Skip to main content

Business Databases

Tips on navigating business databases

Locations

To locate articles from the Wall Street Journal, use the databases ABI/INFORM or Factiva. ABI/INFORM and Factiva provide full text to the Eastern edition.

Using ABI/INFORM

To access ABI/INFORM Complete:

ABI/Inform can be accessed a couple of ways.  Starting at libraries.ou.edu, login with your 4X4.  After logging in:

1. Click on Databases and E-Reference located in the middle of the page under Quick links. On the next page click on the letter A - ABI/Inform will be the first entry in the page.

2. After logging in to the Libraries webpage open a new box to http://guides.ou.edu/businessdatabases.  ABI/Inform will be the first database listed.


Within ABI/INFORM, there are two ways of searching for articles from the Wall Street Journal:

     1.  In the first search box enter "wall street journal" 

To the right of the search box change the drop box to PUBLICATION TITLE - PUB    If you like, you can enter another search term in the following search boxes

OR

     2.  Select “Publications” at the top of the page. Select “W.” Select the edition you would like to search.  Enter search terms in the search box to search within the Wall Street Journal.

Using Factiva

To access Factiva:
​Starting at libraries.ou.edu, login with your 4X4.  After logging in:

1. Click on Databases and E-Reference located in the middle of the page under Quick links. On the next page click on the letter F - Factiva will be the second entry in the page.

2. After logging in to the Libraries webpage open a new box to http://guides.ou.edu/businessdatabases.  Scroll down to Factiva

To search for articles:

     1. Click on Search -- Search Builder located on the far left of the top tool bar
     2. Enter your search terms in the “Free Text” search box,
     3. Verify that the date range covers the range appropriate for your needs (the default is set at 3 months),
     4. Click on  “SOURCE”
     5. Click on the “+” by “MAJOR NEWS and BUSINESS PUBLICATIONS”
     6. Scroll down to “MAJOR NEWS UNITED STATES” and click on the “+”
     7. Scroll down the list to the Wall Street Journal, at the bottom of the list. Click on The Wall Street Journal to add it to your search,
     8. Click “RUN SEARCH."

If you are only interested in looking at articles from the past two weeks, click on “News
Pages” located on the top toolbar. “News Pages” allows browsing of current issues; here
you can view the stories from each section of the paper.