This guide describes resources useful for researching Oil & Gas Law, Energy and Natural Resources Law, with particular focus on resources available in print or online at the Donald E. Pray Law Library.
Available online in Westlaw, this highly regarded treatise is a basic reference for attorneys dealing with complex legal issues involving federal lands or resources. It covers federal land use planning and the latest legislative, regulatory, and case law developments affecting the law of federal management and allocation of our natural resources. A loose-leaf print version is also available in the Law Library collection (KF 5505 .C64 1990).
Available online through West Academic and updated in 2015, this treatise is a thorough assessment of the important and growing field of natural resources law. It provides comprehensive coverage of the laws, policies, and decision-making processes pertinent to the "core" commodity natural resources - rangeland, timber, mineral resources, energy resources, and water. It also covers the management and protection of non-commodity resources, such as wildlife, wilderness, and other types of preservation and recreation lands. As an essential addition to any environmental, natural resources, or public lands library, the book puts natural resources law in context with a review of the National Environmental Policy Act, a history of natural resources use and regulation, as well as a user-friendly description of resource economics. A print version is also available in the Law Library Reserves (KF 5505 .L35 2015).
From the ABA Section of Natural Resources, Energy, and Environmental Law, this manual covers wetland, coastal and marine resources, forest, wildlife, water and mineral resources, energy and federal public lands resources, and Native American resources.
Considered "the industry standard", this treatise is available online through Lexis Advance and is updated semi-annually. Energy experts cover basic principles of energy law and sources, transactions, financing, taxation, production, distribution, conservation, and also include an Energy Handbook in Chapter 14. A print edition is also available in the Law Library collection (KF 2120 .E535).
This is a highly regarded treatise discussing every aspect of mining law. It is available through Lexis Advance and is updated annually. Print versions of the 1st and 2d edition are available in the Law Library collection with coverage from 1960 - 1983 (KF 1819 .R6) and 1984 - 1989 (KF 1819 .A43), respectively.
Available online through West Academic, this title addresses the component parts of the energy fuel cycle, as well as the market and government policies that oversee it. This Nutshell describes in detail the country's traditional energy policy and also discusses the current challenges that confront it. Chapters cover the individual natural resources used to produce energy and the book concludes with the development of a clean energy policy for the future. A print version is available in the Law Library reserves (KF 2120 .T65 2017). Earlier editions are also available in print in the Law Library collection.
This book analyzes all significant aspects of management of lands and resources owned by the federal government, focusing on the national parks, the national forests, the national wildlife refuges, and the remaining public lands. It provides a brief historical overview of public land law in the United States and analyzes the constitutional basis for ownership and regulation of federal lands and natural resources. It covers the statutory basis for determining appropriate uses for federal lands and for assessment of the environmental impacts of activities on those lands. It also analyzes the rules governing planning and management of the water, mineral, timber, range, wildlife, recreation, and preservation resources on federal lands. Finally, it covers important recent public land law developments -- in Congress, in the land management agencies, and in the courts.
This first edition volume contains contributions from dozens of experts on renewable energy sources, energy use sectors, financing, pricing, taxation, and on laws governing efficiency, renewables, and siting.
This Concise Hornbook by Sandra Zellmer and Jan Laitos is available online in the West Academic Study Aids subscription. West Academic describes the book as one that "surveys cases, statutes, regulations, legal developments, and policies that have shaped, and will continue to influence, natural resources law throughout the 20th century and the early 21st century. Topics include resource economics, jurisdictional and litigation constraints, the National Environment Policy Act (NEPA), public lands, wildlife, preservation, recreation, rangeland, timber, mining, and energy." A print version is also available in the Law Library collection (KF 5505 .Z45 2014 ).
Natural Resources Law and Policy is a user-friendly, concise, inexpensive text on how we manage our valuable resources. Written to be an enjoyable and informative guide to natural resources, rather than used as a dry reference source, the authors provide a broad conceptual overview of natural resource management while also explaining the major statutes, cases, and doctrines. The book is intended for three audiences - students (both graduate and undergraduate) seeking a readable study guide for their natural-resource and environmental courses; professors who do not use casebooks (relying on their own materials or case studies) but want an integrating text or want to include conceptual materials on the major legal issues; and practicing lawyers and professionals who want a readable overview of the field. The first part of the book explains the major themes and issues that cross-cut natural resources law as well as the relevant legal doctrines from administrative law, constitutional law, and standing. The second part of the book explores the management of specific natural resources - from fisheries, forests and frogs to national parks, oil and water, and others. A series of problem exercises run throughout the book, describing a legal or policy conflict in detail and asking students to identify and assess solutions. Textual boxes out set out the details of important judicial opinions.