't feel like a march through the Model Rules of Professional Conduct. Not only does it have the proven pedagogy of the E & E series, it is also comprehensive and well balanced. Comprehensive, covers entire law governing lawyers Thoroughly revised to enhance clarity Revised to take account of changes to the Model Rules made by the ABA's Ethics 20/20 Commission Includes agency, fiduciary duty, tort, contract, constitutional, and corporate and securities PR Up to date and accessible; presents balanced approach to controversial issues
Publication Date: 2016
Glannon Guide to Professional Responsibility--Learning Professional Responsibility Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis by Dru StevensonThe Glannon Guide to Professional Responsibility is a clear, concise textbook on the important topic of professional responsibility in legal practice. Using the tried-and-true Glannon Guide format of topical explanation followed by multiple-choice questions and explanations of the answers, the book allows students not only to learn and review course content, but also to pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE). Chapters are arranged in order of how heavily the MPRE tests each subject to help students prioritize their review. Professor Stevenson, a tenured law professor at South Texas College of Law and a leading instructor in this field, has used his extensive experience teaching this course to develop a series of questions specifically designed to prepare students for the MPRE, and to provide thorough coverage of the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct. This study aid can be used with any casebook or course on professional responsibility. Following the format of the Glannon Guide series, this book features multiple-choice questions integrated into a full-fledged review of the Professional Responsibility course. Clear explanations of correct and incorrect answers help to clarify nuances in the law. The multiple-choice questions are sophisticated and neither too difficult nor too simple, with valuable exam-taking pointers interspersed within the substantive text. A more challenging final question at the end of each chapter (the "Closer") illustrates a sophisticated problem in the area under discussion. New to the Third Edition: Completely updated chapter on Advertising and Solicitation reflects the most recent changes to the Model Rules. New sections provide in-depth coverage of attorney-client privilege and work product protection. Professors and students will benefit from: Concise introductions giving an overview of each subject, including discussion of how the MPRE tests the topic Comparison to and contrast from related rules and provisions throughout the Model Rules or the common law Practice questions highlighting important exceptions to each rule Thorough coverage of the American Bar Association's Model Rules of Professional Conduct, including the official Comments and clarifying ABA ethics opinions
Publication Date: 2020-10-04
Casenote Legal Briefs for Professional Responsibility Keyed to Gillers by Casenote Legal BriefsAfter your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Publication Date: 2018
Casenote Legal Briefs for Professional Responsibility Keyed to Hazard, Koniak, Cramton, Cohen, and Wendel, Fifth Edition by Casenote Legal BriefsAfter your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion. Each title is keyed to the current edition of a specific casebook; it s your trusted guide to the text throughout the semester. The brief for each principal case in the casebook saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, important points of the holding and decision, and concurrences and dissents included in the casebook excerpt. This overview is combined with a short analysis: all to help you broaden your understanding and support you in classroom discussion. Quicknotes at end of each brief give you short definitions of the legal terms used. A handy Glossary of common Latin words and phrases is included in every Casenote. Detailed instruction on how to brief a case is provided for you. A free Quick Course Outline accompanies all Casenote Legal Briefs in these course areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts.