Why Use Bibliographies?
Select bibliographies are featured on this page to illustrate the variety of bibliographies available to researchers. Take advantage of these materials in your research: Don't Reinvent the Wheel!
TIPS ON BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Search the catalog to see if bibliographies have been published in your topic area
- Print bibliographies can be very useful; information in these works may not be available elsewhere.
- Bibliographies are also listed on these other pages: Guides to Primary Sources and Guides to Primary Sources - Disciplines & Topics
Bibliographies/Databases for Researching History of Science
Search these key bibliographies/databases to find scholarly publications and to keep up-to-date on current research in the field.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine Database Database available through OU Libraries website; comprises materials from four critical bibliographies in the field, including annual Isis Critical Bibliography; Use in conjunction with Isis Cumulative Bibliography (below) for coverage from the earlies Isis annual bibliographies (from 1913).
Isis Cumulative Bibliography of the History of Science Annual bibliography in the field published in journal Isis; print volumes from 1913-1975 are available in History of Science Collections OR browse these online here
IsisCBExplore Web version of the History of Science database. A "discovery" tool which includes web resources and unique search features. Sign-in and create a user account to enable linkage to OU catalog items.
Bibliographies - Biographies of Scientists
Topical Bibliographies - Primary Sources
Bibliographies focusing on original source materials may highlight scientific fields, particular authors, types of publications, or the holdings of particular libraries:
Topical Bibliographies - Secondary Sources
Bibliographies may focus on particular topics:
- The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and Disciplines
- Science Across Cultures: An Annotated Bibliography of Books on Non-Western Science, Technology, and Medicine
Some bibliographies focus on specific scientific disciplines and/or technical traditions:
- Air and Space History
- History of Biology
- History of Engineering Science
- History of Geophysics and Meterology
- History of Health Care Sciences and Health Care, 1700-1980
- History of Mathematics from Antiquity to the Present
- Studies of Scientific Disciplines: An annotated bibliography