Mastering Corporations and Other Business Entities by Lee HarrisThe title of the basic business law course--Corporations, Business Associations Business Organizations, or Business Entities--varies from law school to law school and from year to year. However, in these courses, the core coverage is essentially the same--agency principles, partnership law, fiduciary duties, securities fraud, and changes in corporate control. This relatively concise book is intended to reach students in the basic corporate law course, regardless of course title. This book attempts to make the usual coverage as easy and straightforward as possible. Although the vast majority of law students take a corporations or basic business organizations course, there are surprisingly few attempts to systematically organize the most important doctrines and theories covered. Of the few books that track the basic business law course, even fewer still are of recent vintage. This book attempts to fill those lacunae. The book intends to aid students, of course, in the basic Corporations or Business Organizations courses. Additionally, this book would be a useful resource to students in other closely related courses in law school, like Agency & Partnership, Closely Held Firms, Mergers & Acquisitions, and Securities Regulation, to name just a few. In addition to law schools, the book is also written with an eye toward the graduate students in business administration who are frequently enrolled in a basic business law course, as well as the newly minted corporate attorney who wants a refresher text.
This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
The Law of Corporations in a Nutshell by Richard FreerCompletely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book features hypotheticals to illustrate key concepts. Comprehensive yet concise, it addresses the theory of the firm as well as the nuts-and-bolts of corporate law, including separate consideration of specialized issues raised by closely-held and public corporations. With updated discussion of Sarbanes-Oxley, Rule 10b-5, and Section 16(b), it gives broad background. Financial concepts are explained with helpful examples, so that even sociology majors need not fear them.
Publication Date: 2016
Gilbert Law Summaries, Corporations by Jesse Choper; James CoxThis outline clearly examines the full range of issues that arise in classes focused on business organizations. The central distinctions among business forms such as general and limited partnerships, limited liability corporations as well as close and public corporations. Both federal and state statutes that regulate the affairs of corporations are examined. The legal requirements for their formation, operation and management. Also includes shareholders' right to inspect records, shareholders' suits, capitalization, dividends, redemption of shares, fundamental changes in corporate structure, and applicable conflict of laws principles. Contemporary practices and legal provisions addressing corporate governance are described. Special attention is given to the fiduciary obligations of owners and managers as well as the governance rights of shareholders. The materials provide detailed coverage of the federal provisions addressing proxy solicitations, insider trading, disclosure requirements and the scope of the anti-fraud provision Rule 10b-5. The outline provides comprehensive treatment of a wide range of mergers and acquisition issues including the procedural requirements to effect acquisitions, the fiduciary obligations to defend and transfer control, and the intricate case law surrounding self-dealing acquisitions.
Publication Date: 2015
Corporate Law by Stephen BainbridgeMany students find their Corporation Law class difficult because they do not understand the transactions giving rise to those cases. As with its predecessors, this third edition is intended to assist students by not only restating the law but also by putting the law into its business and financial context. The pedagogy is up-to-date, with a strong emphasis on the doctrinal issues taught in today's Corporations classes. The text is highly readable: The style is simple, direct, and reader-friendly. Even when dealing with complicated economic or financial issues, the text seeks to make those issues readily accessible. This new edition brings the material up-to-date with complete coverage of developments in both state corporate law and federal securities law.
Publication Date: 2015
Black Letter Outline on Corporations, 6th by Richard A. BoothThis Black Letter Outline is designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a Corporations Law course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.
Corporations Law by Franklin A. GevurtzThis book clarifies rather than simply recites corporations law, while paying attention to correcting common misconceptions held among students about the subject. This book is also appropriate for courts and commentators seeking the appropriate resolution of issues of corporations law. Citations in this book are kept to a minimum and written in a user-friendly style. The second edition incorporates the major developments in corporate law in the decade since the first edition was published.
Publication Date: 2010
Corporate Law Stories by J. Mark RamseyerUsing 11 pivotal cases that have shaped the evolution of corporate law, internationally renowned scholars explore the people behind the disputes and the forces that led the judges to decide the cases the way they did. From Meinhard v. Salmon to Paramount v. QVC, they unravel the logic (and, often, apparent illogic) of the opinions. Simultaneously amusing and clarifying, the resulting chapters make sense of cases that have puzzled students and scholars for decades.
Publication Date: 2009-04-03
Wolters Kluwer Study Aids
Emanuel Law Outlines: Corporations, Seventh Edition by Steven L. EmanuelThe most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steven Emanuel, these course outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks.Emanuel Law Outline Features: #1 outline choice among law students Comprehensive review of all major topics Capsule summary of all topics Cross-reference table of cases Time-saving format Great for exam prep
Publication Date: 2013
Corporations and Other Business Entities by Steven L. EmanuelEmanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Developed for students by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime titles provide the trusted guidance of Emanuel Law Outlines in a tighter, briefer format for quick review at exam time. Flow Charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts. You can test your knowledge by working through the ample Short-Answer Q&A s, which are organized by topic. Exams Tips often based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested on exams for you. They explore fact patterns typically used to test those issues. CrunchTime allows you to practice your essay exam skills by answering questions asked on past exams. Flowcharts help you craft compelling essays, and you can compare your answers to the samples provided. CrunchTime aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Uniform in writing style and approach, you can be confident that any title in the series is of consistent quality. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks.
Publication Date: 2013
Examples and Explanations: Corporations by Alan R. PalmiterA favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures