Black Letter Outline on Conflict of Laws by Peter HayBlack Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Conflict of Laws deals with the resolution of interstate and foreign country private law cases. This outline covers: overview of litigational matters; domestic relations; problems of what law applies in particular types of cases; and issues of federalism.
Publication Date: 2019
Conflict of Laws by Peter Hay; Patrick Borchers; Symeon Symeonides; Christopher WhytockThis authoritative text covers jurisdiction and interstate and international private litigation in torts, contracts, business planning, family law (marriage, same-sex relationships, property rights, support, child custody), property, succession and estate administration, and the recognition of sister-state and foreign judgments. The text examines in depth the development and current state of approaches to choice of law. It also addresses issues of jurisdiction and applicable law in private litigation in federal court.
Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Conflict of Laws by Clyde SpillengerThis Concise Hornbook guides students through the complex concepts and principles underlying the law of domestic and international conflicts. The book is an indispensable aid to students and practitioners seeking to better understand the basic principles of choice of law, recognition of judgments, and the law applied in federal courts, as well as more specific developments concerning conflicts in family law, cyberspace, and international transactions.
Publication Date: 2015
Conflicts in a Nutshell by Patrick BorchersDevelop perspective on the conflicts of law arena with Borchers's broad vantage point. Topics covered include issues involving domicile; jurisdiction; adjudication; statute of limitations; foreign law; contract and business cases; torts; "renvoi"; Erie Doctrine; judgments; and family (marriage, dissolution of marriage, property incidents, and custody). Use Conflicts in a Nutshell as an introduction and review tool for students or as a quick refresher and reference tool for lawyers.
Publication Date: 2015
Conflict of Laws by Kermit RooseveltThis title provides an analytical overview of the field of conflicts and explains all major choice-of-law approaches in simple and straightforward text. Separate chapters explore discrete conflicts issues, including personal jurisdiction, recognition of judgments, family law, and state-federal conflicts, including Erie and preemption. It covers the most recent Supreme Court cases on personal jurisdiction and extraterritorial application of federal law, as well as the latest examples of state choice of law approaches. Extensive description and analysis of leading cases make this book an excellent companion to a casebook as well as a resource for practitioners.
Publication Date: 2014
Sum and Substance Quick Review on Conflict of Laws by Thomas C. FischerThis product provides clear and concise explanations of the issues surrounding the conflict of laws. The text provides an analytical and exam approach accompanied by typical questions found on a conflict of laws exam. It includes multiple-choice questions and answers, practice essay questions and model answers, and Case Squibs.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Conflict of Laws by Herma Hill KayThe topics covered in this Conflict of Laws outline include domicile, jurisdiction (including notice and opportunity to be heard, minimum contacts, and types of jurisdiction), choice of law (including vested rights approach, most significant relationship approach, and governmental interest analysis), and choice of law in specific substantive areas. Also included are traditional defenses against application of foreign law, constitutional limitations and overriding federal law (including Due Process Clause, Full Faith and Credit Clause, and conflict between state and federal law), and recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.
Publication Date: 2004
Wolters Kluwer Study Aids
Examples and Explanations for Conflict of Laws by Michael H. HoffheimerClear, informal, and even humorous, Examples & Explanations: Conflicts of Law, Fourth Edition, explores all topics covered in Conflicts courses, including personal jurisdiction and the Erie doctrine. It covers traditional and modern approaches to choice of law, proof of law, and enforcement of foreign country and sister state judgments. It provides up-to-date coverage of constitutional limits on personal jurisdiction, choice of law, and actions against sister states. Big-picture overviews and accurate statements of rules are reinforced with concrete examples and test-taking tips. The powerful Examples & Explanations pedagogy works especially well for Conflict of Laws where students gain understanding of rules and policies by applying them to new fact patterns. Summaries of leading cases found in most casebooks and a modular organization allows easy adaptation to any course. New to the Fourth Edition: Substantially revised personal jurisdiction chapters to add latest Supreme Court cases New material on full faith and credit and immunity of state governments to suit in sister states in response to recent Supreme Court decisions New material on proof of foreign country law in response to recent Supreme Court decision Additional material on state law proof of law that refers to new developments in state law New examples and explanations that apply most recent changes in law Continued coverage of same-sex marriage rights after Obergefell Professors and students will benefit from: Big picture introductions that provide a helpful road map Accurate summaries of specific rules of law Clear identification of problem areas and legal uncertainties Strategies for answering difficult questions Examples that illustrate practical consequences of rules Explanations that discuss the application of recent Supreme Court decisions
Publication Date: 2019
Conflicts, Keyed to Brilmayer, Goldsmith, and O'Connor by Casenote Legal BriefsAfter your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion. Each title is keyed to the current edition of a specific casebook; it s your trusted guide to the text throughout the semester. The brief for each principal case in the casebook saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, important points of the holding and decision, and concurrences and dissents included in the casebook excerpt. This overview is combined with a short analysis: all to help you broaden your understanding and support you in classroom discussion. Quicknotes at end of each brief give you short definitions of the legal terms used. A handy Glossary of common Latin words and phrases is included in every Casenote. Detailed instruction on how to brief a case is provided for you. A free Quick Course Outline accompanies all Casenote Legal Briefs in these course areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts.