Questions and Answers: Bankruptcy by Mary Jo WigginsThe Second Edition of Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy builds on the excellence, scope, and usability of the First Edition. The book contains 398 multiple-choice and short-answer questions with clear, detailed answers for each question, along with a two-hour, comprehensive practice exam, also with detailed, step-by-step explanations. The questions and answers cover the major chapters of the Bankruptcy Code (7, 11, 12, and 13) and include expertly designed questions on consumer bankruptcy, corporation liquidation, corporate reorganization, family farms, bankruptcy procedure, and many other issues. Specific coverage includes: the structure of the Code, bankruptcy eligibility, property of the estate and exclusions, the automatic stay, claims resolution and distribution, administrative powers, executory contracts, avoiding powers, preferences and exceptions, strong-arm powers, fraudulent transfers, recovery of avoided transfers, discharge and dischargeability, exemptions, means-testing, redemption, reaffirmation, reorganization plans in both chapter 11 and chapter 13, plan confirmation, advanced issues in chapter 11, non-discrimination, lien avoidance, and revocation of plan confirmation. A robust mix of both practical and policy-oriented questions, the second edition of Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy is completely updated to incorporate the latest revisions to the Bankruptcy Code and Rules, as well as recent case law developments. The book is an ideal study aid for students taking introductory and advanced bankruptcy courses, and is perfect for practitioners seeking bankruptcy certification.
Bankruptcy Simulations: Bridge to Practice by MIchaela White; Catherine Brooks; Thalia CarrollUse of this book assists bankruptcy law professors in transforming podium courses into ABA-required experiential learning opportunities. As bankruptcy professors understand, the complexity of debtor-creditor law can dismay students as they work to figure out how to put together the puzzle pieces that comprise this complex, multi-layered area of practice. The laws, procedural rules, official forms, and complicated relationships between and among creditors and debtors combine to create mosaics of intricate patterns - or webs for malpractice claims. This book helps law students put together the interconnected pieces of consumer debtor- or creditor-focused law practice - with simulation exercises introducing students to the Official Forms, guiding them through multiple creditors' claims, and supporting them in developing as trustees, consumer debtor's lawyers, or various creditors' lawyers. The fact-based exercises provide multiple opportunities to develop writing ability, ethical client counseling skills, and an understanding of how to use bankruptcy laws, rules, procedures, and forms.
Bankruptcy and Related Law in a Nutshell by David EpsteinThis classic student text, used by tens of thousands of law students for over 45 years has been revised to reflect changes in case law, changes in bankruptcy practices, and changes in bankruptcy casebooks. Today's bankruptcy courses are now much more than just the automatic stay, avoiding powers, and discharge. As bankruptcy classes have become more comprehensive, more students have found this book helpful in comprehending reading assignments, class discussions, and exam questions.
Publication Date: 2017
A Short and Happy Guide to Bankruptcy by Bruce Markell; Lawrence PonoroffBankruptcy is a complicated subject that covers a lot of ground. Bankruptcy lawyers can be found on Main Street and Wall Street. This efficient and effective guide to Bankruptcy will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on explaining the key concepts or building blocks that apply in any type of bankruptcy case, and then help you see those concepts in action in cases under the different chapters of the Bankruptcy Code, in proceedings ranging from individual consumer debtors in Chapter 7 or 13 to Fortune 500 Corporations in Chapter 11. To make the learning process more bearable, the authors have also infused the book with humor. Each of the authors is nationally-renowned law teacher who has practiced and taught Bankruptcy for many years. One of them is even a former bankruptcy judge. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing bankruptcy law, procedure, and real-world practice (in an exceedingly attractive manner).
Publication Date: 2016
Law of Bankruptcy by Charles TabbThis comprehensive text provides an exhaustive analysis and discussion of every aspect of bankruptcy law, including an overview of bankruptcy; invoking bankruptcy relief (with a very detailed explanation of the means test); the automatic stay; jurisdiction and procedure; property of the estate; trustee's avoiding powers; payment of claims; executory contracts and unexpired leases; exemptions; discharge; reorganization under Chapter 11; debt adjustments under Chapter 13; debt adjustments under Chapter 12; and cross-border cases under chapter 15. The 2005 BAPCPA amendments and the extensive case law thereunder are explained and critiqued. All relevant Supreme Court cases through the 2015 Term are discussed in depth, including, for example, Stern, Wellness, Arkison, Caulkett, Schwab, Ransom, Lanning, Baker Botts, and many more.
Publication Date: 2016
Principles of Bankruptcy Law by David Epstein; Steve NicklesThis book focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on Bankruptcy. It covers both business and consumer bankruptcy. The book explains basic bankruptcy concepts and then uses those concepts to make code provisions understandable.
Publication Date: 2016
Wolters Kluwer Study Aids
Examples and Explanations for Bankruptcy and Debtor/Creditor by Brian A. Blum; Samir D. ParikhA favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2018
Glannon Guide to Bankruptcy by Nathalie MartinA favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Publication Date: 2016
Debtors and Creditors, Keyed to Warren, Westbrook, Porter, and Pottow by Casenote Legal BriefsAfter your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion. Each title is keyed to the current edition of a specific casebook; it s your trusted guide to the text throughout the semester. The brief for each principal case in the casebook saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, important points of the holding and decision, and concurrences and dissents included in the casebook excerpt. This overview is combined with a short analysis: all to help you broaden your understanding and support you in classroom discussion. Quicknotes at end of each brief give you short definitions of the legal terms used. A handy Glossary of common Latin words and phrases is included in every Casenote. Detailed instruction on how to brief a case is provided for you. A free Quick Course Outline accompanies all Casenote Legal Briefs in these course areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts.