Law Journal Databases
Lexis+ and Westlaw contain full text journal articles for almost all of their titles from about the mid-1990s and for select journals to 1980 and even earlier.
Use HeinOnline for comprehensive coverage of law journals including bar journals to date of inception of the journal.
Use Index to Legal Periodicals and Books for sophisticated field searching.
SSRN is useful to find pre-publication articles.
Finally, use Google Scholar as an easier searching tool for law journal articles on HeinOnline and other sources.
-
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of law school journals, ABA journals and some international and non-US journals in PDF format. This database includes more than 3,200 law and law-related periodicals featuring subjects such as criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from inception and goes through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA search engine for locating journal articles, cases and books using the simple Google interface.
-
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books This link opens in a new windowIndex to Legal Periodicals and Books™ is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, providing complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
-
Social Science Research Network: Legal Scholarship This link opens in a new windowContains a collection of law journal articles authored by law faculty and others, often as "advance" copies of the final publication.
More Resources
-
Law Journal ResourcesFrom OU Law Library