Skip to main content

Research Impact Metrics

Research Impact Assessment Models

Assessing the Impact of Research - Becker Medical Library

Hicks, D., Wouters, P., Waltman, L., de Rijcke, S., & Rafols, I. (2015). Bibliometrics: The Leiden Manifesto for research metrics. Nature, 520(7548), 429–431.

San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment. “The San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA), initiated by the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) together with a group of editors and publishers of scholarly journals, recognizes the need to improve the ways in which the outputs of scientific research are evaluated.”

West, R. E., & Rich, P. J. (2012). Rigor, impact and prestige: A proposed framework for evaluating scholarly publications. Innovative Higher Education, 37(5), 359-371.

Impact Factor and ISI Metrics

Clarivate Analytics Essay Collection. Essays in this collection discuss the history and appropriate use of the impact factor and other ISI metrics.

Eugene Garfield's publications. Garfield founded the ISI and developed the impact factor. Suggested key readings are listed below.

Garfield, E. (2005). The agony and the ecstasy: The history and meaning of the journal impact factor. International Congress on Peer Review And Biomedical Publication, 1-22.

Garfield, E. (2006). The history and meaning of the journal impact factor. JAMA, 295(1), 90-93.

Garfield, E. (1990). How ISI selects journals for coverage. Current Comments, 22, 185-193.

Garfield, E. (1983). How to use citation analysis for faculty evaluation and when is it relevant? Part 1. Current Comments, (44), 354-362.

Garfield, E. (1983). How to use citation analysis for faculty evaluation and when is it relevant? Part 2. Current Comments, (45), 363-372.

See also:

Althouse, B. M., West, J. D., Bergstrom, C. T., & Bergstrom, T. (2009). Differences in impact factor across fields and over time. Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, 60(1), 27–34.

Leslie, S. A. & Rensleigh, C. (2013). Web of Science, Scopus and Google Scholar: A content comprehensiveness comparison. The Electronic Library, 31(6), 727–744.

Moed, H. F., Colledge, L., Reedijk, J., Moya-Anegon, F., Guerrero-Bote, V., Plume, A., & Amin, M. (2012). Citation-based metrics are appropriate tools in journal assessment provided that they are accurate and used in an informed way. Scientometrics, 92(2), 367–376.

h-index and related metrics

Egghe, L. (2013). Theory and practise of the g-index. Scientometrics, 69(1), 131–152.

h-index and variants. Extensive bibliography of research on the h-index and related metrics.

Hirsch, J. E. (2005). An index to quantify an individual's scientific research output. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 102(46), 16569-16572.

Hodge, D. R., & Lacasse, J. R. (2011). Evaluating journal quality: Is the h-index a better measure than impact factors?. Research On Social Work Practice, 21(2), 222-230.

Hodge, D. R., & Lacasse, J. R. (2011). Ranking disciplinary journals with the Google Scholar h-index: A new tool for constructing cases for tenure, promotion, and other professional decisions. Journal Of Social Work Education, 47(3), 579-596.

Mingers, J., Macri, F., & Petrovici, D. (2012). Using the h-index to measure the quality of journals in the field of business and management. Information Processing & Management, 48(2), 234–241.

Zhang, C.-T. (2009). The e-Index, complementing the h-Index for excess citations. PLOS One, 4(5), e5429.

Criticism and Controversy

Cameron, B. D. (2005). Trends in the usage of ISI bibliometric data: Uses, abuses, and implications. portal: Libraries and the Academy, 5(1), 105-125.

Delgado López-Cózar, E., Robinson-García, N., and Torres Salinas, D. (2012). Manipulating Google Scholar citations and Google Scholar metrics: Simple, easy and tempting. EC3 Working Papers 6: 29 May, 2012.

Monastersky, R. (2005). The number that’s devouring science. The Chronicle of Higher Education, 52(8), A12.

Opthof, T. (1997). Sense and nonsense about the impact factor. Cardiovascular Research, 33, 1-7.

The PLoS Medicine Editors. (2006). The impact factor game. PLoS Med, 3(6), e291.

Seglen, P. O. (1997). Why the impact factor of journals should not be used for evaluating research. BMJ: British Medical Journal, 314(7079), 498-502.

Smeyers, P., & Burbules, N. C. (2011). How to improve your impact factor: Questioning the quantification of academic quality. Journal Of Philosophy Of Education, 45(1), 1-17.

Altmetrics and Article-Level Metrics

Introductions:

Article Level Metrics: A SPARC Primer

Careless, J. (2013). Altmetrics 101: A primer. Information Today 30(2): 1, 36.

Priem, J., Taraborelli, D., Groth, P., & Neylon, C. (2010). Altmetrics: A Manifesto. 26 October 2010.

PLOS Altmetrics Article Collection. See especially the overview article, Priem J., Groth P., and Taraborelli D. (2012). The altmetrics collection. PLoS ONE 7(11): e48753.

Roemer, R. C. and Borchardt, R. (2012). From bibliometrics to altmetrics: A changing scholarly landscape. College & Research Libraries News 73(10): 596-600.

Further Reading:

Bulletin of the Association for Information Science and Technology. April/May 2013 Special Issue on Altmetrics

Fenner, M. (2013). What can article-level metrics do for you? PLoS Biology, 11(10), e1001687.

Galligan, F. and Dyas-Correia, S. (2013). Altmetrics: Rethinking the way we measure. Serials Review 39(1): 56-61.

Hammarfelt, B. (2014). Using altmetrics for assessing research impact in the humanities. Scientometrics, 101(2), 1419–1430.

Holmberg, K. (2014). The Meaning of Altmetrics. Proceedings of the IATUL Conferences.

Konkiel, S. (2013). Altmetrics: A 21st-century solution to determining research quality. Online Searcher 37(4): 11-15.

Lin, J., & Fenner, M. (2013). The many faces of article-level metrics. Bulletin of the Association for Information Science & Technology, 39(4), 27–30.

Neylon, C., & Wu, S. (2009). Article-level metrics and the evolution of scientific impact. PLOS Biology 7(11), e1000242.

Piwowar, H. (2013). Altmetrics: Value all research products. Nature 493(7431): 159.

Collections, Bibliographies, and Initiatives:

Altmetrics Bibliography. Compiled by Charles W. Bailey, Jr.

NISO Alternative Assessment Metrics (Altmetrics) Initiative

Science Librarian

Brent Tweedy's picture
Brent Tweedy
Contact:
Bizzell Memorial Library 235
(405) 325-5287
Website Skype Contact: brent.tweedy@gmail.com