Focus of this Guide
The focus of this guide is to provide a broad overview of resources available to researchers of Federal Indian, tribal, and indigenous peoples law issues. Tribal law is notably distinct from federal Indian law. Federal Indian law concerns the relationship between federal, state, and tribal governments, while tribal law is the law tribes develop and apply to their members and territories.
Because many of the resources available to research Federal Indian law are similar to the resources used to research other areas of the law, less emphasis is placed on Federal Indian Law research.
While some detail is provided, users of the guide should remember that this guide is introductory in nature and focuses primarily on more widely available electronic resources and resources available at the University of Oklahoma Donald E. Pray Law Library.
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law
Felix S. Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law
Available on Lexis+
- Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian LawMajor title in Lexis Advance database. Kept current online. Includes modern and current issues of Federal Indian Law.
- Handbook of Federal Indian Law (Temporary Edition) 1940Included in HeinOnline American Indian Law Collection
Treatises and Study Aids
- Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law 2012 ed. byCall Number: KF 8205 .A33 2012ISBN: 0769855164Publication Date: 2012This is the foundational treatise on Federal Indian Law. It was was first published in 1940 as a government document written by Felix S. Cohen.
- American Indian Law in a Nutshell byCall Number: KF 8205 .Z9 C36 2009ISBN: 9780314195197Publication Date: 2009There is a massive body of Federal Indian law. This book gives an overview and provides some of the general themes. Print is kept on Reserve. Available on West Academic Study Aids.
- American Indian Law Deskbook, 4th ed. byCall Number: KF 8205 .A76 2014ISBN: 0870819259Publication Date: 2014This treatise is a collaborative product which covers much practical information involving state and tribal relations, The Deskbook provides readers with the neccessary historical and legal framework to understand the complexities faced by states, Indian tribes, and the federal government in Indian country.
Books on Federal Indian Law
- Sovereignty, Colonialism, and the Future of Indigenous Nations byCall Number: KF 8205 .P64 2005ISBN: 0890893330Publication Date: 2005Discusses the interplay of legal, political, economic, and cultural factors that contribute to the debate surrounding the status of Indigenous nations and Native peoples in the United States.
- The Rights of Indians and Tribes byCall Number: KF 8210 .C5 P48 2012ISBN: 0199795355Publication Date: 2012
- American Indian Law : Native Nations and the Federal System : Cases and Materials 6th ed byCall Number: KF 8204 .C55 2010ISBN: 1422476472Publication Date: 2010
- Cases and Materials on Federal Indian Law, 6th ed. byCall Number: KF 8204.5 G47 2011ISBN: 0314200371Publication Date: 2011
- Landmark Indian Law Cases byCall Number: KF 8204.5 T67 2002ISBN: 0837701570Publication Date: 2002Cases selected by the National Indian Law Library of the Native American Rights Fund
- Aboriginal Legal Issues : Cases, Materials & Commentary, 4th ed. byCall Number: KE 7708.5 B67 2012ISBN: 9780433409649Publication Date: 2012Surveys most important issues in Canadian law concerning Aboriginal peoples.
- American Indian Sovereignty and Law byCall Number: KF 8201. A1 A44 2009ISBN: 0810862352Publication Date: 2009This bibliography of law review articles and books is arranged by topic and includes sources dealing with federal Indian policy, federal and tribal courts, criminal justice, tribal governance, religious freedoms, economic development, and numerous sub-topics related to tribal and individual rights.
- Documents of United States Indian Policy (Third Edition) byCall Number: KF 8205 .D63 2000ISBN: 0803287623Publication Date: 2000This is a selective bibliography of major documents marking significant formulations of U.S. policy. Each is summarized and they are arranged in chronological order from 1783 to 2000.
- Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law byCall Number: KF 8205 .E49 2009ISBN: 1933116986Publication Date: 2009Introductory essays trace the development of federal Indian policies from the days of the Continental Congress to the present, arranged A-Z. Covers people, policy, beliefs, law, military and culture.
- The Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition byCall Number: KF 8204 .E53 1998ISBN: 0313301670Publication Date: 1998Emphasizes the contributions of traditional Native American political and legal systems in the development of American Indian Law and the political history of the United States.
- American Indians and the Law byCall Number: KF 8210 .R32 D88 2008ISBN: 9780670018574Publication Date: 2008-01-31The history and politics of American Indians' unique constitutional status from a renowned scholar. Few Americans know that Indian tribes have a legal status unique among America's distinct racial and ethnic groups: They are also sovereign governments that engage in governmental relations with Congress.
Books by Leading Practitioners
- Emerging Issues in Tribal-State Relations, 2016 Ed by Maxwell and tribal sovereign immunity in the Ninth Circuit: restoring a true purpose or ignoring reality? / Thomas B. Nedderman and John A. Safarli -- Developing energy resources and other economic projects on tribal lands / Pilar M. Thomas -- Civil and criminal litigation in western South Dakota tribal courts: a trial lawyer's perspective / Jeffrey Robert Connolly -- A look at tribal water rights and settlements / Ryan A. Smith and Emily Sullivan.Call Number: KF 8205 .A2 E46 2016ISBN: 0314295038Publication Date: 2016-06-01
- Best Practices for Protecting Natural Resources on Tribal Lands by Tribal "treatment as state" programs under federal environmental statutes : key provisions and case studies / Charles G. Curtis Jr., Donald C. Baur, and Jena A. MacLean, Partners, Perkins Coie LLP -- Developing a national Indian water rights policy / Thomas W. Fredericks, Managing Partner, Fredericks Pebbles & Morgan LLP -- One size does not fit all : different approaches to conservation and development of tribal resources / Blaine I. Green, Partner, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP -- Nuances and challenges of protecting tribal sovereignty / Kaighn Smith Jr., Shareholder, Drummond Woodsum MacMahon -- Rights of way on tribal lands, tribal water rights issues, and environmental regulation in Indian country / Jeffrey J. Wechsler, Shareholder, Montgomery & Andrews -- Preventing conflicts when developing projects on tribal lands and resolving disputes / Bart Freedman, Partner, K&L Gates LLP.Call Number: KF 8215.75 .B48 2016ISBN: 031429466XPublication Date: 2016-01-04
Subject Headings for Searching in Online Library Catalog
Indians of North America (WITH A SUBHEADING)
--Legal status, laws, etc.
--Politics and government
Tribal government--United States
- ebrary - digital libraryConsists of over 70,000 full-text e-books. As a starting point use "Indians of North America" as a subject term and focus for example with the subject term "Legal Status, Laws, Etc." When you create a free account you can create a bookshelf of your selections and you can download content to devices for 14 days.
- Canby's American Indian Law in a NutshellOnline Study Aid
- Federal Indian LawOnline Study Aid
- Indian Law StoriesOnline Study Aid
- American Indian Tribal LawOnline Study Aid