Understanding Modern Real Estate Transactions by Alex M. Johnson"Understanding Modern Real Estate Transactions covers issues in residential real estate transactions and commercial real estate transactions. This treatise provides case analysis, focusing on the cases relevant to modern real estate. Numerous simple hypotheticals throughout the text explain the more complicated theories and rules."--
Publication Date: 2018
West Academic Study Aids
Black Letter Outline on Land Transactions and Finance by Grant Nelson; Dale Whitman; Ann Burkhart; R. FreyermuthNelson, Whitman, Burkhart & Freyermuth's Black Letter Outline on Land Transactions and Finance provides law students with basic principles and issues of the law surrounding land transactions and finance. Each law is succinctly stated, with expert analysis of citations, points of law, rules, and exceptions. The book also includes citations to several casebooks. The book covers: Purchase agreements Conveyances and titles Real estate finance Mortgage substitutes Rights and duties before foreclosure Impacts of bankruptcy on the mortgagee Transfers by the mortgagors and mortgagees Mortgage debt Foreclosure Priority problems Government involvement in the mortgage market Alternative mortgages Condominiums Cooperatives
Publication Date: 2016
Real Estate Finance Law by Grant Nelson; Dale WhitmanThis treatise provides current, expert coverage on the law of mortgages, including the mortgagor-mortgagee relationship prior to foreclosure; mortgage substitutes; transfers by the mortgagor; transfers by the mortgagee; payment and prepayment; the foreclosure process; deficiency judgments and anti-deficiency regulation; priority issues; governmental intervention in the mortgage market; and financing real estate construction. The Sixth Edition provides a comprehensive update of relevant case law, legislation, and regulation since publication of the Fifth Edition in 2007. This update includes: A thorough and up-to-date revision of the material on judicial and nonjudicial foreclosure New material on "short sales" and "loss mitigation" A comprehensive revision of the material on securitization and the ownership, transfer, and enforcement of securitized mortgage loans A comprehensive revision of materials on governmental intervention in the mortgage market, including new material on the impacts of the Dodd-Frank Act Discussion of recent cases and theories on the application of the "disparate impact" test in racially discriminatory mortgage lending A thorough and functional restructuring of the material on bankruptcy law and its impact on mortgagees in Chapters 7, 11, 12 and 13 proceedings Comprehensive discussion of recent judicial authority on priority issues Like the Fifth Edition, the Sixth Edition also comprehensively tracks judicial discussion and application of the principles in the Restatement (Third) of Property: Mortgages.
Publication Date: 2014
Real Estate Finance in a Nutshell by Vada LindseyThis work presents a thorough overview of the law of real estate finance. It covers introductory matters, the mortgage market, real estate financing devices, the underlying obligation, mortgaged property, transfer of both the mortgagor's interest and the mortgagee's interest, and financing cooperatives and condominiums. It reviews the government involvement in the financing process. In addition, the volume provides an expansive review of rights and obligations after default and before foreclosure, priorities and foreclosure. It covers the tax consequences of the acquisition, owning and disposition of real estate. Legal principles and relevant caselaw are stated along with their underlying theories to enhance understanding of the law of real estate finance.
Publication Date: 2017
Examples and Explanations for Real Estate Transactions by Barlow BurkeA favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Publication Date: 2014
Emanuel Law Outlines - Real Estate by Robin Paul Malloy; James Charles SmithThe most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines were developed while Steve Emanuel was a student at Harvard Law and were the first to approach each course from the point of view of the student. Invaluable for use throughout your course and again at exam time, Emanuel Law Outlines are well-correlated to all major casebooks to help you to create your own outlines. Sophisticated yet easy to understand, each guide includes both capsule and detailed explanations of critical issues, topics, and black letter law you must know to master the course. Quiz Yourself Q&As, Essay Q&As, and Exam Tips give you ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester and leading up to the exam. Every title in the series is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks. Emanuel Law Outlines provide a comprehensive breakdown of the law, more sweeping than most, for your entire study process. For more than thirty years, Emanuel Law Outlines have been the most trusted name in law school outlines. Here s why: Developed by Steve Emanuel when he was a law school student at Harvard, Emanuel Law Outlines became popular with other law students and spawned an industry of reliable study aids. (Having passed the California bar as well, Steve Emanuel is now a member of the New York, Connecticut, Maryland, and Virginia bars.) Each Outline is valuable throughout the course and again at exam time. Outline chapters provide comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law covered in the course and major casebooks, written in a way you can easily understand. The Quiz Yourself Q&A in each chapter and the Essay Q&A at the end provide ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues that commonly pop up on exams and to the fact patterns commonly used to test those items. The Capsule Summary an excellent exam preparation tool provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the course. The comprehensive coverage is more sweeping than most outlines. Each Emanuel Law Outline is correlated to the leading casebooks. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks. Tight uniformity of writing style and approach means that if you use one of these guides, you can be confident that the others will be of similar quality.