Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 297 .B47 2018
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
It's no secret that individual lawyers are under siege in a profession with a high incidence of stress, divorce, substance abuse, and suicide. In this groundbreaking multi-dimensional collection, you can find tools and information that enable you to have both a successful career and a happy, satisfied life. These tools will teach you how to harness the transformative power of being more relational and less transactional. The earmark of happy lawyers is the development of emotional intelligence, resilience, and mindfulness practice. The book provides the keys to the kingdom, what is essential to thrive in the competitive environment of lawyering. The material comes from recognized experts who provide step-by-step behavioral guidance of what you need to do. The material is easily accessible. Each chapter has a summary and conclusion. Follow the wisdom and it's guaranteed to change your life and career.
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection RA 785 .K38 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-13
The Lawyer's Guide to Balancing Life and Work, Second Edition is about how the law fits inside you, not how you fit inside the law. Making space for creativity and passion within your current workplace and at home can yield enormous emotional rewards. In the end, this book will support you whether you stay in the law, shift your law practice, or move on to other work. This book is the tool you need to make healthy decisions and welcome the passion back into your life!
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection K 120 .C53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Why you need to care about wellness today -- The 3 uns: why many lawyers are unhealthy, unhappy, or unfulfilled -- Living a wellness lifestyle -- Stress and the dimensions of life -- Why lawyers are perfectly positioned to adopt a wellness lifestyle -- Best practices in the physiological dimensions of life -- Best practices in the social dimensions of life -- Best of the blog.
Now more than ever, lawyers who fail to invest consistently in their personal wellness are at a competitive disadvantage in their legal career - and in their lives as a whole. Lawyers who do not adopt a wellness lifestyle today will fall further behind in the coming years as the legal services business rapidly evolves. This book shows you why this is so - and gives you the essential wellness information and resources you need to thrive in tomorrow's legal services landscape.
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 300 .H44 2012 (Also available electronically)
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
This is a friendly and helpful companion for clinical students and new lawyers as they venture forth. In 115 pages, the book covers topics from solving problems and telling stories, to coping with lies and mistakes, interviewing and counseling clients, investigating and negotiating cases, writing legal memos, making oral arguments, trying lawsuits, and other necessary lawyering skills. Kenney Hegland introduced many to legal education with The Study and Practice of Law in a Nutshell. Paul Bennett is a well-known clinician. this title is a wonderful review of the trees and a needed overview of the forest. It's quite readable: short and happy, quick and funny.
Books Regarding Law School Stress, Success & Balance
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 287 .Y684 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Each year, over 40,000 new students enter America's law schools. Each new crop experiences startlingly high rates of depression, anxiety, fatigue, and dissatisfaction. Kathryne M. Young was one of those disgruntled law students. After finishing law school (and a PhD), she set out to learn more about the law school experience and how to improve it for future students. Young conducted one of the most ambitious studies of law students ever undertaken, charting the experiences of over 1000 law students from over 100 different law schools, along with hundreds of alumni, dropouts, law professors, and more. How to Be Sort of Happy in Law School is smart, compelling, and highly readable. Combining her own observations and experiences with the results of her study and the latest sociological research on law schools, Young offers a very different take from previous books about law school survival. Instead of assuming her readers should all aspire to law-review-and-big-firm notions of success, Young teaches students how to approach law school on their own terms: how to tune out the drumbeat of oppressive expectations and conventional wisdom to create a new breed of law school experience altogether. Young provides readers with practical tools for finding focus, happiness, and a sense of purpose while facing the seemingly endless onslaught of problems law school presents daily. This book is an indispensable companion for today's law students, prospective law students, and anyone who cares about making law students' lives better. Bursting with warmth, realism, and a touch of firebrand wit, How to Be Sort of Happy in Law School equips law students with much-needed wisdom for thriving during those three crucial years.
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 300 .M37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-07
Law is a varied, powerful, and highly rewarding profession. Studies show, however, that lawyers have higher rates of alcoholism, divorce, and even suicide than the general population. Stress creates these poor outcomes, including the stress of dealing with other people's problems all day, the stress of spending excessive amounts of time at work, and the stress of being disconnected to what is most meaningful in life. Through mindfulness and emotional intelligence training, lawyers can improve focus, get more work done in less time, improve their interpersonal skills, and seek and find work that will make their lives more meaningful. This book is designed to help law students and lawyers of all experience levels find a sustainable and meaningful life in the field of law. This book includes journaling and other interactive exercises that can help lawyers find peace, focus, meaning, and happiness over a lifetime of practicing law.
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 287 .R63 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-30
In Mindfulness & Professional Responsibility-A Guidebook for Integrating Mindfulness into the Law School Curriculum, Scott Rogers and Jan Jacobowitz share with readers their methodology for weaving together mindfulness and professional responsibility in the classroom. Readers are offered a glimpse into their popular University of Miami School of Law course, Mindful Ethics: Professional Responsibility for Lawyers in the Digital Age, and its creative curriculum that draws upon the application of traditional professional responsibility issues in the context of social media. Intended to introduce teachers to mindfulness practices and offer a method of integrating it into their classrooms, the book's largest section contains numerous mindfulness demonstrations, exercises, and insights. These exercises, derived from the Jurisight(R) program created by Scott Rogers to teach mindfulness to law students and lawyers, are easy to follow and specifically adapted to the professional responsibility context. To illuminate the context in which these teachings are shared, readers are offered an overview of the practice of mindfulness, a look at the neuroscience research exploring its benefits, and an historical look at mindfulness in legal education. The book is a terrific read for anyone interested in innovative education. Due to the breath of the book's mindfulness content, readers will find its to serve not only as a vehicle for enhancing the educational process, but also as a critical component in decision making and as an important life skill.
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 287 .R64 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-29
Mindfulness for Law Students is a one-of-a-kind book that is specifically designed to introduce law students to fundamental contemplative practices as well as the cutting-edge research that shows how incorporating mindfulness techniques can alter the physical structure and function of the brain to reflect decreased levels of stress, increased levels of productivity and improved mental health. This book is based on the Jurisight(R) program - which uses legal terms and concepts to teach lawyers what they need to know about mindfulness and neuroscience to lead more balanced and effective lives - and written with input from law students, law professors and recent law school graduates to ensure that the lessons are accessible to law students and can be easily integrated into their busy schedules. "As a first-year law student, I found that I didn't need another book on the law school experience, nor a bevy of outlines and advice. What I needed was a way to help myself focus in the midst of a very intense and sometimes chaotic experience. Mindfulness for Law Students introduces mindfulness concepts in a way that will help law students remain self-aware and keep the law school experience in its proper perspective. " -- Dale Dobuler, second-year law student
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection RA 781 .J57 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
A fun, fully illustrated exercise book that details Ruth Bader Ginsburg's workout, written by her trainer. Have you ever wondered what keeps Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, one of the Supreme Court's favorite octogenarians, so sprightly? She owes it in part to the twice-weekly workouts she does with her personal trainer, Bryant Johnson, a man she's called "the most important person" in her life. Now you too can work out with Justice Ginsburg's trainer in the comfort of your home withThe RBG Workout. From planks to squats to (full) push-ups, this simple but challenging workout--illustrated with four-color illustrations of the justice in workout gear--will have you getting fit in no time. With tips from the bench, and sidebars with Bryant's folksy wisdom on getting fit and staying healthy, this delightful book is a perfect gift for anyone looking to emulate one of America's most admired women.
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 310 .A43 L68 2014
Publication Date: 2015-02-16
Lawyers are twice as likely to be alcoholics than the general population, and three times more likely to suffer a heart attack. Yoga for Lawyers is here to help Written by lawyers, for lawyers, this is a short, user-friendly yoga book focused on effective ways to de-stress every day, throughout the day, in very little time. The featured meditative yoga techniques and safe therapeutic yoga stretches are medically proven to be healthy ways to relieve stress.
Call Number: Donald Pray Law Library Wellness Collection KF 298 .C47 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
The Anxious Lawyer is a straightforward introduction to meditation and mindfulness for those engaged in the practice of law. Readers will be guided through an eight week program, the aim of which is to assist in establishing an ongoing meditation practice. The book will: -Provide an overview of the history of meditation and the scientific evidence of its benefits -Introduce the reader to simple meditation techniques -Offer concrete guidance for establishing meditation practice