Research Guides
Coverage: 1540-1921
Covers the history of Africa and its diverse people over nearly 400 years and includes more than 1,300 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1535-1922
Database of more than 12,000 printed books, pamphlets, and broadsides recording African American history, literature and culture from the early 16th to the early 20th century.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1556-1922
More than 550 works by authors of African and African American descent, including personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, novels, essays, poems, and more.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1847-present
Provides access to approximately 1,310 plays by 210 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. This database also includes selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1535-1920
This resource covers the diverse history of the Caribbean Islands over nearly 400 years. Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1890-present
Included in ProQuest's History Vault database, this resource provides access to texts that document the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th century from the perspectives of men, women, and children. University of Oklahoma Libraries provides access to two modules:
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Contains works pertaining to the United States, Britain, Ireland, Canada, as well as English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Resources include published trial transcripts, popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, unofficially published trial documents, official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, arbitration sessions, and books and pamphlets about specific trials. Topics include adultery, commercial law, constitutional law, dueling, elections, impeachment, international law, land, military offenses, murder, sexuality, slavery, torts, treason, and wills.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1789-present
Index of legislative information, including congressional publications from 1789 to the present, legislative histories for public laws dating back to 1970, testimony from congressional hearings, bill histories, the Congressional Record and Federal Register, Congressional Research Service reports, information about congressional members and committees, and executive documents (1789-1931). Some full text is available.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
A collection of legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including more than 1,000 books, pamphlets, and article reviews.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 19th century
Provides access to major African American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Publications include Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1941-1996
Digital archive covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century, containing unique primary source documents on racial justice from around the world and providing insight into many important historical events and movements.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1976-present
Black Life in America, Series 3 offers a window into African American history, culture and daily life as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Updated daily with new content, this database provides in-depth coverage of issues involved in America's ongoing conversation on race, including coverage of historic changes such as Barack Obama's election and the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1892-2019
Access to 40 historic Black Oklahoma newspapers, including The Black Dispatch, The Oklahoma Guide, Tulsa Star, and The Muskogee Cimeter.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
This open access collection includes periodicals published by Black Americans during the early 1900s to the 1980s. Publications include those from women's organizations, religious groups, and labor organizations.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Contains the non-fiction published works of over 1,000 leading African Americans, including artists, teachers, religious leaders, politicians, entertainers, and more. Resources cover over 250 years of history and include interviews, journal articles, letters, speeches, trial transcripts, and other materials. Includes access to Black Panther, the official newspaper of the Black Panther Party.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1756-1963
Access to hundreds of historic American newspapers from across the country. Resources include the Historical African American Newspaper Collection, which features 300 newspapers from nearly every state, and the Indians of North America Newspaper Collection.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1959-present
Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Subject coverage includes culture, religion, independent press, and ethnic studies. The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Searches the full text of the Atlanta Daily World, The Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, and The Pittsburgh Courier.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Includes access to the Black American Series and the Native American Series.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorials.
Access over 40 digitized collections from OU Libraries Special Collections. Resources include images, correspondence, newspaper articles, rare books, and audio. Highlights include broadcasts from the Indians for Indians Radio Show, a 1598 edition of Chaucer's works from the Nichols Rare Book Collection, and images from the American School Collection.
Coverage: 1890-present
Included in ProQuest's History Vault database, this resource provides access to texts that document the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th century from the perspectives of men, women, and children. University of Oklahoma Libraries provides access to two modules:
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1540-1921
Covers the history of Africa and its diverse people over nearly 400 years and includes more than 1,300 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1535-1922
Database of more than 12,000 printed books, pamphlets, and broadsides recording African American history, literature and culture from the early 16th to the early 20th century.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
This open access collection provides access to the digitized histories of civil rights activism by Black, Latine, Indigenous, Asian American, and Pacific Islander communities. Materials are drawn from universities, public libraries, community archives, and historical societies and include photographs, unofficial letters, correspondence, demonstration plan outlines, meeting minutes, newsreels, interviews, and musical recordings.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1556-1922
More than 550 works by authors of African and African American descent, including personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, novels, essays, poems, and more.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1847-present
Provides access to approximately 1,310 plays by 210 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. This database also includes selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1976-present
Black Life in America, Series 3 offers a window into African American history, culture and daily life as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Updated daily with new content, this database provides in-depth coverage of issues involved in America's ongoing conversation on race, including coverage of historic changes such as Barack Obama's election and the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1900-present
Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black studies, and historic indexes. This resource includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database, the Black Literature Index, and historical black newspapers such as The Chicago Defender.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Contains the non-fiction published works of over 1,000 leading African Americans, including artists, teachers, religious leaders, politicians, entertainers, and more. Resources cover over 250 years of history and include interviews, journal articles, letters, speeches, trial transcripts, and other materials. Includes access to Black Panther, the official newspaper of the Black Panther Party.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
Coverage: 1535-1920
This resource covers the diverse history of the Caribbean Islands over nearly 400 years. Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online tutorial.
This open access database provides content covering important issues related to race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness in today's society. Resources include essays, journal articles, government agency reports, photographs, speeches, and other primary sources. A wide range of topics are covered, including affirmative action, food insecurity, environmental racism and environmental justice, the black lives matter movement, voting rights and voter suppression, police use of force, sports team branding changes, neighborhood gentrification, and much more.
For more information about using this resource, view the publisher's online print or video tutorial.
