This guide is intended to provide assistance to students in the OU Law Graduate Studies Programs. JD students and practitioners utilizing the Donald E. Pray Law Library, Robert M. Bird Health Science Library or OU Libraries may also find the guide useful.
Resources included here are intended to introduce researchers to the business side of medicine, specifically in the context of obligations for the organization of the medical record and its support for reimbursement of services.
Medical Coding and Billing
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies by Karen Smiley
Call Number: OU Law does not currently provide access to this resource. This resource is available from Pioneer Library System.
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
The definitive guide to starting a successful career in medical billing and coding With the healthcare sector growing at breakneck speed--it's currently the largest employment sector in the U.S. and expanding fast--medical billing and coding specialists are more essential than ever. These critical experts, also known as medical records and health information technicians, keep systems working smoothly by ensuring patient billing and insurance data are accurately and efficiently administered. This updated edition provides everything you need to begin--and then excel in--your chosen career. From finding the right study course and the latest certification requirements to industry standard practices and insider tips for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies, Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies has you completely covered. Find out about the flexible employment options available and how to qualify Understand the latest updates to the ICD-10 Get familiar with ethical and legal issues Discover ways to stay competitive and get ahead The prognosis is good--get this book today and set yourself up with the perfect prescription for a bright, secure, and financially healthy future!
This portable, spiral-bound reference may be used in a medical insurance, billing, and coding program. It's also a handy reference for practicing coders who need quick access to common information or a quick brush-up on common coding rules, terminology, abbreviations, and acronyms. Easy to carry and refer to, this book eliminates the need to rely on bulky reference books for the commonly used codes. Provides quick reference tools to commonly needed information in one succinct guide for ease and efficiency. Includes lists of common abbreviations and acronyms used most often in coding for review -for medical records, physician notes, etc. Contains A&P review with anatomical charts to assist in understanding the diagnoses given and the procedures performed. Lists common ICD-9-CM and CPT codes by specialty and type to assist in accurate coding. Includes illustrations of common source documents such as encounter forms, operative reports and ancillary reports, with quick tips on abstracting key elements needed for accurate coding. Provides auditing tools in the form of check-off sheets for data entry review, claims review and patient chart review.
Call Number: Youngblood Energy Library (Geology) Stacks R858.A1 H425 2018
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Awarded second place in the 2017 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Information Technology category. See how information technology intersects with health care! Health Informatics: An Interprofessional Approach, 2nd Edition prepares you for success in today's technology-filled healthcare practice. Concise coverage includes information systems and applications such as electronic health records, clinical decision support, telehealth, ePatients, and social media tools, as well as system implementation. New to this edition are topics including data science and analytics, mHealth, principles of project management, and contract negotiations. Written by expert informatics educators Ramona Nelson and Nancy Staggers, this edition enhances the book that won a 2013 American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year award! Experts from a wide range of health disciplines cover the latest on the interprofessional aspects of informatics - a key Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative and a growing specialty area in nursing. Case studies encourage higher-level thinking about how concepts apply to real-world nursing practice. Discussion questions challenge you to think critically and to visualize the future of health informatics. Objectives, key terms and an abstract at the beginning of each chapter provide an overview of what you will learn. Conclusion and Future Directions section at the end of each chapter describes how informatics will continue to evolve as healthcare moves to an interprofessional foundation. NEW! Updated chapters reflect the current and evolving practice of health informatics, using real-life healthcare examples to show how informatics applies to a wide range of topics and issues. NEW mHealth chapter discusses the use of mobile technology, a new method of health delivery - especially for urban or under-served populations - and describes the changing levels of responsibility for both patients and providers. NEW Data Science and Analytics in Healthcare chapter shows how Big Data - as well as analytics using data mining and knowledge discovery techniques - applies to healthcare. NEW Project Management Principles chapter discusses proven project management tools and techniques for coordinating all types of health informatics-related projects. NEW Contract Negotiations chapter describes strategic methods and tips for negotiating a contract with a healthcare IT vendor. NEW Legal Issues chapter explains how federal regulations and accreditation processes may impact the practice of health informatics. NEW HITECH Act chapter explains the regulations relating to health informatics in the Health Information Technology for Education and Clinical Health Act as well as the Meaningful Use and Medicare Access & CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015.