Search History of Science Databases to find Secondary Sources & Recent Scholarship
Search these key bibliographies/databases to find scholarly publications and to keep up-to-date on current research in the field.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine Database Database available through OU Libraries website; comprises materials from four critical bibliographies in the field, including annual Isis Critical Bibliography; Use in conjunction with Isis Cumulative Bibliography (below) for coverage from the earlies Isis annual bibliographies (from 1913).
Isis Cumulative Bibliography of the History of Science Annual bibliography in the field published in journal Isis; print volumes from 1913-1975 are available in History of Science Collections OR browse these online here
IsisCBExplore Web version of the History of Science database. A "discovery" tool which includes web resources and unique search features. Sign-in and create a user account to enable linkage to OU catalog items.
IsisCB Explore (more info)
IsisCB Explore is the new open-access search interface for the History of Science Society's ISIS Current Bibliography. It includes nearly 200,000 interlinked bibliographic citations to books, chapters, articles, dissertations, and reviews from 1974 to present. This site is supported by the History of Science Department, the History of Science Collections, and the History of Science Society. Prof. Stephen P. Weldon, the editor of the Isis Bibliography, received a grant from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to create this new service. This is the first time the data has been made available to scholars worldwide in an open access format, which requires no login to use.
More Databases to Search for History of Science Research
- Academic Search Elite (search: articles and news accounts of the phenomenon of Frankenfoods)
- Article First (search: articles by historians and scientists about cold fusion)
- JSTOR (search: articles on the idea of revolution in science and in politics)
- Project Muse (search: articles on science and the theatre)
- Worldcat (search: available studies about Benjamin Banneker)
HISTORY & AREA STUDIES
- America: History and Life (search: articles on the topic of the automobile in American culture)
- Historical Abstracts (search: articles about printing in the Renaissance)
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (search: articles on medieval Aristotelianism)
- Index Islamicus (search: articles about Arabic alchemical manuscripts)
For your particular research topic, you may find it useful to search databases from fields beyond history.
- ATLA Religion Database (search: articles on environmental stewardship and religion in the 20th century)
- Communication Source (search: recent scholarship on rhetoric and science)
- MLA International Bibliography (search: articles on literature and the forensic sciences)
- Philosopher's Index (search: discussions of the relationship between Leibniz and Newton)
- SOCIndex (search: articles on the social sciences and the courts)
Some databases contain specific types of materials, for example: biographical sources, dissertations and book reviews.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) (search: information on the historian Mary Jo Nye
- Book Review Index (1965- )
- Dissertation Abstracts (search: recent studies of science textbooks)