This book "will help you develop and deliver impactful presentations on medical and scientific data and tell a clear, compelling story based on your research findings. It will show you how to develop clear messages and themes, while adhering to the advice attributed to Einstein: 'Make things as simple as possible...but no simpler.'"

"Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience." A detailed reference work for scientific communication.

"Guides readers through the steps involved in producing a concise and understandable document in various formats." This includes everything from presentations and posters to project reports to professional correspondence (emails, faxes, memoranda, and more). A detailed reference work on professional writing.

Aimed at non-native speakers of English but the clear writing and principles in it should be useful for all researchers.

"Using scores of examples from a wide variety of authors and disciplines, the author - himself a writer and physicist -- demonstrates the difference between strong and weak scientific writing, and how to convey ideas to the intended audience."

"Shows how technical terminology is regularly less precise than simpler language." This book uses social science examples but is applicable to all fields and levels of academic writing.

Located in the Reference collection.

"An invaluable reference tool that guides readers through drafting the results of quantitative experiments." This book gives social science examples but should be of use to learners and researchers in many scientific fields in learning how to report the results of statistical tests.

"A succinct and highly readable guide to creating effective graphs."

"detailed analysis of how to display data for precise, effective, quick analysis."

"Using interviews and personal anecdotes, as well as her own insights as a field scientist, Kearns walks readers through the evolution of science communication and how emotional and high-stakes issues have shaped communication."

"The beloved actor shares fascinating and powerful lessons from the science of communication, and teaches readers to improve the way they relate to others using improv games, storytelling, and their own innate mind-reading abilities. With his trademark humor and frankness, Alan Alda explains what makes the out-of-the-box techniques he developed after his years as the host of Scientific American Frontiers so effective." I've taken a few "improv for scientists" and "improv for librarians" workshops and it was fascinating to hear more about how much paying attention to your audience or listener helps communicate complicated ideas!

Written for anyone in higher education who is responsible for submitting and running a grant-funded project, Grant Seeking in Higher Education offers a hands-on resource for developing and managing the grant process from start to finish. Step by step, the authors will help you to identify and sort through potential sponsors, tap into campus support that is already in place, and prepare to write a targeted grant proposal that can generate results.

This book is written primarily for students or beginning-to-moderately experienced grantwriters working in nonprofit corporations, school districts, or city or county agencies, and provides a step-by-step guide to writing a successful grant proposal. Throughout the book, readers are presented with agency/organizational analyses using a conceptual framework that is tied to a theoretical perspective about the desired outcomes.

Written for both novice and experienced grantwriters, the workbook is filled with practical advice and illustrative examples, including Important information such as determining whether your program or idea is fundable Clear examples that make it easier to create a well-written letter of intent How to do the necessary research to find the right funder to approach Targeting your proposal to meet the priorities of the funder What happens to your proposal once it reaches the funder How to adapt this program- and project-specific funding approach to assist in general funding Once the workbook exercises are completed, your organization will have a fully developed grant proposal.

Grants and fellowships are increasingly essential to an academic career, and competition over federal and foundation funding is fiercer than ever. Yet there has hitherto been little training available for this genre of writing. Funding Your Research in the Humanities and Social Sciences demystifies the process of writing winning grant proposals in the humanities and social sciences. Offering practical guidance, step-by-step instructions, and examples of successful proposals, Walker and Unruh outline the best practices to crack the proposal writing code. They reveal the most common peeves of proposal reviewers, and offer advice on how to avoid frequent problem areas in conceptualizing and crafting a research proposal in the humanities and social sciences. Contributions from agency and foundation program officers offer the perspective from the other side of the proposal submission portal, and new research funding trends, including crowdfunding and public scholarship, are also covered.

Outlines the entire proposal-writing process: Pre-Proposal Planning Tips - This helps you decide when your nonprofit is ready to raise funds and determine how to best define your project. Components of the Proposal - Review actual cover letters, project descriptions, budgets, and examples of important follow-up communications with prospective donors. Guidance from Grantmakers - Interviews highlight new trends in grantmaking: preferred proposal formats, funder cultivation strategies, tips on re-submitting a rejected request, and on how to capture and sustain a grantmaker's interest. To illustrate key points, excerpts from successful grant proposals are inserted throughout the Guide. And a complete model proposal is included in the appendix. An updated bibliography features selected resources on proposal development, including web and print sources. A new chapter focuses on crafting an effective evaluation component, addressing the heightened interest in outcome-based assessment of funded projects.

Written by academicians for academicians, each of the workbooks begins with a discussion of how to develop and refine a compelling idea. The reader is then led systematically through tips and strategies that are relevant to writing each section of the proposal. Examples of well-crafted components are provided.

Written by academicians for academicians, each of the workbooks begins with a discussion of how to develop and refine a compelling idea. The reader is then led systematically through tips and strategies that are relevant to writing each section of the proposal. Examples of well-crafted components are provided.

"It guides readers through use of the relevant Request for Applications (RFA) to inform the writing of a proposal, as well as how to develop an idea that will fit within NIFA/AFRI programmatic priorities, with an emphasis on those under the AFRI Foundational and Applied Science Program."

This third edition of the classic "how-to" guide incorporates recent changes in policies and procedures of the NIH, with particular emphasis on the role of the Internet in the research proposal process. Completely revised and updated, it reveals the secrets of success used by seasoned investigators, and directs the reader through the maze of NIH bureaucracies. In addition to providing a detailed overview of the entire review process, the book also includes hundreds of tips on how to enhance proposals, excerpts from real proposals, and extensive Internet references.

Offers hands-on advice that simplifies, demystifies, and takes the fear out of writing a federal grant application. Acting as a virtual mentor, this book provides systematic guidance for every step of the NIH application process, including the administrative details, developing and managing collaborative relationships, budgeting, and building a research team. Helpful hints along the way provide tips from researchers who have received grants themselves. New to this Edition: Much more user-friendly in response to the updated NIH website Covers the new Application Submission System & Interface for Submission Tracking (ASSIST) online submission form for both single and multiple projects Revamped advice on substantive sections of the proposal to address lowered page allowance Coverage of the new scoring system and reviewer reporting system Coverage of the usage and submission of the new SF 424 forms

A Practical Guide to Writing a Ruth L. Kirschstein NRSA Grant, Second Edition, continues to provide F-Series grant applicants and mentors with insider knowledge on the process by which these grants are reviewed, the biases that contribute to the reviews, the extent of information required in an NRSA training grant, and a deeper understanding of the exact purpose of each section of the application. New additions to this edition include coverage of other NIH grants, such as R01, R21, and P20, as well as information on significant modifications to the Biosketch and Letters of Recommendation sections.

Academic Scientists at Work guides the scientist on the journey from the end of a postdoctoral career to the point of promotion to Associate Professor. This book focuses on the three aspects of promotion in an academic setting: Scholarship, Teaching, and Service. Valuable advice is provided on the following topics: - Choosing and landing your ideal academic job- Setting up and effectively managing the lab- Obtaining funds- Organizing, writing, and publishing your science- Teaching and mentoring- Organizing and performing academic service- The promotion and tenure process.

Embarking upon research as a graduate student or postdoc can be exciting and enriching--the start of a rewarding career. But the world of scientific research is also a competitive one, with grants and good jobs increasingly hard to find. The Chicago Guide to Your Career in Science is intended to help scientists not just cope but excel at this critical phase in their careers. The final chapters address writing fellowship and grant proposals.

Chapter 37 is on proposals and grants. Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. Writing and publishing journal articles are essential aspects of a successful scientific career. Unfortunately, many scientists find the process of communicating about their work intimidating and confusing. Now in its eighth edition, How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper teaches how to apply clear focus, good organization, and simple, straightforward language to write papers as well as communicate effectively in many other scientifically related applications.

Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites.

"Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience." A detailed reference work for scientific communication.

Despite the intimidating title, this book is full of amazing advice on developing interpersonal skills for any level of scientist. The authors include specific case studies as well as exercises on developing your own self-awareness as a professional and how to interact with other personalities. They close with a discussion of leadership in academia and industry.