Microforms
On this page you will find microforms relevant to research in the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine available through OU libraries. Some info on microforms:
- Thousands of books, periodicals and archival materials are available in microform (some still not available in digital formats)
- There are 2 types of microforms that you can use with readers in OU Libraries: Microfiche (flat strips) or Microfilm (reels)
- Request microform through SoonerXpress. READERS ARE ON 4th FLOOR
- For more on the microform collections available through OU Libraries, see: Microform Collections & Microform Reader/Printers and In-House Microform Collections
Topics
Examples of microform collections organized around topics in the history of science, technology, and medicine are listed below.
NOTE: Many microform collections have accompanying guides. When these are listed separately in the catalog, they are included separately here.
- Books of the Fairs: Materials about World's Fairs, 1834- 1916, in the Smithsonian Institution Libraries byPublication Date: 1989-1990"The collection includes official government reports, exhibition management publications, exhibition catalogues, etc."
- The Franklin Institute and the Making of industrial America"Under a National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) grant the archivists and staff members of the Franklin Institute ... selected from the Institute's archives historically representative manuscript and iconographic materials documenting the Institute's important role in the making of industrial America. The same grant also supported both the writing of the finding aid and the production of the microfiche masters."
- The History of Science, Health and WomenA Derivative Based on the History of Women Collection, with Additional Selections from the European Women's Periodicals and the Malthusian Collections
- Incunabula: The Printing Revolution in Europe, 1455-1500"Based on the Incunabula Short Title Catalog (ISTC) at the British Library, this microfiche collection reproduces full-text editions of incunabula from libraries around the world. The texts are arranged around subject themes, such as: law, medicine, philosophy, classical texts in translation, romances, geography, cosmography and journeys of discovery, chronicles and historiography, and provide for the study of early book production in the first stages of European printing."
- The Industrial Revolution: A Documentary HistoryIncludes papers from the archives of James Watt and Matthew Boulton
- Renaissance Man: The Reconstructed Libraries of European Scholars, 1450-1700"Series 1. The books and manuscripts of John Dee, 1527-1608 -- pt. 1. reel 1-20. Manuscripts from the Bodleian Library, Oxford -- pt. 2. reel 21-40. John Dee's manuscripts from Corpus Christi College, Oxford -- pt. 3. reel 41-50. John Dee's manuscripts and annotated books from Cambridge University Library -- pt. 4. reel 51-70. John Dee's manuscripts and annotated books from the Library of the Royal college of Physicians, London -- pt. 5. reel 71-90. John Dee's annotated books from the Library of Royal College of Physicians, London -- pt. 6. reel 91-112. John Dee's annotated books from the Library of the Royal College of Physicians, London -- pt. 7. reel 113-133. Manuscripts from the British Library, London -- pt. 8. reel 134-154. Manuscripts and annotated books from the British Library, London."
- Women and Medicine Remedy Books, 1533-1865, from the Wellcome Library of the History and Understanding of Medicine"Contains over 260 manuscript receipt books, each of which was a highly valued, inherited piece which handed down wisdom and tradition from mother to daughter, and each of which is an important source for historians of medicine and diet, gender, familial and social relations, and knowledge formation. As well as remedies for medical ailments, the manuscripts contain cookery and other household recipes, and in some cases even veterinary advice."
People
Examples of microform collections relating to individual scientific figures are listed below.
NOTE: Many microform collections have accompanying guides. When these are listed separately in the catalog, they will be listed separately here.
- Darwin, Huxley and the Natural Sciences"Reproduction of original manuscripts of Huxley's and Darwin's scientific monographs, scientific papers, and correspondence, from the Darwin Archive, Cambridge University Library and the Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine."
- Othniel Charles Marsh papers, 1817-1899: GUIDE"Guide to the microform edition of correspondence, diaries, notebooks, school notes and other papers of O.C. Marsh, scientist and first professor of paleontology at Yale and in the United States. Also included are materials relating to Marsh's education at Andover, Yale and in Germany, as well as family papers."
- The Papers of Sir Joseph Banks, 1743-1820"The History of Science and Technology. Series Two, The papers of Sir Joseph Banks, 1743-1820:
pt. 1. Correspondence and papers relating to voyages of discovery, 1740-1805, from the British Library, London -- pt. 2. Papers relating to voyages of discovery, 1760-1800, from the British Library, London -- pt. 3. pt. 3. Correspondence and papers relating to Voyages of discovery, 1743-1853, from the British Library, London -- pt. 4. Correspondence and papers relating to voyages of discovery, 1767-1819, from the State Library of New South Wales." - The Papers of Sir Hans Sloane, 1660-1753"The History of Science and Technology. Series One, The Papers of Sir Hans Sloane, 1660-1753 from the British Library, London:
pt. 1. Science & society, 1660-1773 (reel 1-17) -- pt. 2. Manuscript records of voyages of discovery, 1450-1750 (reel 18-37) -- pt. 3. Manuscript records of voyages of discovery, 1450-1750 (reel 38-57) -- pt. 4. Alchemy, chemistry & magic (reel 58-75) -- pt. 5. Alchemy, chemistry & magic (reel 76-93) -- pt. 6. The history of medicine, surgery, and anatomy (reel 94-113) -- pt. 7. The history of medicine, surgery, and anatomy (reel 114-134) -- pt. 8. The history of medicine, surgery, and anatomy (reel 135-158)." - Sir Isaac Newton Manuscripts and Papers"The major part of the collection is made up of the complete holdings of Cambridge University Library, King's College Library, Cambridge and The Jewish National and University Library."