Principles of Evidence by Graham C. Lilly; Daniel J. Capra; Stephen A. SaltzburgThis text examines all topics typically covered in a three- or four-hour course in evidence. Emphasis is on the Federal Rules of Evidence, now adopted in most states. Should the reader desire additional material, ample footnotes provide easy access to leading cases, articles, and standard reference works. This volume contains dozens of illustrations, with answers, designed to make the rules come to life. The eighth edition contains the restyled rules and all the new developments on the Confrontation clause, and covers recent amendments, including those going into effect in 2019. Dan Capra is the reporter, Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of Evidence, and Stephen Saltzburg served as a consultant.
Publication Date: 2019
A Short and Happy Guide to Evidence by Sydney BeckmanA Short & Happy Guide to Evidence takes a challenging subject and breaks it into manageable pieces that are easy to understand and digest. Using practical examples and humor, this book takes you through the most difficult, and most often tested, rules. After reading this book you will finally understand the Hearsay Rule. Flowcharts and graphics will assist the reader in a comprehensive understanding of the Federal Rules of Evidence and how they interact with each other.
Publication Date: 2018
Exam Pro on Evidence, Objective by Michael GrahamExam Pro-Objective on Evidence is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.
Publication Date: 2018
Federal Rules of Evidence in a Nutshell by Michael GrahamThe Nutshell, reflecting the Federal Rules of Evidence as restyled and amended up to and including December 1, 2017, contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final, the multistate bar examination, and most significantly a successful litigation practice career. The United States Supreme Court's controversial testimonial/nontestimonial interpretation of the Confrontation Clause developed in Crawford and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.
Acing Evidence by Aviva OrensteinAcing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The second edition adds new examples, reflects rule changes, and expands the discussion of confrontation.
Publication Date: 2016
Black Letter Outline on Evidence by Laird C. KirkpatrickThis outline summarizes the Federal Rules of Evidence with informative references and contrasts to common law tradition. Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.
Publication Date: 2015
Legalines on Evidence, Keyed to Mueller, 7th by Publisher's, Editorial StaffThis Legalines discusses the major cases from Mueller's evidence casebook. Each casebrief includes an explanation of the facts of the case, issues, holdings, and judge's rationale. This title includes cases about making the record, relevance, the hearsay rule, impeachement and cross-examination, confidentiality and confidential communication, writings, competency of witnesses, judicial notice, the burden of proof and presumptions, and experts.
Publication Date: 2013
Quick Review of Evidence by Steven J. GoodeQuick Review of Evidence is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a stuent needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Publication Date: 2012
Electronic Discovery and Digital Evidence in a Nutshell by Shira Scheindlin; Sedona Conference (Organization) StaffA concise treatment of all issues relating to electronically stored information (ESI) in litigation today, and a must-own for both civil and criminal practitioners. The authors have substantially rewritten each chapter and added chapters on anticipated changes to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure governing ESI (which take effect December, 2015), technology-assisted review of ESI, and the use of ESI in criminal cases. Includes extensive treatment of preservation, search for and production of ESI, privilege protection, sanctions, ethical obligations of attorneys with respect to technology, and how the federal rules can be and have been adopted to accommodate digital evidence. Written by the author of the landmark Zubulake opinions and the Sedona Conference, which is at the forefront of thinking and writing on electronic discovery.
Publication Date: 2015
Evidence by Paul F. Rothstein; Myrna S. Raeder; David CrumpThe newest (restyled) version of the Federal Rules of Evidence, reproduced in the appendix, are the anchor of this single-volume Nutshell, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert and scientific evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. It includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches, and pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful.
Mastering Evidence by Ronald W. EadesMastering Evidence is a clear, concise discussion of the rules of evidence. It is designed to be a secondary source for students enrolled in their first course in evidence. Most courses in evidence, and, of course, the multi-state bar examination in evidence, focus primarily on the Federal Rules of Evidence. This book takes the same approach, fully explaining the details of those rules. It is also organized according to the same structure as the Federal Rules and is, therefore, easy to follow. For students who are concerned about the state rules of evidence, comments about traditional rules are made where appropriate.In short, this work should provide a good source for all students taking a course in evidence. It presents the rules in a readable fashion that makes it possible to understand complex concepts.This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L.Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
A Student's Guide to Hearsay by Clifford FishmanThe fifth edition of A Student's Guide to Hearsay focuses on the Federal Rules of Evidence, breaking down the hearsay rule into its elements and explaining them in straightforward language. It does the same for each of the 29 exceptions to the hearsay rule. The book covers the Sixth Amendment Confrontation Clause and includes a proposed amendment to the Rules. It also explains related subjects: what a grand jury is and how it operates; offers of proof, order of proof, burdens of proof; conditional relevancy and conditional admissibility; and privileged communications. A website will keep readers up to date on changes in the law.
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Wolters Kluwer Study Aids
Emanuel CrunchTime for Evidence by Steven L. EmanuelWhen it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Publication Date: 2018
Examples and Explanations for Evidence by Arthur BestA favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2020-06-12
Glannon Guide to Evidence by Michael AveryLaw school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Publication Date: 2018
Emanuel Law Outlines for Evidence by Steven L. EmanuelAny law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!