About the Browsable Reference Collection
- Books listed on this page are available for browsing anywhere on the 5th floor except the Teahouse
- The 5th floor is open 9am - 5pm Monday through Friday
- Books can also be read in the Roller Reading Room. If you do this, you will need to Register at the Research Desk and follow Reading Room Procedures (fill out registration form, show ID, leave bags, pens in lockers; no food/drink)
- You can request copies from books in the Browsing Collection at the Research Desk.
- Please do not reshelve books
- Drinks are okay on the floor, but food is only permitted in Teahouse.
Book in the Browsable Reference Collection in the 5th floor Reading Nook are shelved by LOC Library of Congress call numbers. On this page, the books are organized in thematic categories as follows:
- Art Books, Atlases, Chronologies & Timelines
- Bibliographies - Specific Aurhors & Texts
- Bibliographies - Garland Series
- Bibliographies - Persons, Places, Topics
- Catalogs - Specific Collections & Libraries
- Companions, Guides & Handbooks for Research - Overviews
- Companions, Guides & Handbooks for Research - Disciplines & Topics
- Companions, Guides & Handbooks for Research - Periods, Places & Cultures
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Biographical
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Concepts & Terms
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Disciplines
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Periods, Places & Cultures
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Topics
- Featured Items
- Methods & Research Tools
- Sourcebooks & Readers - History of Science Series
- Sourcebooks & Readers - Primary Sources
- Sourcebooks & Readers - Secondary Sources
- Surveys & Textbooks
- Very Short Introductions Series
Art Books, Atlases, Chronologies & Timelines
- Album of SciencePublication Date: 1978-1989A notable feature of this multivolume series is the inclusion of images from books, offering a visual perspective on the history of science, technology, and medicine from antiquity to the present.
Antiquity and the Middle Ages
From Leonardo to Lavoisier, 1450-1800
The Nineteenth Century
The Biological Sciences in the 20th Century
The Physical Sciences in the 20th Century - Chronologie Chemie : 1800-1970 byPublication Date: 1977
- A chronology of geological thinking from antiquity to 1899 byPublication Date: 1988
- A chronology of the history of science, 1450-1900 / Robert Mortimer GascoignePublication Date: 1987
- Flight and flying : a chronology byPublication Date: 1994
Great Discoveries in Medicine by Publication Date: 2011
Bibliographies - Specifc Authors & Texts
- An annotated bibliography on Ibn Sīnā : first supplement (1990-1994)Publication Date: 1999
- A bibliography of LucretiusPublication Date: 1962
- A bibliography of the works of Abūʼl-Rāihān al-Bīrūnī byPublication Date: 1982
- Newton and Newtoniana, 1672-1975: a bibliographyPublication Date: 1977
- Ptolemy's Geography; a select bibliography byPublication Date: 1953
Bibliographies - Garland Series
- The earth sciences : an annotated bibliography / Roy PorterPublication Date: 1983
- The history of biology : a selected, annotated bibliography / Judith A. OvermierPublication Date: 1989
- The history of chemical technology : an annotated bibliography / Robert P. Multhauf.Publication Date: 1984
- The history of electrical technology : an annotated bibliography / Bernard S. FinnPublication Date: 1991
- The history of engineering science : an annotated bibliography / David F. ChannellPublication Date: 1989
- The history of geophysics and meteorology : an annotated bibliography byPublication Date: 1985
- The history of metal mining and metallurgy : an annotated bibliography / Peter M. MolloyPublication Date: 1986
- The history of modern geography : an annotated bibliography of selected works byPublication Date: 1985
- The history of natural history : an annotated bibliography byPublication Date: 1994
- The history of science and technology in the United States : a critical and selective bibliography / Marc RothenbergPublication Date: 1982-19932 volumes
- Medieval science and technology : a selected, annotated bibliography / Claudia KrenPublication Date: 1985
- The scientific revolution : an annotated bibliography byPublication Date: 1996-05-09
- William Cooper's A catalogue of chymicall books, 1673-88 / [edited by] Stanton J. LindePublication Date: 1987
Bibliographies - Persons, Places, Topics
Alchemy in Europe : a guide to research by Publication Date: 1990- American geological literature, 1669 to 1850 byPublication Date: 1980
- Bibliography of astronomers : books and pamphlets in English by and about astronomers byPublication Date: 1989vol 1
- A bibliography of medical and biomedical biography byPublication Date: 2005
- Bibliography of relativity and gravitation theory, 1921 to 1937Publication Date: 1965
- A bio-bibliography for the history of the biochemical sciences since 1800 byPublication Date: 1982
- Biographies of scientists : an annotated bibliography byPublication Date: 1998
- Bibliography of mediaeval Arabic and Jewish medicine and allied sciences byPublication Date: 1971
- British natural history books, 1495-1900 : a handlist byPublication Date: 1980
- Electricity, magnetism, and animal magnetism : a checklist of printed sources, 1600-1850 byPublication Date: 1975
- The history of British geology; a bibliographical study byPublication Date: 1971
- The history of science : an annotated bibliography byPublication Date: 1992
- International bibliography of the history of legal medicine byPublication Date: 1974
- Reference books for the historian of science : a handlist byPublication Date: 1982
The Relations of Literature and Science by Publication Date: 1987- Scientists since 1660 : a bibliography of biographies byPublication Date: 1997
Thornton and Tully's Scientific Books, Libraries and Collectors by ISBN: 1859282334Publication Date: 2000 4th edition
Women and Technology: an annotated bibliography by Publication Date: 1993
Women and science : an annotated bibliography by Publication Date: 1996
Catalogs - Specific Collections & Libraries
Companions, Guides & Handbooks for Research - Overviews
Cambridge History of Science series: Print editionPublication Date: 2002-2009This series presents essays by specialists on the state of research in key topic areas within period-specific volumes.
Cambridge History of Science Volumes (Online access)
v2 Medieval Science
v3 Early Modern Science
v4 Eighteenth-Century Science
V5 Physical and Mathematical Sciences
V6 Modern Biological and Earth Sciences
v7 Modern Social Sciences
- Companion to the history of modern science byPublication Date: 1990
A Companion to the History of Science by Publication Date: 2016- A guide to the culture of science, technology, and medicine byPublication Date: 1980
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by Publication Date: 2003
Reader's Guide to the History of Science by Publication Date: 2000
Companions, Guides & Handbooks for Research - Disciplines & Topics
- The Ashgate research companion to women and gender in early modern Europe byPublication Date: 2016
Astronomy across cultures : the history of non-Western astronomy by Publication Date: 2000
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought by Publication Date: 2013
The Cambridge History of Travel Writing by Publication Date: 2019- Companion encyclopedia of the history and philosophy of the mathematical sciences byPublication Date: 19942 volumes
- A companion to American technology byPublication Date: 2005
A Companion to the History of the Book by Publication Date: 2007
A Companion to the Philosophy of Technology by Publication Date: 2009
Cultural geography : a critical dictionary of key concepts by Publication Date: 2005
A Cultural history of chemistry by Publication Date: 2022vol. 1. in Antiquity -- vol. 2. in the Middle Age -- vol. 3. in the Early Modern Age -- vol. 4. in the Eighteenth Century -- vol. 5. in the Nineteenth Century -- vol. 6. in the Modern Age
The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2000
Mathematics across cultures : the history of non-western mathematics by Publication Date: 2000
Medicine across cultures : history and practice of medicine in non-Western cultures by Publication Date: 2003
Nature Across Cultures by Publication Date: 2003
The Palgrave Handbook of Women and Science Since 1660 by Publication Date: 2022
Reproduction by Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge handbook of science and empire by Publication Date: 2021
Companions, Guides & Handbooks for Research - Periods, Places & Cultures
A Companion to Byzantine Science by Publication Date: 2020
A Companion to the History of American Science by Publication Date: 2015
History of science and technology in China v1: The Origins of Sciences in China by Publication Date: 2021- A history of science in the Netherlands : survey, themes, and reference byPublication Date: 1999
The Oxford Handbook of Science and Medicine in the Classical World by Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Biographical
The DSB
Need info about a particular scientist? A good place to start is with the DSB: Dictionary of Scientific Biography (1970-1980). Entries include:
- basic biographical info
- overview of life and scientific contributions
- bibliography of original works and secondary literature
You can access content of the DSB online in Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Online access), which includes materials from the original DSB, as well as the revised edition, the New Dictionary of Scientific Biography (2008).
Concise Dictionary of Scientific Biography (1981) is an abridged edition of the original multivolume set.
General
- The biographical dictionary of scientists byPublication Date: 1994
The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists by Publication Date: 2000 3d edition
Disciplines, People, Periods, Places & Topics
- African American firsts in science & technology byPublication Date: 1999
- American entomologists byPublication Date: 1971
- American women in science : a biographical dictionary byPublication Date: 1994
- Biographical dictionary of psychology byPublication Date: 1997 edition
Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers by Publication Date: 2002
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science by Publication Date: 2000
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomers by Publication Date: 20072 volumes
Also available as Ebook
- Biographical index to American science : the seventeenth century to 1920 byPublication Date: 1990
- British physiologists 1885-1914 : a biographical dictionary byPublication Date: 1991
Contributions of African American Scientists to the Fields of Science, Medicine, and Inventions by ISBN: 9781607413196Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists by Publication Date: 2011- European immigrant women in the United States : a biographical dictionary byPublication Date: 1994
Jewish medical practioners in the medieval Muslim world : a collective biography by Publication Date: 2021- Maps and map-makers byPublication Date: 1982 printing (1978)
- The Newton handbook byPublication Date: 1986
- Women botanists of Ohio : born before 1900 : with reference calendars from 1776 to 2028 byPublication Date: 1952
Women in Chemistry and Physics by Publication Date: 1993
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Concepts & Terms
The Arabic Manuscript Tradition by Publication Date: 2001- British weights & measures : a history from antiquity to the seventeenth century byPublication Date: 1977
- A dictionary of named effects and laws in chemistry, physics and mathematics byPublication Date: 1970
- Dictionary of the history of science byPublication Date: 1981
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Disciplines
History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 1997
Sciences of the Earth: An Encyclopedia of Events, People, and Phenomena by Publication Date: 19982 volumes
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Periods, Places & Cultures
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures by Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Medicine and Technology in Non-Western Cultures (Online Access)
- The encyclopedia of the Middle Ages byPublication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution by Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution (Online access)
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine by Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam by Publication Date: 20142 volumes
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Topics
The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by Publication Date: 2003- A Dictionary of Fabulous Beasts byPublication Date: 1975
Dictionary of Gnosis and Western Esotericism by Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Exploration by Publication Date: 2004- An historical dictionary of the Darwin controversy byPublication Date: 2005
Instruments of Science by Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Metalworking through history : an encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2009
The Routledge Research Companion to Nineteenth-Century British Literature and Science by Publication Date: 2017
Shakespeare and Science by Publication Date: 2022
Featured Items
Galileo Goes to Jail by Publication Date: 2009
Galileo's Daughter by Publication Date: 2011
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Publication Date: 2011
Ingenious Pursuits by Publication Date: 2000
The Intelligibility of Nature by Publication Date: 2006- Inventing the Flat Earth byPublication Date: 1997 edition
The Invention of Nature by Publication Date: 2016
A Little History of Science by Publication Date: 2012- The Mechanization of the World Picture, copy 2 byPublication Date: 1961
Methods & Research Tools
An Introduction to Science and Technology Studies by Publication Date: 2009
An Introduction to the Historiography of Science by Publication Date: 1987
Sourcebooks & Readers - History of Science Series
- From Frege to Godel; a source book in mathematical logic, 1879-1931Publication Date: 1967
- A source book in animal biology byPublication Date: 1970
- A Source book in astronomy and astrophysics, 1900-1975 byPublication Date: 1979
- A source book in chemistry, 1400-1900 byPublication Date: 1968
- Source book in chemistry, 1900-1950 byPublication Date: 1968
- A source book in classical analysis byPublication Date: 1973
- A Source book in geography byPublication Date: 1978
- Source book in geology, 1900-1950 byPublication Date: 1967
- A Source book in mathematics, 1200-1800 byPublication Date: 1986
- Source Book in Medieval SciencePublication Date: 1974
- A Source Book in the History of Psychology byPublication Date: 1965
Sourcebooks & Readers - Primary Sources
- British scientific literature in the seventeenth century byPublication Date: 1970
Evolution and creationism : a documentary and reference guide by Publication Date: 2007
Gender and Sexuality in the Middle Ages: a medieval source documents reader by Publication Date: 2005
Greek and Roman technology : a sourcebook of translated Greek and Roman texts by Publication Date: 2020
The Jewish Alchemists: a history and source book by Publication Date: 1994
Literature and Science, 1660-1834 by Publication Date: 2003v. 1. Science as polite culture
v. 2. Sciences of body and mind
v. 3. Earthly powers
v. 4. Flora
v. 5. Fauna
v. 6. Astronomy
v. 7. Natural philosophy
v. 8. Chemistry
Medicine and Healing in the Premodern West by Publication Date: 2019
Medieval Medicine: a reader by Publication Date: 2010-- Medieval warfare : a reader byPublication Date: 2019
Muslim and Christian Contact in the Middle Ages by Publication Date: 2009
Sourcebook in the Mathematics of Medieval Europe and North Africa by Publication Date: 2016
Sourcebooks & Readers - Secondary Sources
The Postcolonial Science and Technology Studies Reader by Publication Date: 2011
Queer Feminist Science Studies by Publication Date: 2017
- Science Studies Reader byPublication Date: 1999
Women, science, and technology : a reader in feminist science studies by Publication Date: 2014
Surveys & Textbooks
The Beginnings of Western Science by Publication Date: 2007
Early Greek Science by Publication Date: 1974- Greek Science after Aristotle byPublication Date: 1973
Making Modern Science by Publication Date: 2005
Science and Religion by Publication Date: 2017
The Western medical tradition : 800 BC to AD 1800 by Publication Date: 1995
The Western Medical Tradition : 1800 to 2000 by Publication Date: 2006
Very Short Introduction Series
American Immigration by Publication Date: 2011
Aristotle by Publication Date: 2000
Copernicus by Publication Date: 2016
Eugenics by Publication Date: 2017
Galileo by Publication Date: 2001
Galileo: A Very Short Introduction (Online access)
Globalization by Publication Date: 2009
Heredity by Publication Date: 2017
The History of Astronomy by Publication Date: 2003
The History of Chemistry by Publication Date: 2016
The History of Mathematics by Publication Date: 2012
The History of Medicine by Publication Date: 2008
The History of Physics by Publication Date: 2018- The Industrial Revolution : a very short introduction byPublication Date: 2017
Infinity by Publication Date: 2017-07-23
Magic by Publication Date: 2012- Navigation : a very short introduction byPublication Date: 2017
Newton by Publication Date: 2007
Numbers by Publication Date: 2011
Philosophy of Science by Publication Date: 2016
Plato by Publication Date: 2003
Presocratic Philosophy by Publication Date: 2004
Science and Religion by Publication Date: 20082009 Dingle Prize Winner (British Society for the History of Science)
Scientific Revolution by Publication Date: 2011
War and Technology by Publication Date: 2016
Mary Anning Exhibit Books
Dinosaur lady : the daring discoveries of Mary Anning, the first paleontologist by Publication Date: 2020
Earth's deep history : how it was discovered and why it matters by Publication Date: 2016- The evolution of paleontological art byPublication Date: 2022
Fossil hunter : how Mary Anning changed the science of prehistoric life by Publication Date: 2022
The fossil woman : a life of Mary Anning by Publication Date: 2021
Jurassic Mary : Mary Anning and the primeval monsters by Publication Date: 2014 pb edition
Mary Anning's Curiosity by Publication Date: 2017
Paleontology: an illustrated history by Publication Date: 2022- The practice of British geology, 1750-1850 byPublication Date: 2002
Remarkable Creatures by Publication Date: 2016
Stone Girl, Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis by Publication Date: 2007- Women and geology : who are we, where have we come from, and where are we going? byPublication Date: 2018
Women in science : 50 fearless pioneers who changed the by Publication Date: 2016
Women in Science: 100 Postcards by Publication Date: 2017
Worlds before Adam : the reconstruction of geohistory in the age of reform by Publication Date: 2008
