Exam Pro on Criminal Procedure by Mary ChehThis study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 40 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.
Publication Date: 2015
Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell by Mark Cammack; Norman GarlandDesigned for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.
Publication Date: 2016
Principles of Criminal Procedure: Investigation by Wayne R. LaFave; Jerold H. Israel; Orin S. Kerr; Nancy J. KingThis book, for use in connection with a course focused upon crime detection and investigation, examines various investigative procedures, including search and seizure, network surveillance, entrapment, interrogation, lineup and photo identification, and grand jury investigation; describes the scope and administration of exclusionary rules relating to those procedures; and also discusses the right to counsel. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Publication Date: 2009
Principles of Criminal Procedure: Post-Investigation by Wayne R. LaFave; Jerold H. Israel; Orin S. Kerr; Nancy J. KingThis book, for use in connection with a course focused upon the formal part of the criminal process, covers counsel, bail, the charging decision, preliminary hearing and grand jury review, the prosecution's location and scope, speedy trial, pleading and discovery, guilty pleas, jury trial, pretrial publicity, the trial, double jeopardy, sentencing, appeal, and collateral attack. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Publication Date: 2009
A Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Procedure by Leslie AbramsonThis Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards. Dominate your classes in Criminal Procedure and your skills courses in Trial Advocacy! Learn more about this series at ShortandHappyGuides.com.
Publication Date: 2015
Gilbert Law Summary on Criminal Procedure by Paul Marcus; Melanie WilsonThe topics covered in this criminal procedure outline are the exclusionary rule, arrests and other detentions, search and seizure, privilege against self-incrimination, confessions, and preliminary hearing. Discusses bail, indictment, speedy trial, competency to stand trial, government's obligation to disclose information, right to jury trial, and right to counsel. Also includes right to confront witnesses, burden of proof, insanity, entrapment, guilty pleas, sentencing, death penalty, ex post facto issues, appeal, habeas corpus, juvenile offenders, prisoners' rights, and double jeopardy.
Publication Date: 2016
Acing Criminal Procedure by Leslie AbramsonThis product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.
Publication Date: 2015
Quick Review of Criminal Procedure by Leslie AbramsonThis product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Publication Date: 2017
Criminal Procedure by Wayne LaFave; Jerold Israel; Nancy King; Orin KerrThis title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Publication Date: 2016
High Court Case Summaries, Criminal Procedure 11th Ed. (Keyed to Saltzburg) by Publishers Editorial StaffThis title contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in Saltzburg's casebook on Criminal Procedure. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core "take away" knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Procedure, Keyed to Kamisar by Publishers Editorial StaffThis publication contains briefs for each major case in Kamisarâe(tm)s casebook on criminal procedure. The briefs present the essential facts, issue, decision, and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner and will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge from each case. They are followed by a useful legal analysis. The book also supplies case vocabulary and a corresponding memory graphic for each brief, providing a visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.
Publication Date: 2016
Criminal Procedure, Constitutional Limitations in a Nutshell, 8th by Jerold H. Israel; Wayne R. LafaveThis nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.
Publication Date: 2014
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Procedure, Keyed to Dressler, 6th Ed. by Publishers Editorial StaffDressler’s High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Procedure contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in this casebook. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.
Publication Date: 2018
Black Letter Outline on Basic Criminal Procedure by Stephen A. Saltzburg; Daniel J. Capra; Angela J. DavisBasic Criminal Procedure is a clear and comprehensive outline of the most important principles and issues taught in the basic Criminal Procedure law school course. It covers the 4th, 5th, and 6th Amendments, including Exceptions to the Warrant requirement, Remedies for 4th Amendment violations, the Privilege Against Self-Incrimination, Limits on Identification Evidence and the Right to Counsel. Basic Criminal Procedure also provides sample examination questions and answers.
Criminal Procedure by Erwin Chemerinsky; Laurie L. LevensonCombining first-hand knowledge of the criminal procedure system with stellar constitutional law scholarship, Levenson and Chemerinsky now offer a free-standing and student-friendly casebook that focuses on the investigation phase of criminal procedure. Written in the eminently articulate style that characterizes Chemerinsky’s Constitutional Law casebook, Criminal Procedure: Investigation offers: straightforward essays by the authors that illuminate principal and minor cases a first-chapter overview of criminal procedure that looks at the roles of the participant the progression of a case through the system key procedural rules and governing principles the Incorporation Doctrine the test for determining when new procedural rules should be applied retroactively a consistent and systematic chapter structure that introduces the topic discusses the history and development of the law cites examples from recent cases where the key issues have been raised offers an analytic critique of ;the resolution of the issue chronologically organized chapter topics that mirror the sequential ordering of the investigation process samples of legal pleadings that exemplify attorneys’ actual arguments a panoramic perspective on practice as conveyed through the eyes of prosecutors, defense counsel, judges, police, and victims Supreme Court cases from the 2006-2007 term a detailed Teacher’s Manual that offers questions and answers to support teaching and fuel class discussion an expanded teaching package that includes PowerPoint slides, a DVD that presents the facts and backgrounds of several key cases, and an author website Sure, it is a pleasure to teach and to read, but you could decide to adopt it simply For The wealth of experience and expertise that Chemerinsky and Levenson bring to their subject.
Understanding Criminal Procedure Volume 2: Adjudication by Joshua Dressler; Alan C. Michaels; Frank R. StrongUnderstanding Criminal Procedure is primarily designed for law students and is organized and written so that both students and professors can use it with confidence to better prepare for courses and improve classroom dialogue. The two- volume format allows you to purchase one or both volumes based on the topics covered in your course. Already cited extensively in scholarly literature and judicial opinions, scholars, practicing lawyers and courts will also find the expanded content of this newest edition indispensable. Inside you'll find extensive coverage of the most important United States Supreme Court cases and discussion of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, federal statutes, and lower federal and state court cases. Overarching policy issues are considered extensively, and some of the hottest debates in the field are considered with high-quality and objective analysis. The user-friendly organization of the text helps you develop a comprehensive understanding of broad topics, or refine your focus with intuitive subsections that help you find answers to pressing questions more efficiently. Citations to important scholarship, both classic and recent, help you to expand and refine your research on specific topics with ease, and footnotes include cross-references within the text to help you easily move to different chapters and subsections to understand how topics are inter-related. This first volume, Investigation, is intended for use in introductory criminal procedure courses focusing primarily or exclusively on police investigative process and constitutional concerns. A chapter on the defendant's right to counsel at trial and appeal and other non-police-practice issues is included in both volumes to allow greater flexibility based on the design of particular courses. The second volume, Adjudication covers the criminal process after the police investigation ends and the adjudicative process commences. It is most useful in more
Inside Investigative Criminal Procedure by Julian A. CookA concise and student-friendly study guide, Inside Investigative Criminal Procedure: What Matters and Why offers a big-picture view that looks at how all of the essential elements of a criminal investigation fit together as part of a coherent framework of legal theory and practice. A rich pedagogy features graphics, Sidebars, and Frequently Asked Questions, as well as other learning aids, to guide comprehension and reinforce learning. Features: basic coverage of the main themes of Investigative Criminal Procedure that focuses on what matters and why straightforward, lucid, and informal writing style dynamic pedagogy that supports learning and facilitates use: Overviews that briefly introduce and position the topic of each chapter within the context of the course, to clearly convey to students what the topic is about and why it matters FAQs, or frequently asked questions, that address common mistakes and misconceptions Sidebars that offer additional insight and background information, or highlight important or illustrative cases Tables and Flowcharts that illustrate concepts Chapter summaries and bolded key terms Connections--brief sections at the end of each chapter that connect the material just covered to key points in other chapters' a well regarded feature that illuminates the underpinnings and framework of the subject Readable and concise, Inside Investigative Criminal Procedure: What Matters and Why helps students to become more engaged in the course by offering clear explanations that demystify the material without oversimplifying it. Author Julian Cook provides multiple platforms for testing and reinforcing students' understanding of key concepts and rules.
Publication Date: 2012
Inside Adjudicative Criminal Procedure: What Matters and Why by Julian A. Cook; Alan A. CookInside Adjudicative Criminal Procedure: What Matters and Why is ideal for students who take Adjudicative Criminal Procedure and criminal trial practice courses and clinics, as well as for students who are considering a career in criminal litigation. The book discusses all the topics that are typically discussed in the aforementioned courses, including bail, grand jury and prosecutorial decision-making, discovery, speedy trial, jury selection, trial by jury, right to counsel, double jeopardy, guilty pleas and plea bargaining, sentencing, and post-verdict trials and strategies. Each chapter describes the most critical legal concepts, and contains succinct discussions of relevant case law and statutes. The material is presented in an organized, aesthetically pleasant format which facilitates student reading and comprehension. The book, whose authors are former federal and state prosecutors with extensive professional and academic experience in adjudicative criminal procedure, is a great study aid to supplement the principal text used in any of the aforementioned courses. The book can also be used as a principal text in practice-related courses. Features: Concise description of essential principles and pertinent cases and statutes. Easy to understand content presentation. Aesthetically pleasing format which facilitates student learning. Summary of essential principles at the end of each chapter. Connections section at the end of each chapter which link chapter topics with other chapters in the book.
Publication Date: 2016
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Procedures: The Constitution and the Police. 8th Ed. by Robert M. Bloom; Mark S. BrodinA favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Publication Date: 2015
The Glannon Guide to Criminal Procedure: Learning Criminal Procedure Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis by John Kip CornwellThe proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, "The Closer" questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick. The user-friendly Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. The material is broken into small, manageable pieces to help you master concepts. Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture. Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work. You can rely on authority; the series was created by Joseph W. Glannon―Harvard-educated, best-selling author of, among other legal texts, Examples and Explanations; Civil Procedure, now in its sixth edition. "The Closer" poses a sophisticated problem question at the end of each chapter to test your comprehension. A final "Closing Closer" provides you practice opportunity as well as a cumulative review of all the concepts from earlier chapters. You can check your understanding each step of the way. More like classroom experiences, these Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
Publication Date: 2014
Glannon Guide to Criminal Procedure by John Kip CornwellLaw school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Publication Date: 2018
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Procedure II: From Bail to Jail, 4th Ed. by Richard G. Singer; Kenneth WilliamsA favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2018
Emanuel Law Outlines for Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Procedure by Steven L. EmanuelAny law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!
Publication Date: 2020-06-16
Emanuel CrunchTime for Criminal Procedure by Steven L. EmanuelWhen it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.