Writing & Citations
Citing
For assistance with citing, there are several places on campus where you can receive help.
The Academic Research page of this guide discusses research conduct and academic integrity with resources about intellectual property and ethical and legal expectations. We also encourage you to check out the interactive Citation TreeingOpens in new window tutorial in OU Libraries' Citations & Academic IntegrityOpens in new window tutorials.
Don't forget you can also reach out to your liaison librarian as well, ashley.n.smith@ou.edu.
Citing Works from Databases
-
Citing Sources from OU Libraries Databases
The library provides this guide demonstrating how to generate a pre-made citation from the catalog and our databases. This feature allows citations to be downloaded and used in a Bibliographic Management Software, as well. -
PowerNotes
PowerNotes is a tool brought to you by OU Libraries. PowerNotes works with Google Chrome or Firefox as a browser extension that allows you to annotate and organize PDFs and webpages – very useful when working with a lot of literature across multiple databases! -
Zotero GuideBibliographic Management Software, also called a Citation Manager, can be a useful tool for organization. Zotero is a citation management tool that you can use to organize and cite your sources.
Zotero is free! Plus it's open source "and developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. With Zotero, you always stay in control of your own data."
Citation Style References
If you are writing for a class, your instructor should provide a preferred citation style for papers that you will write. If they have not, you can ask them for their preferred citation style. To find specific journal citation styles, search for the name of the journal plus "citation style" or "author guidelines" (most publications have a website where you can read their policies). If you need assistance finding a style guide, email ashley.n.smith@ou.edu.
Below is a list of reference books and websites that cover common citation styles in all subject areas, including the sciences.
-
APA Style Simplified : writing in psychology, education, nursing, and sociology
by
Call Number: BF 76.7 .B447 2012ISBN: 9780470672327Publication Date: 2012 -
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 TEXTBOOKSISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019 -
American Sociological Association Style Guide byCall Number: HM 569 .A54 2014ISBN: 9780912764214Publication Date: 2014
-
-
Scientific Style and Format
by
Call Number: T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014 -
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Publication Date: 2017 - 17th ed. -
MLA Handbook
by
ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01Check this book out from Textbook Reserves at the Main Circulation Desk
